Author Topic: Start up on XP  (Read 21918 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
here you go
« Reply #15 on: March 23, 2009, 04:41:56 PM »
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

here you go
« Reply #15 on: March 23, 2009, 04:41:56 PM »

putik

  • Guest
start up on XP
« Reply #16 on: March 26, 2009, 03:49:58 PM »
Hi Shane,

I'm sorry i thought the problem went away but it still there. It just happened just now. After i shut down and i started the pc back on, its just the sound of the fan again and it won't boot up. Same thing blank screen..nothing. I've waited for like 30 mins, then it started fine. Do you think it might be the driver? Thanks, your help is always appreciated.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
its not a driver, drivers are
« Reply #17 on: March 26, 2009, 03:57:27 PM »
its not a driver, drivers are only loaded in windows and you arent even making it that far.

How many memory chips do you have in the system?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

putik

  • Guest
start up on xp
« Reply #18 on: March 26, 2009, 04:11:03 PM »
Shane,

Where can i find the memory chips? I'm sorry, don't know much about them. Thanks.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
ram sticks look like
« Reply #19 on: March 26, 2009, 04:19:34 PM »
ram sticks look like these

http://images.google.com/images?gbv=2&hl=en&safe=off&sa=1&q=ram&btnG=Search+Images&aq=f&oq=

they will be next to your CPU on the motherboard. 2 clips hold them in.

I had a customer yesterday with the same problem as you. Turned out to be an issues with the MB and the memory. What was happening was the MB wasn't detecting the memory specs right. If the MB doesnt set the memory to the right specs the system wont boot. Leave it off for a while it would come back on.

But here is a little trick. The MB detects and uses the memory specs from the memory in the first slot and sets all other slots to match. So if your first memory stick might be causing the issues you can swap it with one of the other ones in the system and put it in another slot. So this way the MB detects a different stick and hopefully has better luck.

So I want to see if you have more than 1 stick to swap around and see if this might work for you as well.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Evan

  • Global Moderator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2009
  • Posts: 1,306
  • Karma: 45
Testing RAM
« Reply #20 on: March 26, 2009, 05:07:38 PM »
Shane,

Earlier he said he tested his RAM and got the all clear.  Don't you think this might be a PSU problem?  Unless his RAM just passed that one time or for some reason his CPU cache wasn't disabled then, assuming all test were accurate, his RAM modules and DIMMs (assuming DDR,DDR2,or DDR3 here)should be okay.  That seems to lean more towards something with the MB itself or PSU.

-Evan
About Evan:Site Admin, Tester, Editor

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
same thing with the customer,
« Reply #21 on: March 26, 2009, 05:29:58 PM »
same thing with the customer, memory tested fine, which when it boots up for him makes since. and when the memory is set right makes since the test past, as the memory isnt bad just not set to the right specs.

And when the MB doesnt set the specs right explains the no boot.
BUT a failing power supply not providing enough power can do it to.
Only thing to do is keep going down the list till we find which part is failing on him

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

same thing with the customer,
« Reply #21 on: March 26, 2009, 05:29:58 PM »

 

email