Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: Please add router to port forward  (Read 329 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline seagypsy

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Aug 2018
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Please add router to port forward
« on: August 07, 2018, 11:17:58 AM »
HI I am not sure this is the place to ask but could you add Huawei HG659 to router port forwarder. I am a total newbie to port forwarding so please bare with me :thinking:

I have uploaded router page images
« Last Edit: August 08, 2018, 06:07:12 PM by seagypsy »

PcWinTech.com Forums

Please add router to port forward
« on: August 07, 2018, 11:17:58 AM »

Offline trpted

  • PcWinTech Guru
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 1,143
  • Karma: 37
Re: Please add router to port forward
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2018, 07:18:56 AM »
#1 I point to and quote part of DSLR (dslreports.com) -> Forums -> Software and Operating Systems -. All Things Unix -> Windows 10: Another reason to use Linux!

Quote

As I stated in that thread I fail to see the point in using this program.

Why? Most routers today have a pretty simple GUI based interface to setup forwarding of ports for programs. And thus this program has NO USE.

IF you KNOW the ports.... Now there is the rub..... but here is also the part where users can learn something(s). Yeah I can rattle off ports/programs for the popular stuff, one cause I use it, and two stupid A+/Network+ ask you to fill out such stuff on their tests.

I would suggest creating a thread in the networking or software forum(S) and posting WHAT SOFTWARE this is, and most can probably tell you which port(S) to open in your router. Most routers have the basics for ftp etc. covered.. For some program I am sure it is just a google search away mostly to find the port(s) needed, or even using uPNP (although that would NOT be my choice, security risk) again simple GUI on/off in most consumer/low end SOHO routers.

Most will probably be glad to tell you the port(S) and post some screen snaps if needed to set this up.

Again I just don't see the purpose or need for this program?!?!?


#2 Thinking about what I was told, they are correct :(

#3 If you paid for this program:

a) Ask for a refund.

b) If they don't listen to you, get with your bank/credit card company and do a charge back.

#4 As how to forward manually, it goes like this...

Let us do this step by step. Starting off with pre-checks.

********************** Pre-check item one  **********************

#1 Most ISP have a TOS ( Terms Of Service )

#2 You need to find that TOS for your ISP.

#3 If your ISP does not say anything that you can not to run any servers of any kind - green light.

#4 If your ISP does not allow you to run any servers of any kind - yellow light.

-> Be sure to know the risk of running any kind of server.

-> You have to decide is worth the risk or not, based upon...

a) ..how easy you can get another ISP to serve you - for example.

b) ..how much does it cost to upgrade the type of account that you have with your ISP. Example from regular consumer to gaming or business plan.

********************** Pre-check item two  **********************

#1 As how to check what the IP Address is/are, Subnet Mask is/are, Default Gateway is, MAC Address(es) is/are, DNS Server(s) are of your computer, it depends on the OS and Version.

#2 Note: This example assumes that you are on Windows 2000, Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8 or Windows 10

a) Press the Windows Start key to open the Start screen.

b) Type cmd and press Enter to launch the command prompt.

Note: You do not need to click on anything on the Start screen—typing will automatically initiate a program search.

c) Type ipconfig /all at the command prompt to check the network card settings.

d) If not on Windows 2000, Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8 or Windows 10 and you do not know how to check that network info - then post what is your OS and Version is.

#4 You need to make sure that the Default Gateway on your computer is the same LAN IP as your NAT router.

************* Pre-check item three  ***************

#1 Go to http://ipv4.whatismyv6.com/

#2 On that web page is the non bogan IPv4 (Public) Address that users from Internet use to connect to you.

#3 In your router, somewhere in there you must have the same non bogan IP Address.

Example non bogan IP Address is 999.888.777.666, but in the router the WAN IP is 10.0.0.100 - this is not ok.

#4 Important note: This is not to say that the non bogan IP Address has to be Static.

Example yesterday's IP Address was 999.888.777.666 and today's IP Address is 999.888.777.555 - this is ok.

