Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: CPU Usage  (Read 9119 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline macnext1

  • PcWinTech Ninja
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2009
  • Posts: 511
  • Karma: 2
CPU Usage
« on: November 23, 2009, 04:58:59 AM »
Simple Meter is running from 13-14% of my CPU -- saw it hit 34%. This seems like too much to me. It APPEARS that this happens after I have hit my bandwidth quota and reset it (MAYBE). 

What ya think?

Mac

PcWinTech.com Forums

CPU Usage
« on: November 23, 2009, 04:58:59 AM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: CPU Usage
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2009, 06:11:30 AM »
So after your quota has been reached your seeing a spike in cpu usage?

I will lower my quota and see if I can get it to happen here.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline macnext1

  • PcWinTech Ninja
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2009
  • Posts: 511
  • Karma: 2
Re: CPU Usage
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2009, 06:45:53 AM »
Not just a spike, it seems like it remains too high.

Mac

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: CPU Usage
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2009, 07:13:14 AM »
Well I dont think it is the quota as my cpu is fine with it right now.
I think I know why you are seeing the increase.

The faster your internet goes the more cpu the program needs. The program has to look at every packet, so the faster the speed the more packets are coming in so the more work it has to do.
Here at home when I transfer data across my gigabit network i hit speeds of about 40 - 45megabytes/s, at that point the program is using 100% cpu of one of my cores (Im on a quad core)

Because at those speeds the amount of packets coming in is huge and the program has to look at them all. This is also why I don't have the program doing more with the packets. I compared the cpu of my app vs others that looked at packets, and mine thankfully could handle a larger load because it wasn't doing as much.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline macnext1

  • PcWinTech Ninja
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2009
  • Posts: 511
  • Karma: 2
Re: CPU Usage
« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2009, 08:21:39 AM »
Well then I reckon it's time to close this little number. Thanks.

Any comments on my IP Adress item?

Mac

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: CPU Usage
« Reply #5 on: November 23, 2009, 08:49:38 AM »
I will go have a look at that thread.

Locking Thread.  :cheesy:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: CPU Usage
« Reply #5 on: November 23, 2009, 08:49:38 AM »