Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: Arris SB6183  (Read 430 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Techman Pro

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: 0
Arris SB6183
« on: September 06, 2017, 05:55:19 PM »
I need to know if there is any update for my modem Arris Surfboard SB6183, I don't see it in the list.

PcWinTech.com Forums

Arris SB6183
« on: September 06, 2017, 05:55:19 PM »

Offline trpted

  • PcWinTech Guru
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 1,103
  • Karma: 37
Re: Arris SB6183
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2017, 11:48:01 AM »
By looking at your last thread that you started ( http://forums.pcwintech.com/index.php/topic,5792.0.html ) you have your own RJ-45 WAN port router behind your modem (TechniColor TC8717T).

If you still have a RJ-45 WAN port router behind the modem (Arris SB6183), then:

#1 Make sure that all of your computers are behind your RJ-45 WAN port router.

#2 Your RJ-45 WAN port router can hardware based (for example the Linksys E4200 v1) or software based (Examples that are listed at that DSLR news thing posted back on Tuesday Mar 20 2012 at 16:14 EST: m0n0wall, pfSense, Smoothwall, Untangle, and Astaro Security Gateway - direct URL REF https://www.dslreports.com/shownews/118897 ).

#3 If you have( or had ) a spare computer that is not in use that works that either has:

a) Two NICs (and note at least one must be a wired NIC)

b) OR you can add a second NIC into the computer (For example by a second NIC into the computer I mean a PCI NIC like the TRENDnet - Fast Ethernet PCI Adapter (Model: TE100-PCIWN)  )

...then you could covert that spare computer that works into acting a NAT router.

#4 Note: If want to use a spare computer as a NAT Router, before connecting it to the modem combo that is in bridge mode: Be sure to know which NIC is which - as the NIC will not be ( LAN VS the WAN/ Internet / To Modem / To ONT - port ) labeled!

#5 Some other info about building / turning a computer into acting as a NAT router, besides that DSLR news thing,

https://www.dslreports.com/forum/r30568002-Numbers-don-t-lie-it-s-time-to-build-your-own-router

https://www.dslreports.com/forum/r30714877-Guide-to-building-a-Linux-router-from-scratch

https://www.dslreports.com/forum/r30984220-The-Router-rumble-Ars-DIY-build-faces-better-tests-tougher-competition

#6 In the RJ-45 WAN port router, forward the ports that you need to.

**

-> OR if the ISP does not want to help you put the modem combo into bridge mode / OR if it does not stay in bridge mode, since you are on Cable:

#1 Get a cable modem that is not a cable modem combo, that has a web based UI (or Telnet OR ftp or SNMP - that does not require for special program)

By special program, I mean for example For Windows - http://www.dslreports.com/faq/16899 (For Unix/Linux like see http://adslm.dohrenburg.net/linux/linux.php )

For example of a cable modem that is not a cable modem combo, that has a web based UI (or Telnet OR ftp or SNMP) is the Motorola SB6141.

#2 If you have a telephony too: If possible get and use two modems, like what I have.

One just for telephony (in my case Arris TM602G/115) and the other just for Internet (in my case the Motorola SB6141 with my own RJ-45 WAN port router behind it).

Since I do not use the same ISP (Service Electric/PTD) that you do, make sure that your ISP allows this.
« Last Edit: September 09, 2017, 11:49:44 AM by trpted »
Private messages (PM) are not for support questions or for hints to not yet answered topics. The PMs are basically for confident conversation between the users, off the forum.

Offline Techman Pro

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: 0
Re: Arris SB6183
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2017, 06:32:11 PM »
Just realized that even though I enter my serial into the program, still says I need Pro version. Curious to know why that is happening. Also, I have spare computers but I don't think have a PC setup for making it into a Nat Router. I have a wireless router and a modem, my modem is bought to work compatible with TWC/Spectrum. Not much options in the menu to make any changes to it.

Offline trpted

  • PcWinTech Guru
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 1,103
  • Karma: 37
Re: Arris SB6183
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2017, 05:59:46 PM »
Unknown as to why, since I am not support for that program.

News flash: Your modem is a not a modem combo.
Private messages (PM) are not for support questions or for hints to not yet answered topics. The PMs are basically for confident conversation between the users, off the forum.

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Arris SB6183
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2017, 05:59:46 PM »