#5 If the WAN IP in the router does not match the true WAN IP, well it matters what the WAN IP in the router is.

a) If the WAN IP is from 100.64.0.0 - 100.127.255.255, then CGNAT/NAT444/LSN is present.

Quote

If you want more details about CGNAT/NAT444/LSN, you can look at

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carrier-grade_NAT

The possible fixes to fix your issue if CGNAT/NAT444/LSN is present.

#1 Have them in their NAT router forward the ports to the WAN IP of your router..

#2 Upgrading the type of plan that you are on with your ISP so that you get a non bogan WAN IP Address.

For example if you are a Residential Service Plan, consider going to a Business Service Plan.

#3 Consider switching to another ISP that can give you you a non bogan WAN IP Address.

#4 For the long term future, get IPv6 working.


b) If the WAN IP is one of the RFC 1918 IPs (Meaning 10.0.0.0 to 10.255.255.255, from 172.16.0.0 to 172.31.255.255 OR from 192.168.0.0 to 192.168.255.255) and if your NAT router is a RJ-45 WAN port router:

Step 1: Physically find your NAT Router

Step 2: Find the WAN port of it.

Info: WAN port could be called Internet or To Modem or To ONT port.

Step 3: Report back what the brand and model of the device that is connected at the other end of the wire that is connected to the WAN port of the NAT router.

c) If the WAN IP is one of the RFC 1918 IPs and if your NAT router is NOT a RJ-45 WAN port router, then CGNAT/NAT444/LSN is present (See fix above if the case).

d) If the WAN IP is one of the RFC 1918 IPs  if your NAT router is a gateway NAT router, it matters how it is connected to the Internet (RJ-45 WAN port or acting a modem combo).

e) If the WAN IP is one of the RFC 1918 IPs and you do not know the type of NAT router yours is, it would help to know the brand and model it is - if you did not post already.

Note since you posted what NAT router you have ( Huawei HG659 ), it is a Gatewway NAT router.

The info on what kind of NAT router that you have is from https://us.hardware.info/product/285776/huawei-hg659/specifications where it say Ethernet WAN port and Integrated ADSL modem under WAN. As well on that same page, clicking on photos, looking at the back of the unit and seeing it has both a port called DSL (right next to two phone lines ports) and another called WAN.

f) If the WAN IP was not any of those, it would be a good idea to check to see how the non bogan IP Address is not the same (and not NAT). If you need help finding why that is, you are to asking for help doing so.

************* Pre-check item four  ***************

When forwarding manually remember to forward to your local IP Address, that is unless you are trying to forward some other computer (example to Xbox)

So if you get output...

IP Address 192.168.1.6
Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway 192.168.1.1
At least one DNS 192.168.1.1

-> you would forward to 192.168.1.6

*** Rest of directions **

#1 if asked for a remote/source IP Address it goes like this.

a) Let us say that the fictional IP Address of 999.888.777.666 existed ( I can assure it does not as IPv4 is only 0.0.0.0 to 255.255.255.255 and IPv6 is all hex with colons between ), it was mine, I did not share my connection with others (parents/son/daughter), and you wanted to only allow me to connect through your router to your computer - then it case you would type in 999.888.777.666

b) If you do not want to only allow only a certain IP Address (OR IP Address Range) to connect to you, it has to be either blank (not filled in) OR if you can not leave it blank then it has to be 0.0.0.0

#2 From DSLR (dslreports.com) -> Forums -> Broadband and Networking -> Networking -> How to know if ports are reaching my computer from outside the post by DSLR user mackey (user # 1479488) on 2015-Sep-24 at 8:05 pm - if you wanted to test port 5154, besides using an inbound client side port checker:

Quote
Run tcpdump (`tcpdump -p -n -i <interface> port 5154` would be a good command to start with). If you see incoming TCP SYN packets (not SYN/ACK), or incoming UDP packets from an IP which did not have an outgoing packet first, then the port is open.

b) For tcpdump on Windows I found this info https://uwnthesis.wordpress.com/2014/05/26/windump-how-to-use-windump-tcpdump-on-windows-7-the-visual-guide/

#3 For a TCP and a UDP port checker you can use http://www.base64online.com/port-check.php

#4 Using a packet sniffer (like tcpdump = command line / like wireshark = GUI) you should see the traffic from an outside IP address reaching your computer, like I did (when you are forwarding the ports to your computer).

