Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: assign IP Address to MAC on ZTE ZXV10 W300D  (Read 10925 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mickey102479

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: 0
assign IP Address to MAC on ZTE ZXV10 W300D
« on: November 06, 2014, 03:21:53 AM »
Good day! Just as I was setting up my routers.. My ISP gave me a new modem/router..  :teeth:

How can I assign IP address to Gadget's MAC address..

I cant seem to find it..

PcWinTech.com Forums

assign IP Address to MAC on ZTE ZXV10 W300D
« on: November 06, 2014, 03:21:53 AM »

Offline mickey102479

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: 0
Re: assign IP Address to MAC on ZTE ZXV10 W300D
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2014, 03:27:42 AM »
here's the set up page..

Offline trpted

  • PcWinTech Guru
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 1,136
  • Karma: 37
Re: assign IP Address to MAC on ZTE ZXV10 W300D
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2014, 01:04:45 PM »
#1 I point to and quote from DSLR(dslreports.com) -> Forums -> Broadband Tech -> Networking -> Modem/router(not in bridge mode) + router the reply by DSLR user clarknova (#1713475) on 2013-Sep-18 at 2:13 pm

Quote
There are some good reasons to have a modem bridge rather than route. I can't speak for all modems, but generally speaking:

1. Modems don't have much memory compared to a good router, so open a few sessions from the LAN and watch as connections get dropped, or worse, the modem/router just locks.

2. Modems tend to lack features compared to a good router. Things like QoS, DHCP reservation, VPN, uPNP, static routes, etc get left out. You can provide your own router behind the modem, as you did, but this can lead to other complications, such as

3. Double NAT. Most things can be made to work with double NAT, just as it's entirely possible to assemble a jigsaw puzzle while wearing oven mitts. It takes longer and the probability of making a mistake while setting it up or troubleshooting goes up. Simplicity is a good rule to live by when setting up networks.

#2 Advice

a) Make sure that all of your computers are behind your RJ-45 WAN port (what ever that may be) router.

b) Important note: The RJ-45 WAN port router's WAN port must be connected to the LAN (or one of the LAN ports) of the Modem combo.

c) and put the modem combo into bridge mode. As how to get the modem combo into bridge mode, you may need to contact your ISP and get help from them...
Private messages (PM) are not for support questions or for hints to not yet answered topics. The PMs are basically for confident conversation between the users, off the forum.

Offline mickey102479

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: 0
Re: assign IP Address to MAC on ZTE ZXV10 W300D
« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2014, 05:33:48 AM »
ok.. got it.. will tinker the modem/router.. and see what i can adjust.. thanx!

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: assign IP Address to MAC on ZTE ZXV10 W300D
« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2014, 05:33:48 AM »