Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: Only browser's are working?!?!  (Read 12171 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jcarpin100

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Only browser's are working?!?!
« on: January 02, 2015, 12:33:47 PM »
So i just changed service provider from Sky to Daisy as Sky was being really slow but with this new service provider i have had a really big problem. So my browser is fine usually with the internet and my Speedtest.net ping is usually good (around 13-15ms) and my download speed is usually around 7-8 mbps which was alot better than my internet with Sky. When i'm downloading things on steam or Utorrent or just off my browser i'm usually getting about 1.5mbps download speed yet when i try to use an application like Skype or play an online game my internet does not work whatsoever. I've looked at other forums and just browsed looking for an answer, i've tried things like gone into safe mode with networking, turned off firewalls but nothing really seems to help me.. any advice? This is my first forum post so sorry if i'm unclear; i usually find an answer on other forums and have had to resort to creating my own...

PcWinTech.com Forums

Only browser's are working?!?!
« on: January 02, 2015, 12:33:47 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Only browser's are working?!?!
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2015, 04:41:04 PM »
I found their info online and it doesnt show that they block anything at all.

I did read that they cap the speed during certain times of the day and if there is a lot of usage as most ISPs do that because they cant handle the traffic, but after hours they leave it wide open so that would be the best time to do your downloading.
http://www.daisygroupplc.com/wp-content/legacy/joomdoc/Broadband%20Acceptable%20Use%20Policy_03-12.pdf

Have you also tried using google dns servers instead of theirs to see if it helps?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline jcarpin100

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: Only browser's are working?!?!
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2015, 10:48:32 AM »
Yeah i have been using google's DNS the whole time it doesn't seem to help (i also got rid of it to see if that was the problem but it doesn't seem to be the case, and it's not when i'm downloading, downloading is usually fine, its if i'm trying to play a game online or skype the internet just doesn't work. Also it seems to be the same at off peak times as well. However it does work when watching videos, i can easily stream Youtube videos in 1080p.
« Last Edit: January 05, 2015, 11:00:19 AM by jcarpin100 »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Only browser's are working?!?!
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2015, 05:47:53 PM »
Well, just to count out if it is something on your system or not, do you have a 2nd system you can test with?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline jcarpin100

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: Only browser's are working?!?!
« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2015, 12:26:09 PM »
I have windows 7 but only a 32 bit version and i have a 64bit machine. :undecided: Other computers on my network don't seem to have this problem though, only my PC. I have tried when i'm the only one using the internet and its the same.
« Last Edit: January 07, 2015, 12:31:58 PM by jcarpin100 »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Only browser's are working?!?!
« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2015, 01:29:53 PM »
If other systems on the network are on the same router and do not have the problem then the problem is going to be on your system. 32 or 64bit version of windows doesnt matter.

Question is, is the problem software related like firewall and antivirus software, or network drivers or is it hardware related such as your network card itself.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Only browser's are working?!?!
« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2015, 01:29:53 PM »