Code: [Select]
    user-name@pc-name:~$ tcpdump -p -n -i eth0 port 5154
    tcpdump: eth0: You don't have permission to capture on that device
    (socket: Operation not permitted)
    user-name@pc-name:~$ sudo tcpdump -p -n -i eth0 port 5154
    [sudo] password for user-name:
    tcpdump: verbose output suppressed, use -v or -vv for full protocol decode
    listening on eth0, link-type EN10MB (Ethernet), capture size 65535 bytes
    08:40:24.169428 IP 192.168.2.138.50157 > 192.168.2.255.5154: UDP, length 6
    08:42:15.839461 IP 4.79.142.206.37174 > 192.168.2.138.5154: Flags [S], seq 1464127243, win 8192, options [mss 1460], length 0
    08:49:05.773987 IP 90.145.69.116.51145 > 192.168.2.138.5154: UDP, length 0
    08:49:06.938818 IP 90.145.69.116.36530 > 192.168.2.138.5154: UDP, length 0
    08:57:57.580814 IP 198.199.98.246.42092 > 192.168.2.138.5154: Flags [S], seq 3027635480, win 14600, options [mss 1460,sackOK,TS val 4240686068 ecr 0,nop,wscale 8], length 0
    08:57:57.712334 IP 198.199.98.246.42093 > 192.168.2.138.5154: Flags [S], seq 1267700791, win 14600, options [mss 1460,sackOK,TS val 4240686102 ecr 0,nop,wscale 8], length 0
    08:57:57.840328 IP 198.199.98.246.42095 > 192.168.2.138.5154: Flags [S], seq 1515263633, win 14600, options [mss 1460,sackOK,TS val 4240686134 ecr 0,nop,wscale 8], length 0
    ^C
    7 packets captured
    7 packets received by filter
    0 packets dropped by kernel
    user-name@pc-name:~$


#5 Some notes about my testing..

a) 192.168.2.138.50157 is from this same computer.

b) As noted at grc.com -> Services -> Shield's Up they own 4.79.142.192 -thru- 4.79.142.207.

c) I believe 198.199.98.246 is from http://www.yougetsignal.com/tools/open-ports/ as it only checks TCP ports.

d) As you can see, I checked port 5154.

#6 The only UDP ports that grc.com checks, that I know of, are:

a) DNS (53) grc.com -> Freeware -> Utilities -> DNS Benchmark -> DNS Spoofability Test Introduction (or grc.com -> Services -> DNS Spoofability Test)

b) Universal Plug n'Play (UPnP) = 1900

https://www.grc.com/port_5000.htm

From grc.com -> Services -> Shield's Up: Click on Proceed and then GRC's Instant UPnP Exposure Test.

#7 Here are some notes about listening:

Quote

a) If you are on Windows I point you to http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/28609/how-can-i-tell-what-is-listening-on-a-tcpip-port-in-windows/

b) If you are not on Windows (Mac, Unix/Linux), go look lookup listen on port and then your OS name using Google (or your other favorite search engine).

c) If nothing is listening any TCP ports that you check with a web based port checker, then TCP ports does not show up as open.

d) Be advised that you can not have two servers listening on the same the port on the same computer. So for example before you use an inbond-client side port checker you must make sure that uTorrent is not running - which explains on http://portforward.com/softwareguides/utorrent/utorrent.htm that they say

Quote
If uTorrent is currently open, you will need to completely close it at this time. Make sure that the green uTorrent icon is not still hiding in your notification area (next to your clock). If it is, right click on it and choose "Exit". Before moving forward to things like selecting torrents, seeders, and leachers, we need to verify that your port is open. We recommend downloading our free Open Port Check Tool to test if incoming connections are being allowed through your router on your uTorrent Listening Port

e) And generally if the program/app is running that you are trying to forward for, then the server is listening.

