Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: Issues using ddns for remote viewing  (Read 14772 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Parkercantoo

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Jul 2015
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Issues using ddns for remote viewing
« on: July 01, 2015, 10:59:21 AM »
I've been wrestling with this for awhile now. I can view my cameras through the mobile app and over LAN, but when I try to use the ddns address I just get a page not found error.

I have the ddns set up with the username and password given to me via email.

I've attached an image of both my network settings and my ddns settings. I'm not sure what's wrong. Any advice would be appreciated

Thanks! :cheesy:

PcWinTech.com Forums

Issues using ddns for remote viewing
« on: July 01, 2015, 10:59:21 AM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Issues using ddns for remote viewing
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2015, 02:06:10 PM »
Post a screen shot of the port forwarding page in your router as well so I can make sure it is correct :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Parkercantoo

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Jul 2015
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: Issues using ddns for remote viewing
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2015, 08:53:40 AM »
Thanks for responding! I've got those screenshots here.

Offline trpted

  • PcWinTech Guru
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 1,123
  • Karma: 37
Re: Issues using ddns for remote viewing
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2015, 12:49:33 PM »
#1 Let me give to you an example what happens with my router running tomato firmware.

With loop back in my router set to Off, if I am behind my router and if I enter in my public IP: I can't connect to anything. :(

With loop back in my router set to All, if I am behind my router and if I enter in my public IP I can connect to the router's UI as if remote control of the router is turned on.

With loop back in my router set to Forward Only, if I am behind my router, if I enter in my public IP and I have a web server running on port 80: I am able to connect to my web server on port 80.

With loop back in my router set to Forward Only, if I am behind my router, if I enter in my public IP and I do not have a web server running on port 80: I can't connect to anything.

**

#2 Based upon the above info, I have say your router has loopback support and it set to Off.

#3 I also have to say that:

a) Not all routers will allow users to adjust the loop back feature.

b) OR if they let the user adjust the loop back feature, they can only turn it off and on.

#4 As how to test for loop back (reverse nat), I point you to http://www.pcwintech.com/test-for-reverse-nat
Private messages (PM) are not for support questions or for hints to not yet answered topics. The PMs are basically for confident conversation between the users, off the forum.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Issues using ddns for remote viewing
« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2015, 03:53:17 PM »
I see you have port 8080 forwarded, but you have the http port in the dvr set to 80 and not 8080, so change the http port in the dvr to 8080 and reboot the dvr and let me know and I will see if I can connect :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Parkercantoo

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Jul 2015
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: Issues using ddns for remote viewing
« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2015, 10:17:24 AM »
@trpted, My router unfortunately doesn't support looping. :/

@Shane, That's a really silly mistake on my part, thanks for pointing that out. I know I had that set to 8080 at one point. I've changed it, so hopefully you can connect to it now.

Offline Parkercantoo

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Jul 2015
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: Issues using ddns for remote viewing
« Reply #6 on: July 09, 2015, 06:53:10 AM »
I tried it this morning before going to work and Shane's catch in my settings solved all of my problems. Thanks for your help, everyone!

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Issues using ddns for remote viewing
« Reply #7 on: July 10, 2015, 11:36:51 AM »
Good to hear you are all set :-)

Locking thread.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Issues using ddns for remote viewing
« Reply #7 on: July 10, 2015, 11:36:51 AM »

 

email