Author Topic: Actiontec M1000  (Read 14936 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

mlaff59

  • Guest
Actiontec M1000
« on: December 23, 2009, 12:43:10 PM »
My ISP is Qwest and their router is an Actiontec M1000.  It has a web activity log that records on sites visited. How do you clear the Actiontec M1000 web activity log?

PcWinTech.com Forums

Actiontec M1000
« on: December 23, 2009, 12:43:10 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Actiontec M1000
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2009, 01:00:21 PM »
I'm not sure which version of the Qwest firmware you have, so I will post pics for both.  :wink:

Checking the log page
http://www.pcwintech.com/showimage?file=files/screenshots/Actiontec-M1000_Qwest/019.png
http://www.pcwintech.com/showimage?file=files/screenshots/actiontech_m1000_qwest_v2_firmware/029.png

There doesn't seem to be any option to clear the list.
So there is a few things to try.

#1. Does a simple power reset clear it?

#2. Doing a reset to the unit would work, but this would also clear out your username and password, which would kick you off the net and not be worth the trouble.

#3. Did a quick Google search and found a old post on how to turn the log off with telnet
http://blog.kgrothoff.net/2006/08/12/how-to-disable-the-actiontec-dsl-modem-web-activity-log/
Not sure if it would work with a M1000 but t is worth a shot.

#4. Call Qwest and tell them to log into your modem and turn it off!  :wink:

Not sure why they don't have a clear option for the log, almost every other router has a way to clear logs, odd they don't.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

mlaff59

  • Guest
Re: Actiontec M1000
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2009, 10:04:35 AM »
Thanks Shane.  I had to power on/off the router but it did clear older entries.  The #3 link has info to point the web log to a null device on a unix/linux box.  I had found that one before coming here.

Is it just me or do most people hate vista? :)

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Actiontec M1000
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2009, 10:10:13 AM »
Thats why I am on WIndows 7 lol

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Actiontec M1000
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2009, 10:10:13 AM »

 

email