Author Topic: Start up on XP  (Read 21547 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

putik

  • Guest
Start up on XP
« on: March 12, 2009, 07:05:37 AM »
Hi Shane,

Sometimes when i start or restart my pc, at the beginning when i pressed that start button or during the restart it will boot up and i can hear the fan is going. The problem is the fan will keep on running and the starting lights at front will stop blinking and the pc will stays or stuck in that state,all i hear is the fan and it won't continue booting up. It will be like that until i turned it off, waited for awhile, turned it back on again and only then it will boot up. Pls. help. Thanks.

PcWinTech.com Forums

Start up on XP
« on: March 12, 2009, 07:05:37 AM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Start up on XP
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2009, 07:41:00 AM »
When you first turn on the computer do you see the first set of screens? like the memory and bios and all that good stuff? or is it blank totally and you never see any screen.

The reason I ask is I am trying to see if it is freezing up before or after it hits the hard drive. If it freezes before it reaches the hard drive we will test the memory first. if it makes it to the drive we will test it first.

Also take a read at this
http://www.pcwintech.com/node/151

also try unplugging your power cord, then try to turn the system on to drain it. Then plug it back in and turn it on. see if that works when this starts happening.

Lets go from here.
-Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

putik

  • Guest
start up on xp
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2009, 11:23:34 PM »
Hi shane,

It will be totally blank, no first set of screens or anything,just the sound of fan going when i first turn it on. During the restart it will log off and shut down but it will not boot up, again the screen is totally blank and the blinking lights was not there. I tried uplugging to drain it but it still doing it. Thanks.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
What I would like you to try
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2009, 10:11:26 AM »
What I would like you to try next is to test the memory.
Use this free memory tester, it works well
http://oca.microsoft.com/en/windiag.asp

burn to a cd and boot from the cd and run the test. Let me know if the memory passes or not.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

putik

  • Guest
start up on XP
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2009, 05:33:25 PM »
Shane,

It won't boot up on cd. I restarted the pc twice, the first try after the logging off it just won't boot up,the screen was blank and the second try it booted up but it booted up regularly not on cd.  Thanks.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
make sure you have the bios
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2009, 05:40:10 PM »
make sure you have the bios set to try and boot from the cd drive before the hard drive.

If you have trouble just let me know.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

putik

  • Guest
start up on xp
« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2009, 07:48:04 PM »
Shane,

I got it to boot up on cd and all the standard and extended checks are succesful and with no errors. All passed.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
ok great! then your memory
« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2009, 08:50:09 PM »
ok great! then your memory passed.

Next step what motherboard do you have? I use to have an ASUS board that did the same thing as yours and a bios update fixed it. So I want to make sure we have the latest bios for your system.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

putik

  • Guest
start up on xp
« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2009, 10:31:05 PM »
Shane,

The motherboard name is ECS C51PVGM-GB.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
here is the bios page I found
« Reply #9 on: March 17, 2009, 11:07:04 AM »
here is the bios page I found for it.

http://www.ecs.com.tw/ECSWebSite/Products/ProductsDetail.aspx?detailid=695&CategoryID=1&DetailName=Bios&MenuID=1&LanID=0

can you confirm if you have this version or an older one?

If you have an older one you may want to update to this one.

-Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
oh one more thing I forgot to
« Reply #10 on: March 17, 2009, 11:07:49 AM »
oh one more thing I forgot to ask.

Are you over clocking anything at all? video, memory, cpu? any of those? sometimes overclocking can do this as well.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Evan

  • Global Moderator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2009
  • Posts: 1,306
  • Karma: 45
BIOS, Motherboard, Overclocking
« Reply #11 on: March 18, 2009, 09:33:46 AM »
Unless I missed it...you should reset your BIOS to factory defaults (assuming the option exists).  That can give you clean, albiet not an optimal, set-up.  Even if you think that everything is set properly I've had more than one system respond very kindly to this.

-Evan
About Evan:Site Admin, Tester, Editor

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Or clear the bios by 1 of 2
« Reply #12 on: March 18, 2009, 09:38:19 AM »
Or clear the bios by 1 of 2 ways. 1st you can find the jumper and do that (which to me is a pain when you have big hands lol) the 2nd and the way I do it is unplug the power cord, drain all the power by trying to turn it on, then remove the battery off the MB for about 10 sec. That clears it right out as well, and I have had to do it more than once overclocking my system :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Evan

  • Global Moderator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2009
  • Posts: 1,306
  • Karma: 45
Sure..be certain if you want, or be lazy (relatively).SARCASM
« Reply #13 on: March 18, 2009, 09:52:50 AM »
Fine, Shane's way works better. But my way is easier since it doesn't envolve opening the case and looking for such things as "jumper" or "battery".

I also can't help myself in wondering why on earth you would want to remove the power cord to "drain all the power" when you just reset the computer?  Can you link to anything to back this up? ;) LOL

SERIOUSLY though...he's right if you want to be certain the bios has been reset.
About Evan:Site Admin, Tester, Editor

putik

  • Guest
start up on xp
« Reply #14 on: March 23, 2009, 04:32:34 PM »
I've updated the bios and it seems that the problem went away but now the monitor just won't come on. I bought a new one and it worked. I have one problem though as soon as i restarted after i updated the bios, my driver for my wireless was gone and i couldn't find my driver cd. So is there anyplace where i can get my driver for my wireless danggle #WPS54GU2. Thank you. I appreciate all you guys help.

PcWinTech.com Forums

start up on xp
« Reply #14 on: March 23, 2009, 04:32:34 PM »