Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: Only one port opens while the other doesn't  (Read 642 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline hera

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Jul 2017
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Only one port opens while the other doesn't
« on: July 14, 2017, 02:38:08 PM »
The title says it all.
ports trying to open
1111: UDP - This doesn't open
1112: TCP - This one opens while the other^^ doesn't
-------------------------------------
router model - C1900A

Want someone to AnyDesk.cpmTo me to help resolve the matter faster than using the forum.

PcWinTech.com Forums

Only one port opens while the other doesn't
« on: July 14, 2017, 02:38:08 PM »

Offline trpted

  • PcWinTech Guru
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 1,103
  • Karma: 37
Re: Only one port opens while the other doesn't
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2017, 07:01:47 PM »
#1 According to the info that is at http://internethelp.centurylink.com/internethelp/modem-c1900a-adv-port-forwarding.html

you can select any of the following: TCP only, UDP only or Both (TCP and UDP)

#2 You selected both?

#3 At http://internethelp.centurylink.com/internethelp/modem-c1900a-adv-firewall.html

they talk about the firewall settings in the NAT Router.

#4 How is it setup?

#5 For the port that is not open, how did you test it/them?

#6 At http://internethelp.centurylink.com/internethelp/modem-c1900a-adv-services-blocking.html

they talk about blocking ports/services.

#7 You do not have the port / service blocked?

#8 At http://internethelp.centurylink.com/internethelp/modem-c1900a-adv-dhcp-reservations.html

they talk about the setting a Static IP in the NAT Router for your computer.

#9 Did you do that?

#10 If not,

a) did you change the DHCP Range so that it does not occupy the whole subnet -

http://internethelp.centurylink.com/internethelp/modem-c1900a-adv-dhcp-server.html

b) And if so, did you setup your computer outside of that DHCP Range?
« Last Edit: July 17, 2017, 07:04:06 PM by trpted »
Private messages (PM) are not for support questions or for hints to not yet answered topics. The PMs are basically for confident conversation between the users, off the forum.

Offline hera

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Jul 2017
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: Only one port opens while the other doesn't
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2017, 10:36:50 PM »
The only one i didnt do was dhcp one

Offline hera

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Jul 2017
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: Only one port opens while the other doesn't
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2017, 10:44:38 PM »
im currently outside of the dhcp zone

Offline trpted

  • PcWinTech Guru
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 1,103
  • Karma: 37
Re: Only one port opens while the other doesn't
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2017, 11:42:30 AM »
Good to hear/read that it is outside of the DHCP Range.

Please do not forgot the other steps/questions, too.

Thank you
Private messages (PM) are not for support questions or for hints to not yet answered topics. The PMs are basically for confident conversation between the users, off the forum.

Offline hera

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Jul 2017
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: Only one port opens while the other doesn't
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2017, 07:12:37 AM »
Did everything and still doesn't open.

Offline trpted

  • PcWinTech Guru
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 1,103
  • Karma: 37
Re: Only one port opens while the other doesn't
« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2017, 11:08:07 AM »
#1 Do you have a separate OR a spare RJ-45 WAN port router?

#2 If so, what is the brand and model of your separate or spare RJ-45 WAN port router?

For example:

a) The Motorola SB6141 is my cable modem (Non modem combo).

b) Note where modem combo = modem and router all-in-one.

c) My separate router is my Linksys E4200 hardware version one and it is behind my modem.

d) I also have a spare Linksys WRT54G hardware version 2, not in use.

#3 If not to question 1, do you have a spare computer that is not in use that works that either has:

a) Two NICs

b) OR you can add a second NIC into the computer?

For example by a second NIC into the computer I mean a PCI NIC like the TRENDnet - Fast Ethernet PCI Adapter (Model: TE100-PCIWN).

Note: at least one of those two NICs, must be a wired NIC.
Private messages (PM) are not for support questions or for hints to not yet answered topics. The PMs are basically for confident conversation between the users, off the forum.

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Only one port opens while the other doesn't
« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2017, 11:08:07 AM »

 

email