Author Topic: Windows Crash at Start-up  (Read 20315 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

TrDo

  • Guest
Windows Crash at Start-up
« on: July 01, 2009, 05:49:51 AM »
Hi Shane,

Last night I downloaded and installed CleanMem on my pc.  All went fine and smooth.  Today though was a different story.

Always after logging in, and after Windows load up the start up-programs, I run Norton System Doctor, which is a utilities app that allows me to monitor some of my pc functions, by creating a small window with the necessary sensors showing on it.

Until today I had no problem whatsoever running it.  Today when I choose to run it,almost immediatelly after Windows control panel came-up,  Windows encountered a critical error and informed me that they had to shut down, and restart all over again.

After this happened, all was fine and well, including Norton System Doctor.

From the windows error report that I got, it looks like the "services.exe" crashed.  I'm quite certain it has to do with CleanMem running at start-up.  Altough I'm not a comp geek, I can appreciate your hard work and the unique functionality of CleanMem.  I did a lot of reserach into Memory apps for Windows Vista before I finally concluded and downloaded your app.

I have to be extra careful, since if something happpens to my pc, I will not be able to get fixed on my own, and at the moment I'm using it to earn a living.

I don't want to stop using CleanMem, but at the same time I want to avoid crashes.  I would appreciate if you could help me configure CleanMem not to run at start-up.

I want it to run every 30min, but I want to disable it from start-up. The point is that I cannot find it anywhere (not even in my WinPatrol window), to disable it.

The only place I found it was at the TaskScheduler.  But from there, I wasn't sure if I should "play-around" with the options.

Plase provide me with exact details as to how to configure it, not to run in start-up.

Allow me to thank you in advance for your help.

TrDo.

PcWinTech.com Forums

Windows Crash at Start-up
« on: July 01, 2009, 05:49:51 AM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Cleanmem shouldn't be the
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2009, 08:32:21 AM »
Cleanmem shouldn't be the problem, but you never know.
You have 3 options.
you can put services.exe in cleanmem's ignore list so cleanmem will skip it and not touch any services.exe process.
You can remove the startup which is a reg entry. Open the run command and type in msconfig and hit ok. Your will then see a startup tab.
3rd option uninstall cleanmem.

What I would also do if download and run www.malwarebytes.org, have it scan your system as well. (its free)
There is a very good chance it isn't cleanmem that caused the services.exe to crash. I think you should uninstall cleanmem, run malwarebytes, make sure your Norton is up to date (I hate Norton anyways, dang thing over takes your machine any how lol) Im a fan of the free anti virus Avira (www.free-av.com)
If cleanmem was crashing the services.exe it wouldn't matter if it was at start up or not, it would be crashing all the time. (plus cleanmem is on over 100,000+ systems and servers and no crashes from those :-)

BUT that doesn't mean cleanmem isn't being a trigger to something else though. So lets see what we can find out :-)

Let me know how it goes.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

TrDo

  • Guest
Thanks for your prompt reply
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2009, 08:55:46 AM »
Thanks for your prompt reply Shane.

I have already run MBAM and SAS. No problem there with anything.  NIS09 and Norton System Works are up-to-date, since they run on pulse-updates (every 2-3 minutes).

Well, I don't want to uninstall CleanMem.  Let's start with this not being an option.

Now, in the msconfig command and the resulting startup tab, I cannot see CleanMem anywhere on the start-up list.  I can see all other programs but not CleanMem.  Why?

But it's there on the Taskscheduler.  It's scheduled to run on start-up, and then every 30min, for ever.  The default settings.  I can see it right now.  Also, I'm sure it's running because I can see that my RAM consuption is greatly optimised.

How can I take it out from the start-up programs if I don't see it anywhere?

Please help me resolve this Shane.

I really appreciate your help and efforts.

TrDo.


 

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
ha I forgot I got rid of the
« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2009, 09:10:03 AM »
ha I forgot I got rid of the reg entry and its all from the task scheduler now. I get a little lost with the amount of stuff I do sometimes lol.

Ok to change it is very simple. Open the task scheduler and edit the cleanmem job. You have complete control of it there on when it runs.

If you have any trouble with it let me know I can get some screen shots for you (im on xp right now which its task scheduler is very different)

I have my wife's system on windows 7 and I have vista in virtual pc.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

TrDo

  • Guest
Well, you're super fast in
« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2009, 09:43:59 AM »
Well, you're super fast in your replies.  I want you to know that I really appreciate this.

Now, since my Vista is in Greek, would it be too much to ask for your screenshots?

I wouldn't want to do anything silly, and possibly make matters worst.  I want Memcleam to run every 30 min, for ever..but not on start-up. I'm on Vista-32.

I truly appreciate your help Shane.

Thank you very much.  You're very kind.

TrDo.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
np, give me a few to boot up
« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2009, 09:42:00 AM »
np, give me a few to boot up vista, the screens will be in English but that shouldn't matter :-)

oh see if these help. (ha I just remembered those screenshots are of cleanmem!)
http://www.pcwintech.com/node/154

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

TrDo

  • Guest
I've seen these yesterday.
« Reply #6 on: July 01, 2009, 09:54:36 AM »
I've seen these yesterday.   They have helped me to find the very "existence" of CleanMem.  Because for a moment I thought, it was not there.(lol)

But which option should I choose on the Triggers Tab?

My small knowledge indicates that the "Based on a sheduled job" (translated from bloody Greek-it's the 1st option), would do it.

Except the triggers Tab should I modify anything else?

Thanks a million Shane.

TrDo.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
on the triggers tab click
« Reply #7 on: July 01, 2009, 09:57:42 AM »
on the triggers tab click edit. then you will see
http://www.pcwintech.com/files/task_sched3.jpg

and you will see the start up option at the top and the repeat every 30 min at the bottom. Here is where you can control what you want.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

TrDo

  • Guest
On the triggers tab, on the
« Reply #8 on: July 01, 2009, 10:32:53 AM »
On the triggers tab, on the main drop-down menu, if I don't want to run on start-up, I chose the "Based On a Schedule" option.

Then, on the new window I have the option to run: Once/Daily/Weekly Monthly.  Which one should I choose here?

On the bottom half,for advanced users, I have the option to choose time intervals, say every 30 minutes, and next to it I choose "Run for ever".

I don't choose to "Interrupt All Proccesses after Repeat", and the next two boxes are not ticked (the "Interrupt after running for more than...", and the "Expiration")

Finally,"Action Box" is ticked.

Should I change anything else except the Triggers tab?

I feel like talking for basic gear changing, to an F1 Driver..Sorry Shane..

I appreciate your help.

TrDo.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
just choose daily and you
« Reply #9 on: July 01, 2009, 10:40:34 AM »
just choose daily and you should be fine :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

TrDo

  • Guest
OK. Have set it as we said.
« Reply #10 on: July 01, 2009, 10:56:04 AM »
OK. Have set it as we said.  I'll let you know how it goes.

BTW, I have already introduced CleanMem to a couple of sites..with a lot of traffic.

One from the UK, and one from New Zealand.

Cheers from Athens..

Thanks a lot.

TrDo.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
:-) Im here if you need
« Reply #11 on: July 01, 2009, 11:05:18 AM »
:-)
Im here if you need me.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

:-) Im here if you need
« Reply #11 on: July 01, 2009, 11:05:18 AM »