Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: Remote access no longer available  (Read 18915 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rob1313

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
Remote access no longer available
« on: August 03, 2015, 01:09:39 PM »
Hello people,
I had to change routers when my Linksys router stopped working.
I have a amped wireless R-1000 router I have internet connection to all of my mobile devices.
I went to my lorex port forwarding program and it found my router no problem and I successfully got the ports accept by the router ( no error messages) Even though I have this done I am not able to connect to the DVR remotely. not through my mobile device nor my computers. One strange thing that did happen was when I tested my ddns address it open my router settings page??? this never happen with the old router. need help getting this up and running thanks I made a mistake somewhere along the line
Rob

PcWinTech.com Forums

Remote access no longer available
« on: August 03, 2015, 01:09:39 PM »

Offline trpted

  • PcWinTech Guru
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 1,136
  • Karma: 37
Re: Remote access no longer available
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2015, 05:22:02 AM »
I can try to help as much as I can.

#1 What DVR unit are you using?

#2 What port (or ports) does it use?
Private messages (PM) are not for support questions or for hints to not yet answered topics. The PMs are basically for confident conversation between the users, off the forum.

Offline rob1313

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
Re: Remote access no longer available
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2015, 05:33:05 AM »
I am at the office I will get you that info tonight when I get home thanks for responding Rob

Offline rob1313

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
Re: Remote access no longer available
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2015, 09:59:55 AM »
okay here is the info

Offline rob1313

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
Re: Remote access no longer available
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2015, 10:02:43 AM »
the rest

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Remote access no longer available
« Reply #5 on: August 07, 2015, 04:38:02 PM »
That is because your router is using port 80 and you have the remote admin enabled on it. So you either need to disable the remote admin in it or have your dvr use a different http port instead of 80 :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline rob1313

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
Re: Remote access no longer available
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2015, 08:22:33 AM »
Thanks Shane I guess I am getting closer changed the dvr port 81 port forward successful no longer opens router set home page but, error message online ( lorexddns address) is online but isn't responding to connection attempts

Offline rob1313

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
Re: Remote access no longer available
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2015, 08:42:19 AM »
also I went into the new router  ddns settings it is enable but it  two choice for ddns server  one is dynDNS  the other is TZO side bar says I need to sign up for one of these 2? My  dvr shows my lorexddns address. let me know if I need to do something with this setting   thanks Rob

Offline rob1313

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
Re: Remote access no longer available
« Reply #8 on: August 08, 2015, 11:26:21 AM »
ok8 update I was finally able to connect the auto porter forwarding looked like it was working, but displayed no ports in the table list. I manually enter the ports and was able to get them in. using my dvr ip address with chrome and the IE forced 8 extension. I can't  connect using my ddns address nor can I see my cameras using Lorex Eco which I was able before so that is my next problem ports 80 is not open the others was able to open?

Offline rob1313

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
Re: Remote access no longer available
« Reply #9 on: August 08, 2015, 11:32:32 AM »
in my post above port 81 is not opened not 80  it appears in my router list but port checker shows it closed

Offline rob1313

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
Re: Remote access no longer available
« Reply #10 on: August 08, 2015, 12:11:10 PM »
okay last update I downloaded the Lorex app called Lorex Eco stratus seting page dvr ip address instead of ddns from lorex able to connect on my smart phone  not the correct way I am sure but a workable work around thanks to all who responded and advice that was offered rob

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Remote access no longer available
« Reply #11 on: August 10, 2015, 09:29:53 AM »
Did you make sure to update the port forwarding rule in the router as well so that it points to the dvr local Ip and port 81?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline rob1313

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
Re: Remote access no longer available
« Reply #12 on: August 10, 2015, 10:06:10 AM »
Yes but I found out what the real problem was not my wireless router but my router/modem from my service provider was handling  my Dhcp had to set the modem/router to bridge mode so that it is only acting as a modem was able to then use my ddns address. so I'm good to go close it out  Shane.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Remote access no longer available
« Reply #13 on: August 11, 2015, 01:39:07 PM »
Great to hear :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Remote access no longer available
« Reply #13 on: August 11, 2015, 01:39:07 PM »

 

email