Author Topic: 2 routers port forwarding  (Read 15862 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline good_learner

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: 0
2 routers port forwarding
« on: April 05, 2015, 07:57:54 AM »
Hello,
Dear Expert,

you have helped me around 1 year ago to solve my port testing problem. (ignoring about reverse NAT was the reason of the problem)

first i want to apologize that i can't find a solution for my problem on the forum, although i am sure it is a very common problem.
and every user send his case as if he is a special case, well i'm one of those.

I have a huwaei fibre gateway , then connected to Netgear router.
In the netgear i did the port forwarding, then in the Huwaei i did the DMZ ( i already read your article for two routers)

i attached screenshots for:
1- Huwaei DMZ
2- Huwaei port mapping (maybe it has something related)
3- Netgear port forwarding
4- Your great port tester

i don't know what is wrong am i doing?

regards

PcWinTech.com Forums

2 routers port forwarding
« on: April 05, 2015, 07:57:54 AM »

Offline trpted

  • PcWinTech Guru
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 1,184
  • Karma: 37
Re: 2 routers port forwarding
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2015, 11:48:11 AM »
#1 For one thing, in the first screen shot:

a) The router's LAN IP is 192.168.100.1

b) And yet when you are using the DMZ feature, you are trying to send traffic to 192.168.100.1

Something tells me that is not right/correct. :(

#2 In the second screen shot, you are shown forwarding to an IP Address that starts with 192.168.100 but is not 192.168.100.1 :)

#3 In the third screen shot you are forwarding to 192.168.1.28 and yet in the port checker - fourth screenshot (unless your computer has two NICs) your IP Address is 192.168.1.12

Again: Something tells me that is not right/correct. :(
« Last Edit: April 05, 2015, 11:52:12 AM by trpted »
Private messages (PM) are not for support questions or for hints to not yet answered topics. The PMs are basically for confident conversation between the users, off the forum.

Offline good_learner

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: 0
Re: 2 routers port forwarding
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2015, 04:19:53 PM »
Hello,
it seems that i didn't explain the sequence of the routers.
the Fiber Haewaei one 192.168.100.1 which is fixed in the wall, then it is giving internet to the netgear one 192.168.1.1.
check attachements 5 and 6 as approve.

regarding forwarding to 192.168.100 only, actually this a blank field in order to make a new forward, but already i had made the forward to 192.168.100.1 in the line beneath.

i have only NIC in the laptop

the ip 192.168.100.28 is the ip of the garden camera i want to access from other network.

thanks for care

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 2 routers port forwarding
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2015, 11:39:24 AM »
Right now you have DMZ in the fiber modem pointing right back to itself, which isnt correct :-)

It should be pointing to the WAN Ip of the netgear, so instead of pointing to 192.168.100.1 it should be pointing to 192.168.100.11 :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline good_learner

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: 0
Re: 2 routers port forwarding
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2015, 11:58:54 AM »
thanks Shane,
i changed it to 192.168.100.11, it doesn't work. Still the port is closed.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 2 routers port forwarding
« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2015, 12:38:23 PM »
And now the port forwarding rule in the netgear (Sorry I missed it in the last post)

In the rule you have it pointing to 192.168.1.18 yet the port tester shows your computers Ip of being 192.168.1.12 :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline good_learner

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: 0
Re: 2 routers port forwarding
« Reply #6 on: April 06, 2015, 01:21:33 PM »
My Expert,

the ip of my laptop from which i run 'port tester' is 12, but the ip of the target camera is 28 (not 18)


Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 2 routers port forwarding
« Reply #7 on: April 07, 2015, 01:39:15 PM »
Ah, the port tester is only for testing to the machine it is running on as it opens the port to listen on it for a connection from my site.

So instead setup a test port forwarding rule for say port 1979 and have it point to your computer and then use the port tester. That way we can confirm if port forwarding is working :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline good_learner

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: 0
Re: 2 routers port forwarding
« Reply #8 on: April 08, 2015, 11:54:01 AM »
Shane,
the port 1979 (your birth year, maybe) works well.
you did in two years in a row.
now everything polls well, i can access camera from outside

regards


Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 2 routers port forwarding
« Reply #9 on: April 08, 2015, 01:57:35 PM »
Yes my birth year lol

Good to hear you are working now :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: 2 routers port forwarding
« Reply #9 on: April 08, 2015, 01:57:35 PM »