Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: Can't Update Router  (Read 17313 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline archeryftw

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Jan 2016
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
Can't Update Router
« on: January 18, 2016, 03:46:30 PM »
When I try to update my router after inputting everything, the page goes to a Browser Not Supported page, and then to a 404 page not found.

Error message is this:

Quote
!ERROR! (Navigating to http://192.168.1.1/Forward.asp)
This Entry Will be Skipped.
Please Check your Router Info And Try Again.

Router is made by Linksys, model is WRT1900AC.

Page looks like this:

Can't screenshot the "Browser Not Supported" page, as it goes by too fast. Set security settings to default, but still had no luck.

Would appreciate help. Thanks :)

PcWinTech.com Forums

Can't Update Router
« on: January 18, 2016, 03:46:30 PM »

Offline trpted

  • PcWinTech Guru
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 1,142
  • Karma: 37
Re: Can't Update Router
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2016, 07:29:16 PM »
I point and quote from PcWinTech.com Forums -> Lorex -> Lorex Auto Port Forwarding -> Auto Port Fowarding tool for windows No WRT1900AC router selectiong

Quote
If the new router is using cisco horrible java only interface it wont allow my program to connect to it and will complain that you need to update the browser (When you actually dont)

Instead of using normal html pages like every other router they redid all their pages to be pure java script, and it makes it impossible to work with the pages since there is no html for the buttons or textboxes to work with since they are all javascript.

I tried adding support for their new firmware but when I did I found that IE couldnt find any names for any of the controls at all. So i couldn't make a script. I have a tp-link and so havent got my hands on a newer linksys so I could look into it more and see if I can find away around their block. Java script is heavy on cpu and memory, I have no clue why they would make their entire interface out of it lol

Perhaps you can roll back the router's firmware back from the Cisco Cloud based firmware to the classic firmware for the your router?

Please consider going back to classic Firmware. For example see, http://kb.linksys.com/Linksys/GetArticle.aspx?docid=227c9e6286124532ac52a643ca4122a5_Rolling_back_the_Cisco_Connect_Cloud_firmware_of_Linksys_Sma.xml&pid=80&converted=0
Private messages (PM) are not for support questions or for hints to not yet answered topics. The PMs are basically for confident conversation between the users, off the forum.

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Can't Update Router
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2016, 07:29:16 PM »