Author Topic: I need help port forwarding for Blood bowl game  (Read 17693 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Madagaza

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2009
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
I need help port forwarding for Blood bowl game
« on: September 25, 2009, 03:28:24 AM »
Hi,

First off I want to say how great I think this website is and also the 'simple port forwarding software'.  I'm not particularly good with PCs but I'm surprised how far I have got so far with your step by step help and guides.  I've spent hours trying to connect to other Blood Bowl players using their ingame lobby thing but I keep getting the same error message about checking if my firewall is open for port 16962. The Blood Bowl forums seem to think my problem is port forwarding.

My PC is connected into a Netgear DG834G v3 wireless router/modem via a cable.  There is one other wireless laptop that uses it.  I have completed all the steps on the 'simple port forwarding software' but when I test the ports they both fail; plus I can't connect to human players in the Blood Bowl lobby.

When I detect for multiple routers it states this:
Possible 1st Router: 192.168.0.1
Possible 2nd Router: 192.168.251.6

My PC IP address is 192.168.0.2 (which I found using ipconfig/all in my DOS window)

The only DMZ option I can find when I log into my router is a check box next to 'Default DMZ server' followed by '192.168.0.' '.  However, I can only enter in the last digit, so I added a 2 and applied the changes but the test still fails and I still get the same port 16962 not open error message in the game.

Any help would be most appreciated,

Thx Gaza 

PcWinTech.com Forums

I need help port forwarding for Blood bowl game
« on: September 25, 2009, 03:28:24 AM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: I need help port forwarding for Blood bowl game
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2009, 09:15:00 AM »
Ok so it looks like you may be behind a 2nd router. So that 2nd router is where we need to setup DMZ to have all the connections get sent to your netgear.

Do this first, log into your netgear and go to this page http://www.pcwintech.com/showimage?file=files/screenshots/Netgear-DG834_V3/008.png

See the IP address? does it match the same IP that shows up on http://www.pcwintech.com/port_test.php

If not then you have just confirmed your behind a 2nd router. So you need to log into that other router. On that same page look at the gateway address. That should be the IP you need to log into that router. something like http://192.168.251.6

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Madagaza

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2009
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
Re: I need help port forwarding for Blood bowl game
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2009, 11:22:47 AM »
Thanks Shane for the speedy response  ;D

Okay so when I check the IP address they are the same.  I'm not sure if that's good or bad news  :-\ but I'm hoping you'll tell me what, if anything, I can do about it.

Thx,

Gaza

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: I need help port forwarding for Blood bowl game
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2009, 11:26:44 AM »
ok if the IP matches your internet IP on the page then you are behind only 1 router.

So now its time to go through and find out what the problem is.

Make sure to read this all the way through.
http://www.pcwintech.com/common-problems-fixes-port-forwarding

I have had users say they did, then when I log in and help them it turns out one of the fixes on the page would have fixed it LOL.

Lets go from there.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Madagaza

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2009
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
Re: I need help port forwarding for Blood bowl game
« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2009, 10:50:26 AM »
I've read through all that list and to be honest I can't say I fully understand all of it (I'm not a tech by any stretch of the imagination). 

However, I have acted on things where I could; which was mainly from the misc tips list. 

Unfortunately, I still can't get either of them to work when I do the test and ofc I can't connect ingame.

Sorry for being such a duffus.

Gaza

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: I need help port forwarding for Blood bowl game
« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2009, 12:20:41 PM »
Your not a duffus, you simply need to learn :-)

You're only a duffus is you know how to do something and still mess up LOL

Today is my daughters 3rd birthday, so if you don't mind can we put this off till tomorrow?

Email me and we will get on msn or yahoo and try to find the problem togeather.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: I need help port forwarding for Blood bowl game
« Reply #6 on: September 29, 2009, 08:57:10 AM »
All taken care of :-)

Simply had the wrong IP in the port forwarding rule. I think my program might be a little confusing on setting the static IP, I am seeing people do it more than once when they don't need to. So I will also update the program to let the user know setting the IP to static is optional and they only need to do it once :-)

Locking thread.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: I need help port forwarding for Blood bowl game
« Reply #6 on: September 29, 2009, 08:57:10 AM »

 

email