Author Topic: How do I portforward with a modem and a router (did read the text on the website  (Read 15310 times)

Offline Pieter1975

• PcWinTech Jr. Member
Hi,

I use the SPF pro version.
I am a total noob at this portforwarding.

This is the problem:
Modem/router 1 is a ciscoEPC3928AD
Then I have router 2: TPLink TL-WDR1043ND

I need to open some ports for couple of games etc.

Please think with me:
I began portforwarding the CISCO. But I cant make it work.
I selected the CISCO as my router
But: then I have to select my Router IP. I only have 1 adapter and it shows the gateway / IP from not my Cisco, but my TP-link. Plus also my static adress is made from that same IP.
I dont get this. What am I missing and how do I proceed?

PcWinTech.com Forums

Offline trpted

• PcWinTech Guru
#1 I point to and quote from DSLR(dslreports.com) -> Forums -> Broadband Tech -> Networking -> Modem/router(not in bridge mode) + router the reply by DSLR user clarknova (#1713475) on 2013-Sep-18 at 2:13 pm

There are some good reasons to have a modem bridge rather than route. I can't speak for all modems, but generally speaking:

1. Modems don't have much memory compared to a good router, so open a few sessions from the LAN and watch as connections get dropped, or worse, the modem/router just locks.

2. Modems tend to lack features compared to a good router. Things like QoS, DHCP reservation, VPN, uPNP, static routes, etc get left out. You can provide your own router behind the modem, as you did, but this can lead to other complications, such as

3. Double NAT. Most things can be made to work with double NAT, just as it's entirely possible to assemble a jigsaw puzzle while wearing oven mitts. It takes longer and the probability of making a mistake while setting it up or troubleshooting goes up. Simplicity is a good rule to live by when setting up networks.

#2 Advice

a) Make sure that all of your computers are behind your RJ-45 WAN port router (TPLink TL-WDR1043ND).