Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: My router is not in the list of the program  (Read 1089 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mikeg1984

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Jan 2018
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
My router is not in the list of the program
« on: January 20, 2018, 02:12:19 AM »
Hi everybody, i'm tryng to use Simple port forwarding for my router, but is not listed.
The brand is AG COMBO NMU 771320.
Could you add please?

PcWinTech.com Forums

My router is not in the list of the program
« on: January 20, 2018, 02:12:19 AM »

Offline trpted

  • PcWinTech Guru
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 1,143
  • Karma: 37
Re: My router is not in the list of the program
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2018, 08:14:32 AM »
Let us do this step by step. Starting off with pre-checks.

********************** Pre-check item one  **********************

#1 Most ISP have a TOS ( Terms Of Service )

#2 You need to find that TOS for your ISP.

#3 If your ISP does not say anything that you can not to run any servers of any kind - green light.

#4 If your ISP does not allow you to run any servers of any kind - yellow light.

-> Be sure to know the risk of running any kind of server.

-> You have to decide is worth the risk or not, based upon...

a) ..how easy you can get another ISP to serve you - for example.

b) ..how much does it cost to upgrade the type of account that you have with your ISP. Example from regular consumer to gaming or business plan.

********************** Pre-check item two  **********************

#1 As how to check what the IP Address is/are, Subnet Mask is/are, Default Gateway is, MAC Address(es) is/are, DNS Server(s) are of your computer, it depends on the OS and Version.

#2 Note: This example assumes that you are on Windows 2000, Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8 or Windows 10

a) Press the Windows Start key to open the Start screen.

b) Type cmd and press Enter to launch the command prompt.

Note: You do not need to click on anything on the Start screen—typing will automatically initiate a program search.

c) Type ipconfig /all at the command prompt to check the network card settings.

d) If not on Windows 2000, Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8 or Windows 10 and you do not know how to check that network info - then post what is your OS and Version is.

#4 You need to make sure that the Default Gateway on your computer is the same LAN IP as your NAT router.

************* Pre-check item three  ***************

#1 Go to http://ipv4.whatismyv6.com/

#2 On that web page is the non bogan IPv4 (Public) Address that users from Internet use to connect to you.

#3 In your router, somewhere in there you must have the same non bogan IP Address.

Example non bogan IP Address is 999.888.777.666, but in the router the WAN IP is 10.0.0.100 - this is not ok.

#4 Important note: This is not to say that the non bogan IP Address has to be Static.

Example yesterday's IP Address was 999.888.777.666 and today's IP Address is 999.888.777.555 - this is ok.

#5 If the WAN IP in the router does not match the true WAN IP, well it matters what the WAN IP in the router is.

a) If the WAN IP is from 100.64.0.0 - 100.127.255.255, then CGNAT/NAT444/LSN is present.

Quote

If you want more details about CGNAT/NAT444/LSN, you can look at

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carrier-grade_NAT

The possible fixes to fix your issue if CGNAT/NAT444/LSN is present.

#1 Have them in their NAT router forward the ports to the WAN IP of your router..

#2 Upgrading the type of plan that you are on with your ISP so that you get a non bogan WAN IP Address.

For example if you are a Residential Service Plan, consider going to a Business Service Plan.

#3 Consider switching to another ISP that can give you you a non bogan WAN IP Address.

#4 For the long term future, get IPv6 working.


b) If the WAN IP is one of the RFC 1918 IPs. (Meaning 10.0.0.0 to 10.255.255.255, from 172.16.0.0 to 172.31.255.255 OR from 192.168.0.0 to 192.168.255.255)

Info: I used Google Image to lookup that NAT router.

Command/Question one if the WAN IP in the router is one of the RFC 1918 IPs: Physically find this NAT router of yours.

Command/Question two if the WAN IP in the router is one of the RFC 1918 IPs: Does the back of it look something like this?

Command/Question three if the WAN IP in the router is one of the RFC 1918 IPs: If so, how is it connected to the Internet:

a) DSL port

OR

b) WAN Port

?

*

c) If the WAN IP was not any of those, it would be a good idea to check to see how the non bogan IP Address is not the same (and not NAT). If you need help finding why that is, you are to asking for help doing so.

^^
« Last Edit: January 22, 2018, 08:48:31 AM by trpted »
Private messages (PM) are not for support questions or for hints to not yet answered topics. The PMs are basically for confident conversation between the users, off the forum.

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: My router is not in the list of the program
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2018, 08:14:32 AM »

 

email