Author Topic: Verizon FiOS/Actiontec MI424WR_GEN3I  (Read 14220 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ezrahk

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Verizon FiOS/Actiontec MI424WR_GEN3I
« on: February 03, 2015, 03:15:20 PM »
After doing some searching on these forums (and checking my IE security settings), there seems to be an issue with the script for the Actiontec MI424WR_GEN3I, running firmware version 40.21.18.

I get this error in the console log when trying to do some port forwarding:

--------------------------------------
Step 03. set_password("passwd1")
(Failed - Object Not Found)
-------Click 'Proceed To Next Command' To Continue-------


Turning off Silent mode didn't bring up any pop ups for me when things were required (username/pass were left blank in the program setting to prompt for entry). Going into Debug mode allows me to get through the login page but then I hit another error:

Step 05. click_link_first_only("firewall..")
Looking For Link: firewall..
javascript:mimic_button('sidebar: actiontec%5Ftopbar%5FJ%5Ffirewall..', 1)
-------Click 'Proceed To Next Command' To Continue-------


And from there, nothing else works since it's looking for things that aren't there due to improper navigation. Thought I'd put this up here so that it can be checked out and fixed. If there's anything else that you would like/need, feel free to ask.




PcWinTech.com Forums

Verizon FiOS/Actiontec MI424WR_GEN3I
« on: February 03, 2015, 03:15:20 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Verizon FiOS/Actiontec MI424WR_GEN3I
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2015, 09:05:27 PM »
Looks like they changed things in this firmware. So I will just need to update the script.

Thing is though, this wasnt an error
Quote
Step 05. click_link_first_only("firewall..")
Looking For Link: firewall..
javascript:mimic_button('sidebar: actiontec%5Ftopbar%5FJ%5Ffirewall..', 1)
-------Click 'Proceed To Next Command' To Continue-------

It showed that it found the link and what it clicked, javascript:mimic_button('sidebar: actiontec%5Ftopbar%5FJ%5Ffirewall..', 1)

After step 5 show me a screen shot of what page it is showing, how it should go is once logged in you are at the main page, then it clicks the firewall settings link and the page should change.

Also after that it needs to click on the port forwarding link, which is 9012, the current script does 9014. But this one in the program does do the right link "Actiontec - MI424WR Rev 1 (Verizon Firmware)"

Try that one in debug mode and let me know how far it makes it :-)

The reason the login isnt working is that in this firmware they have the password box name randomly change every time the page is loaded, so it has no default name. So I have to set the password box based on its position and use a command like "set_password_by_position_first_only("76")" in the script. Of course we have to test and play with that command to find the right number to use.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Ezrahk

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: Verizon FiOS/Actiontec MI424WR_GEN3I
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2015, 10:47:55 AM »
Sorry for the delay is getting back to you. Been a long week at work for me. Here's the screenshot you requested. I was hovering over the 'Port Forwarding' link so that you could see the info down in the Router Status line.
« Last Edit: February 07, 2015, 10:53:46 AM by Ezrahk »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Verizon FiOS/Actiontec MI424WR_GEN3I
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2015, 11:56:35 AM »
You didnt try the right one :wink:

Wanted to see how "Actiontec - MI424WR Rev 1 (Verizon Firmware)" does The screen shot shows you choose a different model.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Ezrahk

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: Verizon FiOS/Actiontec MI424WR_GEN3I
« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2015, 06:28:52 PM »
Haha...ha.../facedesk

Much reading good on my part  :tongue:. Switched to the Rev 1 and it navigated to the right page. Here are the screenshots for you.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Verizon FiOS/Actiontec MI424WR_GEN3I
« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2015, 01:32:30 PM »
Just a side note, if you want port forwarding to work make sure to set the firewall page in the verizon to minimum :wink:

Ok in the screen shots I see that it gets to the port forwarding page fine, but did you finish the script to see if it is able to add the rule correctly?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Ezrahk

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: Verizon FiOS/Actiontec MI424WR_GEN3I
« Reply #6 on: February 10, 2015, 04:40:32 PM »
Alright, have my firewall set correctly now. And yes, the script did get the correct ports set. But I did have to use 'Program Debug Mode' to actually be able to login to the router and get the ports forwarded. Perhaps adding something to the script for the Verizon Actiontec routers to pause when you need to enter the password?

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Verizon FiOS/Actiontec MI424WR_GEN3I
« Reply #7 on: February 10, 2015, 04:45:38 PM »
Ok great :-)

So that script works, I will copy that script and then we just need to test which password command will work.

You can go to advanced and edit script, script 1 is the view ports button and script 2 is the update router button.

So in script 1 replace the set password command with this
set_password_by_position_first_only("76")

Then save and then click the view/remove current ports button and see if it is able to put the password in. If not we just need to play with the number until we find the right one like
set_password_by_position_first_only("77")
set_password_by_position_first_only("78")

and so on. Once I know what number I need for that then we will have the script and I can get it added to the database :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Verizon FiOS/Actiontec MI424WR_GEN3I
« Reply #7 on: February 10, 2015, 04:45:38 PM »