Author Topic: Connect to golden ftp server from the internet  (Read 21640 times)

Offline ashmax

• PcWinTech Member
Connect to golden ftp server from the internet
« on: June 22, 2009, 08:03:39 AM »
Hi i have GOLDEN FTP SERVER installed and working fine, the only problem is that can anyone tell me how an internet user would connect to my machine "FTP SERVER" I have forwarded port 21, but i still cant connect, I have set an static ip address in the router "netgear WGR614 v9"

I have used the Simple static ip tool but it doesnt pick up the same as my wan ip address, and the router is set to the wan ip. Am I on the right track?

Any help would be appreciated, as im pretty new to this.
Regards
Ash

PcWinTech.com Forums

Connect to golden ftp server from the internet
« on: June 22, 2009, 08:03:39 AM »

Offline Shane

• Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Good morning :-) ok lets get
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2009, 09:05:24 AM »
Good morning :-)

ok lets get you taken care of. First let me explain the need for static IP.
First you don't need to set your IP in the netgear to static unless your ISP tells you, otherwise when they change your IP on their end your internet will stop working.

Static IP is for your local computer only. When your internet IP goes into your router that is known as the WAN (Wide area network) address, or internet IP. That is given to the router. Since you only get 1 IP like these normally the router then handles the internet to your local computers. The router gives them a local IP, like 192.168.1.100 and so forth. These are only for the local network and are not used on the net.