Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: NETWORK SETUP CAMERA DVR  (Read 10847 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline hborque

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Oct 2014
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
NETWORK SETUP CAMERA DVR
« on: October 05, 2014, 02:07:46 PM »
Newbie here  :cheesy:

A couple of years ago I went from Static ip AT&T to Xfinity Cable. Folks that installed and set up my cameras to view on my phone or computer while away from home have vanished. I can't seem to find any online support for my 16 channel DVR system (made in taiwan H-264) are the only markings on my box. I had a gentleman come to my house today $125.00 later he had no idea what he was doing. I have the following network setup.

Cable modem (Xfinity)
Time Capsule Time Machine
Wireless extended is used for the DVR thats hidden in the attic

The ip address i get on my windows 7 is different than then one in my time capsule I am completely lost any light shed how I can get this thing going would be appreciated.

PcWinTech.com Forums

NETWORK SETUP CAMERA DVR
« on: October 05, 2014, 02:07:46 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: NETWORK SETUP CAMERA DVR
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2014, 02:33:38 PM »
What is the ip address on your computer, the Time Capsule Time Machine and the DVR?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline hborque

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Oct 2014
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: NETWORK SETUP CAMERA DVR
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2014, 03:35:18 PM »
Hi Shane!!!!

Looks like I have 2 different IP address which confuses me. I have attached two pics for your review. I appreciate you helping me make sense of it all.

The LAN settings on my DVR are as follows

IP address 76.18.57.127 
Subnet mask 255.255.255.0
Gateway 10.0.1.1
DNS 10.0.1.1
« Last Edit: October 06, 2014, 03:40:26 PM by hborque »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: NETWORK SETUP CAMERA DVR
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2014, 10:28:32 PM »
Can you post a screen shot of the network setup in the DVR so I can double check it?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline trpted

  • PcWinTech Guru
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 1,136
  • Karma: 37
Re: NETWORK SETUP CAMERA DVR
« Reply #4 on: October 07, 2014, 04:49:00 AM »
While waiting for that/those screen shots from the DVR:

a) I agree it is odd, that you have the DVR not using a local IP Address.

b) If the DVR is setup to use a Static IP, it would help that it's IP Address is a local IP Address with-in the same subnet as your router.

Example

Router LAN 10.0.1.1 with LAN subnet 255.255.255.0

DVR

IP address 10.0.1.6
Subnet mask 255.255.255.0
Gateway 10.0.1.1
DNS 10.0.1.1
Private messages (PM) are not for support questions or for hints to not yet answered topics. The PMs are basically for confident conversation between the users, off the forum.

Offline hborque

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Oct 2014
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: NETWORK SETUP CAMERA DVR
« Reply #5 on: October 07, 2014, 04:55:01 AM »
Thank you here is the screen shots

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: NETWORK SETUP CAMERA DVR
« Reply #6 on: October 08, 2014, 12:49:34 PM »
The dvr shouldnt have the internet IP, it should have a local IP starting with 10.0.1 like your computer does.

I am not sure how you have things set up, but it isnt correct that the dvr is getting that IP. Why do i have a feeling the guy you had come to work on it made things worse lol

Log into your at&t modem and make sure that the ip passthrough isnt turned on and the modem isnt setup to give the dvr the internet IP. :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline hborque

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Oct 2014
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: NETWORK SETUP CAMERA DVR
« Reply #7 on: October 09, 2014, 05:14:18 PM »
Alright so a lot has happen in the last few hours.

I signed in to my wireless extender (NETGEAR) using the assigned IP address. (DVR connected to wireless extender)

Get IP Address Dynamically From Router was selected I unselected and changed to Use Static IP Address.

Next I went into the network utility on my mac and PING an ip address between 10.0.1.2 to 10.0.1.200
My selected IP came back with 100% packet lost and went with that one

Next I signed in to Airport utility and port forwarded my selected IP address

Next I used my PC to test the IP address I assigned to the DVR AND IT WORKS but...... the connection is delayed and very slow.

Couple of things I want to run by you and make sure my settings are ok

On the DVR HTTP setup I selected port 80 I have the option to enable HTTP server (Do I check enable HTTP server?) Currently its unchecked

Port forwarding my options in router mode: 1. DHCP and NAT 2. off bridge mode currently DHCP and NAT is selected

Am I missing something or does everything sound alright?

THANK YOU for your help folks I am definitely learning a lot LOL : )



Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: NETWORK SETUP CAMERA DVR
« Reply #8 on: October 10, 2014, 01:56:12 PM »
Http in the dvr allows you to view it in a web browser, would be good to turn on for those times you are gone and you need to login and check the dvr you can use anyones computer.

But instead of port 80 try 8080 and of course make sure to forward that port to the dvr as well.

As for it being slow, it is possible it is the wireless connection, perhaps to weak a signal.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: NETWORK SETUP CAMERA DVR
« Reply #8 on: October 10, 2014, 01:56:12 PM »

 

email