Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: Router to Router  (Read 25012 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mickey102479

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: 0
Router to Router
« on: October 27, 2014, 05:41:59 AM »
Good day shane! how are you? hope you're doin great..

I need your help again..

I have 2 linksys e2000 router connected together.

Router A (2.4GHz)(192.168.1.1) is connected to the modem

Router B (5GHz)(192.168.250.250) is connected to Router A

now, my problem is, i forgot the wifi password of Router B.

If i try to connect it directly to any computer thru LAN, setup page doesn't show. Is there any way to connect to the setup page? I dont want to reset the router back to its initial setting.

Please help.

Thanks in advance.

PcWinTech.com Forums

Router to Router
« on: October 27, 2014, 05:41:59 AM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Router to Router
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2014, 09:45:43 PM »
When you try to connect to the web page of router B, what router is your computer currently connected to?

It should be plugged into router B, when it is the computer should get a new local IP that starts with 192.168.250., if so then you should be able to log into the webpage of router B and get to the wireless settings :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline mickey102479

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: 0
Re: Router to Router
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2014, 10:07:24 PM »
thanx for the reply.. yes laptop is connected to router b.. but it cant open the set up page.. why is this so? thanx..

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Router to Router
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2014, 12:26:54 PM »
OK what is the computers IP when it is connected to router B?

Open a cmd.exe window and put in
ipconfig /all

There you will see the IPv4 address it has and the gateway, tell me what both are. :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline mickey102479

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: 0
Re: Router to Router
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2014, 06:42:40 AM »
laptop is connected to router b thru Ethernet cable. Router b is connected to router A.

Offline mickey102479

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: 0
Re: Router to Router
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2014, 12:15:44 PM »
i guess dhcp is disabled at router b.. then resetting the router is the fastest and best solution?

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Router to Router
« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2014, 12:20:51 PM »
Yes resetting the router will be needed since you need to be on the same IP range as it to access it. :wink:

You could always make your computers IP static and on the same IP range as well though. That would at least get you logged into it.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline mickey102479

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: 0
Re: Router to Router
« Reply #7 on: October 30, 2014, 12:49:18 PM »
thanx shane.. if i enable dhcp at router b, will there be a conflict of ip address distribution?

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Router to Router
« Reply #8 on: October 30, 2014, 12:56:32 PM »
No, since router B will use a different local IP range. However if you want the systems behind router b to connect to the systems on router a then you would want dhcp to stay disabled. What you would want to do instead then is enable the remote management feature in the router which will allow you to log into it by its WAN Ip instead of the local IP. Or you put a static IP on your system to be on the same local IP range that router B would have, then you can log into it that was as well. :wink:

You can use my simple static Ip tool to make setting and unsetting the computers local Ip easier :-)
http://www.pcwintech.com/simple-static-ip

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline mickey102479

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: 0
Re: Router to Router
« Reply #9 on: October 30, 2014, 04:36:29 PM »
enable remote management in router b? how do i set it up? thanx..

Offline mickey102479

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: 0
Re: Router to Router
« Reply #10 on: October 30, 2014, 06:46:26 PM »
i did the reset and enabled the dhcp.. but still i cant access the setup page for router b..

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Router to Router
« Reply #11 on: November 04, 2014, 01:16:11 PM »
When you did the reset to router B, what was its Local Ip and its WAN/Internet IP?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline mickey102479

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: 0
Re: Router to Router
« Reply #12 on: November 04, 2014, 04:08:26 PM »
Good day! Did the reset days ago.. Local IP is 192.168.250.250.. I think I didn't set the WAN/Internet IP. How to set it? Ty..

I did a hard reset 30/30/30..

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Router to Router
« Reply #13 on: November 04, 2014, 10:30:16 PM »
Quote
Local IP is 192.168.250.250.. I think I didn't set the WAN/Internet IP. How to set it? Ty..

Ok I think I see what is going on and how you have it set up, do you have a wire from router A plugged into the WAN port on Router B or just one of the 4 LAN ports?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline mickey102479

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: 0
Re: Router to Router
« Reply #14 on: November 04, 2014, 11:40:32 PM »
Yes sir, 1 LAN Port of Router B is connected to 1 of the LAN ports of router A..

Thanx!

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Router to Router
« Reply #14 on: November 04, 2014, 11:40:32 PM »