#8 Here are some catches about ping:

a) If the server that you forwarded requires that you reply to ping, well then you must enable responding to ping in the router.

b) If the server that you forwarded does not require that you reply to ping, well that depends on another factor..

As to what that other factor is, I point to and quote the post by nwrickert (DSLR user #1070900) in DSLR (dslreports.com) Forums >Broadband Tech > Security > Security > DMZ and portforwarding are equally dangerous? on 2010-08-21 at 13:53:23.
Quote
Quote
While he tells people that responding to ping is dangerous, he replys to ping.

That's a pretty minor point. The reason some people prefer to not respond to ping, is to avoid demonstrating their presence on the net. Gibson has a public site whose presence on the net is well known, so that reason for not responding to ping simply does not apply.

While Steve Gibson does sometimes say some useful things, he mostly seems to be making mountains out of molehills

Note: Sorry for my misspelling, I meant replies.

c) There are certain troubleshooting tools that require that you reply to ping.

For example if you wanted to use the followings tool(s) at DSLR (dslreports.com) -> Tools: Smokeping, Line quality - Ping Test, and for 24x7 Line Monitoring...

d) If the ports are open (this means not just in the router) but the program/app does not work: I have an odd feeling that with this server, you must reply to ping.

#9

You must provide to users from the outside either your non bogan IP Address or DDNS.

What DNS is, here is the simple as possible version as how it works.

Quote
I know of a given domain name. What is their IP Address for that domain?

The first D in DDNS means/allows you to have a domain name the follows your non static non bogan IP Address. Which is a lot easier to provide and normally most people use DNS over the IP Address for the content servers that they want to connect to.. ;)
Private messages (PM) are not for support questions or for hints to not yet answered topics. The PMs are basically for confident conversation between the users, off the forum.

Offline seagypsy

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Aug 2018
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: Please add router to port forward
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2018, 03:35:43 PM »
Thanks for the reply trpted.
As I said in my post I am a complete newbie in the port forwarding area.I will attempt to make sense of what you wrote. I have only speed read up to this point but will study in depth today.
 
The part about the port forwarding program I purchased has me confused already.
Are you saying the program is not worth having and will in fact not do as stated or have I taken that the wrong way.

My ISP assures me they do not block ports so with that said I fail to see why the same program (server ) I have used for years on another ISP now fails to work on this ISP.
The two differences I see are a new ISP and a different router supplied by the said ISP. I have tried my own router with the same dismal outcome.I am somewhat older now and my brain is somewhat less speedy than it used to be but I never had this problem when I ran the server before.
I am running the same setup I did on the other ISP that being Server /client/no-ip which has always worked.
I would not bother with setting it up but my son wants to run it himself if my battle with cancer is lost.
I need to show him the details of how it is set up because he is in no way a tech type same as me. He just wants to keep stuff that his dad liked I guess.

I will read over everything you have written although to be honest it could be written in chinese  and probably make as much sense to me.
Is the router going to be added to the program or do I just flag the program and persist in finding out the problem for myself.



Offline trpted

  • PcWinTech Guru
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 1,143
  • Karma: 37
Re: Please add router to port forward
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2018, 01:17:20 PM »
While not worth having, it will work with a supported NAT router.

Unknown if and when they are going to add more NAT routers to the database.

Take your time going over all the data. Go a few steps at a time (Like after pre check 1: Pre check 2 and 3 starting with).
Private messages (PM) are not for support questions or for hints to not yet answered topics. The PMs are basically for confident conversation between the users, off the forum.

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Please add router to port forward
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2018, 01:17:20 PM »