Author Topic: Help ASAP! Cannot port forward! >:(  (Read 10270 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline InvisbleMario

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Help ASAP! Cannot port forward! >:(
« on: December 21, 2014, 12:11:39 PM »
 :angry: This is getting really annoying. I can't port forward my Asus - RT-N16 i can't even get to the website to port forward at!

PcWinTech.com Forums

Help ASAP! Cannot port forward! >:(
« on: December 21, 2014, 12:11:39 PM »

Offline trpted

  • PcWinTech Guru
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 1,190
  • Karma: 37
Re: Help ASAP! Cannot port forward! >:(
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2014, 06:09:23 PM »
Ok.

#1 Go to http://www.pcwintech.com/myip

#2 On that web page is the non bogan IP Address that users from Internet use to connect to you.

#3 As how to check what the IP Address is/are, Subnet Mask is/are, Default Gateway is, MAC Address(es) is/are, DNS Server(s) are of your computer, it depends on the OS and Version.

Note: This example assumes that you are on Windows Vista, Windows 7 or Windows 8.

a) Press the Windows Start key to open the Start screen.

b) Type cmd and press Enter to launch the command prompt.

Note: You do not need to click on anything on the Start screen—typing will automatically initiate a program search.

c) Type ipconfig /all at the command prompt to check the network card settings.

d) If not on Windows Vista, Windows 7 or Windows 8 and you do not know how to check that network info - then post what is your OS and Version is.

#4 Try going to the Default Gateway (called Router on the MAC) with your web browser.

If that does not take you to the Asus - RT-N16, then what is the network layout?

#5 If you are not sure of the network layout, start of by physically finding the equipment.

#6 This was my network layout what it used to look like.

a) A phone wire and a power wire from wall jack goes to power surge protector

b) A phone wire and a power wire from power surge protector goes to my Westell-F90-610015-06

c) An Ethernet wire from Westell-F90-610015-06 goes to my Linksys E4200's RJ-45 WAN/Internet/To Modem Port.

d) All of my computers are either connected to the Linksys E4200 by wire or by wireless.

#7 If not sure of what kind of cable is (or cables are) used, just tell what you know about the layout.
Private messages (PM) are not for support questions or for hints to not yet answered topics. The PMs are basically for confident conversation between the users, off the forum.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Help ASAP! Cannot port forward! >:(
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2014, 01:03:56 AM »
:angry: This is getting really annoying. I can't port forward my Asus - RT-N16 i can't even get to the website to port forward at!

So you cant even log into the router? What address are you trying to log into it?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline InvisbleMario

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Re: Help ASAP! Cannot port forward! >:(
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2014, 04:19:18 AM »
:angry: This is getting really annoying. I can't port forward my Asus - RT-N16 i can't even get to the website to port forward at!

So you cant even log into the router? What address are you trying to log into it?

Shane

I've tried 192.168.1.1 I've tried 192.0.0.1, My default gateway (24.138.136.1) Everything and they all dont even pop up with a login screen!
Ok.

#1 Go to http://www.pcwintech.com/myip

#2 On that web page is the non bogan IP Address that users from Internet use to connect to you.

#3 As how to check what the IP Address is/are, Subnet Mask is/are, Default Gateway is, MAC Address(es) is/are, DNS Server(s) are of your computer, it depends on the OS and Version.

Note: This example assumes that you are on Windows Vista, Windows 7 or Windows 8.

a) Press the Windows Start key to open the Start screen.

b) Type cmd and press Enter to launch the command prompt.

Note: You do not need to click on anything on the Start screen—typing will automatically initiate a program search.

c) Type ipconfig /all at the command prompt to check the network card settings.

d) If not on Windows Vista, Windows 7 or Windows 8 and you do not know how to check that network info - then post what is your OS and Version is.

#4 Try going to the Default Gateway (called Router on the MAC) with your web browser.

If that does not take you to the Asus - RT-N16, then what is the network layout?

#5 If you are not sure of the network layout, start of by physically finding the equipment.

#6 This was my network layout what it used to look like.

a) A phone wire and a power wire from wall jack goes to power surge protector

b) A phone wire and a power wire from power surge protector goes to my Westell-F90-610015-06

c) An Ethernet wire from Westell-F90-610015-06 goes to my Linksys E4200's RJ-45 WAN/Internet/To Modem Port.

d) All of my computers are either connected to the Linksys E4200 by wire or by wireless.

#7 If not sure of what kind of cable is (or cables are) used, just tell what you know about the layout.

My setup is a modem which connects my phone and all that. Which goes to my router. Which is wired to my computer. (Ethernet)

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Help ASAP! Cannot port forward! >:(
« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2014, 04:21:56 AM »
Open a cmd.exe window and put in
ipconfig

Let me know what it says.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline InvisbleMario

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Re: Help ASAP! Cannot port forward! >:(
« Reply #5 on: December 23, 2014, 01:41:42 PM »
Open a cmd.exe window and put in
ipconfig

Let me know what it says.

Shane

http://prntscr.com/5k943e

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Help ASAP! Cannot port forward! >:(
« Reply #6 on: December 23, 2014, 09:22:37 PM »
The reason you cant log into it is because it isnt acting as a router, it is acting as a modem only, which means your machine is totally open to the net. You should be able to port test any port with my program and they should work.

You may want to have it act as a router to help protect you better though.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline InvisbleMario

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Re: Help ASAP! Cannot port forward! >:(
« Reply #7 on: December 24, 2014, 02:34:56 AM »
The reason you cant log into it is because it isnt acting as a router, it is acting as a modem only, which means your machine is totally open to the net. You should be able to port test any port with my program and they should work.

You may want to have it act as a router to help protect you better though.

Shane
This may be the cause of the problem.

How do i make it act as a router?

Offline trpted

  • PcWinTech Guru
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 1,190
  • Karma: 37
Re: Help ASAP! Cannot port forward! >:(
« Reply #8 on: December 26, 2014, 06:51:07 AM »
The reason you cant log into it is because it isnt acting as a router, it is acting as a modem only, which means your machine is totally open to the net. You should be able to port test any port with my program and they should work.

You may want to have it act as a router to help protect you better though.

Shane
This may be the cause of the problem.

How do i make it act as a router?

Which modem do you have?

For example when I was on DSL I had the Westell-F90-610015-06 and now that I on Cable I have the Motorola SB6141.

If you do not know the exact model, after finding it: Look at the top, bottom, side(s), front, and back.
Private messages (PM) are not for support questions or for hints to not yet answered topics. The PMs are basically for confident conversation between the users, off the forum.

Offline InvisbleMario

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Re: Help ASAP! Cannot port forward! >:(
« Reply #9 on: December 26, 2014, 08:53:59 AM »
BUMP FIXED

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Help ASAP! Cannot port forward! >:(
« Reply #9 on: December 26, 2014, 08:53:59 AM »

 

email