Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: Port Forwarding not working like it should, or is it? Q-see DVR system  (Read 34368 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Cativo

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 19
  • Location: San Jose
  • Karma: 1
Re: Port Forwarding not working like it should, or is it? Q-see DVR system
« Reply #15 on: April 23, 2014, 08:52:56 AM »
So, just to clarify, what is shown on the DVR network page is not important to my viewing remotely?  Just trying to understand this more.  Sorry.... :shocked:

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Port Forwarding not working like it should, or is it? Q-see DVR system
« Reply #15 on: April 23, 2014, 08:52:56 AM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port Forwarding not working like it should, or is it? Q-see DVR system
« Reply #16 on: April 23, 2014, 09:01:05 AM »
IP pass through means to pass the internet IP to that device. You enabled that. You dont want that. You need to go back to that page and turn it off :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Cativo

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 19
  • Location: San Jose
  • Karma: 1
Re: Port Forwarding not working like it should, or is it? Q-see DVR system
« Reply #17 on: April 23, 2014, 09:06:24 AM »
Ok I will do that when I get back home (Turn off the Pass-through).

Also, here is what I see from my desk when I try and log into my DVR.

TraceRoute from Network-Tools.com to 107.xxx.x.xx [107-xxx-x-xx.lightspeed.sntcca.sbcglobal.net]
Hop   (ms)   (ms)   (ms)           IP Address   Host name
1      Timed out      Timed out      Timed out              - 
2      5      3      3         4.68.62.230    att 
3      45      47      47         12.123.16.110    cr2.dlstx.ip.att.net 
4      47      48      47         12.122.28.178    cr2.la2ca.ip.att.net 
5      47      47      48         12.122.31.134    cr2.sffca.ip.att.net 
6      45      47      47         12.122.149.141     - 
7      Timed out      Timed out      Timed out              - 
8      Timed out      Timed out      Timed out              - 
9      Timed out      Timed out      Timed out              - 
10      Timed out      Timed out      Timed out              - 

Trace aborted.

I have tried this a few times and still gets hung up.  Thoughts?
« Last Edit: April 25, 2014, 08:23:09 AM by Cativo »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port Forwarding not working like it should, or is it? Q-see DVR system
« Reply #18 on: April 23, 2014, 09:36:24 AM »
Hard to tell, looks like you are on the same ATT network and it is having trouble connecting to your connection. The IP passthough might be causing that problem so lets see how it does after we fix that.

Once you fix that reboot the router and the dvr, once backup check the local IP of the dvr and make sure it is a 192.168 address, then make sure the port forwarding rules are pointing to the dvr properly :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Cativo

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 19
  • Location: San Jose
  • Karma: 1
Re: Port Forwarding not working like it should, or is it? Q-see DVR system
« Reply #19 on: April 24, 2014, 07:31:25 AM »
You were 100% correct Shane.  When I turned off the Passthrough mode, the DVR was assigned the original IP address again (192.XXX.X.XX).  Thanks. 

Still working on why I can't view from my work.  I haven't had a chance to check from someone else's computer away from work, but since you are able to reach my DVR login screen, that makes me feel better. Something weird for sure. 

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port Forwarding not working like it should, or is it? Q-see DVR system
« Reply #20 on: April 24, 2014, 08:44:13 AM »
I just tried again to make sure it works after the dvr getting the local IP and it still comes up :-)

If you can try from someone who doesn't have ATT as their ISP, if it works then try someone who does use ATT and if it doesn't then you know something is wrong with ATT and you would need to give them a call. Because if that happens it means for some reason ATT people cant connect to people on their network. Of course if that is the case and you try to explain it to a standard tech person on the phone you are not going to have a good time lol.

They are there to work and pay their bills, they are not techs. And the first rule of most tech support is the problem is on the customers side. But just know that since I can connect to your DVR fine you can at least know it isnt you or your setup. Might be the ISP.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Cativo

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 19
  • Location: San Jose
  • Karma: 1
Re: Port Forwarding not working like it should, or is it? Q-see DVR system
« Reply #21 on: April 24, 2014, 10:49:37 AM »
LMAO. 

Yes, I know exactly what you mean Shane (When it comes to tech support).  You have some good ideas so I will check out someone else's AT&T setup. 

