Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: Port Scan Unrecognized  (Read 13597 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BobLee

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2014
  • Posts: 5
  • Location: Orlando (I'm going to Disney World), FL
  • Karma: 0
  • Alone in my brain with no adult supervision.
Port Scan Unrecognized
« on: October 07, 2014, 08:37:29 PM »
Uploaded/Download out from hard wired router tested 67. mbps and 13. mbps but speed test on desktop only registers 13.+/- mbps and 5.+/- mbps. Ran several online port test and it does not see any of the std ports 80, and all others. None. 

Am very careful on downloading BS but somehow recently contracted some adware that seemed to start issue. Ran Malwarebytes and CCleaner, defragged reg, and drives but still have son=me sort of issue with speed/port issue.  Unable to find much of anything info wise.

Appreciate your thoughts.

...B
X

PcWinTech.com Forums

Port Scan Unrecognized
« on: October 07, 2014, 08:37:29 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port Scan Unrecognized
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2014, 12:51:33 PM »
Is the desktop connected to the router via wireless or a network cable?

It most likly isn't a infection, but something else. So we will just need to go through a process of elimination to trace down the problem. :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline BobLee

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2014
  • Posts: 5
  • Location: Orlando (I'm going to Disney World), FL
  • Karma: 0
  • Alone in my brain with no adult supervision.
Re: Port Scan Unrecognized
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2014, 01:09:43 PM »
Direct cable (about 6') from the router to the PC, Shane.
« Last Edit: October 08, 2014, 01:31:37 PM by BobLee »
X

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port Scan Unrecognized
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2014, 12:17:21 PM »
Ok good, and what connection speed does the connection show on the system? 10mb 100mb or 1 GB?

Also, just to cover all the bases have you tried a different network cable?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline BobLee

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2014
  • Posts: 5
  • Location: Orlando (I'm going to Disney World), FL
  • Karma: 0
  • Alone in my brain with no adult supervision.
Re: Port Scan Unrecognized
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2014, 06:38:52 AM »
Computer connections speed is 100mbps.
Connected to Time Warner/Brighthouse high-speed 70.

Ran 10 test SpeedTest.net with average results as: PING: 52.90   DOWN:  23.17   UP:  5.23

Cable has been double checked and replaced.
X

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port Scan Unrecognized
« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2014, 01:59:11 PM »
Ok good, we are going through the check list :-)

Besides trying a different port on the router (Which is a long shot anyways) one way to confirm that it is your system and we should focus there is to test with a 2nd machine, using the same network cord and port if possible. You said
Quote
Uploaded/Download out from hard wired router tested
but wasnt sure if you meant another system or a speed test from with in the router itself. If it was the router I want you to try with a 2nd computer instead. Reason being is the router can test through its WAN port and doesnt touch the LAN port side, so if it is something on the LAN side then a test from the router itself wouldnt show it. :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline BobLee

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2014
  • Posts: 5
  • Location: Orlando (I'm going to Disney World), FL
  • Karma: 0
  • Alone in my brain with no adult supervision.
Re: Port Scan Unrecognized
« Reply #6 on: October 10, 2014, 04:34:22 PM »
Yep, Shane, I tested with my old laptop that I use for Music in the living room. Plugged to hard wire into it and ran a sped test from that laptop and that was the machine that tested, 67+/- on the download and 13+/- on the upload.

:-|
X

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port Scan Unrecognized
« Reply #7 on: October 14, 2014, 04:47:06 PM »
Ok then we will focus on the system :-)

First, install this reg tweak, it will enable the errors value to show up on the network status
http://www.pcwintech.com/show-lan-errors

We want errors to be at 0 so lets see what yours shows up as.

Next I want you to try these network tweaks
http://www.pcwintech.com/increase-network-performance

I do these on every system and it makes a big difference when transferring files, your internet connection is fast enough to notice as well.

Lets go from there :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline BobLee

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2014
  • Posts: 5
  • Location: Orlando (I'm going to Disney World), FL
  • Karma: 0
  • Alone in my brain with no adult supervision.
Re: Port Scan Unrecognized
« Reply #8 on: October 14, 2014, 06:55:29 PM »
Shane,

Before we leave hardware discovery, I wanted to not that I've noticed my CPU fans speeding up and down literally on every action even moving the mouse. Is they a way to check its labor effect... Just wondering if that might be an issue... Don't remember it doing this when I first got it... Thoughts?

...B
X

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port Scan Unrecognized
« Reply #9 on: October 16, 2014, 11:13:34 AM »
Have you checked to see what the current cpu usage is at? Is it maxed out? The fans normally only pick up speed to cool the system down when it is running hot. When the system has its CPU or video maxed out it can raise the temps and so the fan speeds will go up.

Also if the cpu is under heavy usage then that will affect how well things download and run since they require cpu as well.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Port Scan Unrecognized
« Reply #9 on: October 16, 2014, 11:13:34 AM »