So, a couple questions.  I saw something somewhere that said how someone can donate to your site.  I don't see that.  Guide me....  I appreciate your help and will continue to use this site to better understand networking, but your time is worth something....   :wink:

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port Forwarding not working like it should, or is it? Q-see DVR system
« Reply #22 on: April 24, 2014, 12:06:54 PM »
My tweaking.com site has a donate button on the left on every page :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Cativo

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 19
  • Location: San Jose
  • Karma: 1
Re: Port Forwarding not working like it should, or is it? Q-see DVR system
« Reply #23 on: April 24, 2014, 08:09:27 PM »
OK, I will go to that site and make a donation. 

So, I think you may be on to something with regard to issues somewhere down the AT&T pipeline.  I went over to my neighbors house, got onto their Ipad and tried entering my WAN address and it also could not connect.  It just timed out.  Bizarre.  I guess if I really need this feature I need to be out of my county or out of state to have it work.   :omg:


Offline Cativo

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 19
  • Location: San Jose
  • Karma: 1
Re: Port Forwarding not working like it should, or is it? Q-see DVR system
« Reply #24 on: April 25, 2014, 07:48:58 AM »
Ok Shane,

This is becoming more baffling to me.  So I had my buddy try and access my system from his house and he said he could not (Using IE and Google Chrome).  I also walked across the street to my neighbors and tried accessing my IP using their IP off their network and I could not. 

Are you using some super secret IP Blaster software?   lol :cheesy: :sarcastic:

I think this weekend I am going to try a reverse trace (from my home to my work) and see what that does.  I know you mentioned that maybe there was a hiccup somewhere in the line of nodes in my city?  Therefore, the only way it will work is if it takes a different route...say from outside the state.   :confused:

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port Forwarding not working like it should, or is it? Q-see DVR system
« Reply #25 on: April 25, 2014, 09:43:06 AM »
http://107.136.xxx.xxx:85/ Still works fine for me.

I am not using any special firewalls and only use MS security essentials for my AV. SO I dont have any antivirus that is plugged into the router that might be blocking it.

I am in Oregon and use a normal ISP and nothing special about my setup.

When you are trying from other locations what address are you putting in exactly?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Cativo

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 19
  • Location: San Jose
  • Karma: 1
Re: Port Forwarding not working like it should, or is it? Q-see DVR system
« Reply #26 on: April 25, 2014, 09:50:47 AM »
Oh I believe you, its just weird the way this is working.

I use the 107.136.x.xx (same as previously written).  I do not use the :85 at the end of the IP string.  That seems to give me an immediate response that it cannot find it, or cannot display the page, or unable to connect. It all depends on which browser I use. 

I also noticed that with my buddies system, they do not have to add the :85 (or whatever port) to gain access. 


I tried both ways just now, and with the :85 it comes back with the errors I mentioned just above.  Without the :85 it just runs and runs without connecting.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port Forwarding not working like it should, or is it? Q-see DVR system
« Reply #27 on: April 25, 2014, 10:01:37 AM »
You have to use :85 and here is why.

The default port for all web pages is 80. You have the http port set to 85, not 80.

So when you try to connect without using :85 it just spins. That is because nothing is accepting the connection so it is waiting for a reply and after a while it will timeout.

But when you connect to :85 you get a this webpage cant not be displayed instantly. that is because it is getting a connection from the dvr on :85 but the connection is getting dropped for some odd reason.

When i connect I get the webpage very quickly. But when I do it in IE I get a blank page, I have to go to tools and compatibility and add the address to it. Then when the page reloads it comes up and finally asks me if I want to install the active x control. I hit yes and after a min the page fulling loads up.

In firefox I get the page starting to load somethings rather quick but never fully loads since it has to be used in IE.

So the active x control is needed, try adding the page in IE to the compatibility and see if it helps, if it still doesnt make sure IE is set to prompt on active x controls in the security settings.

It is possible the connection is simply getting killed because of the active x control not loading or being blocked, hard to tell :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Cativo

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 19
  • Location: San Jose
  • Karma: 1
Re: Port Forwarding not working like it should, or is it? Q-see DVR system
« Reply #28 on: April 25, 2014, 10:33:06 AM »
Ok, well that makes a bunch of sense.  The other guys are using Port 80, so that is sort of the default.  Since I am using port :85, I need to specify this.  Well I tried adjusting IE settings to prompt active X and add it to the compatibility and still no dice.  However, it does pop up quickly saying that the page cannot be displayed. 

I think we are getting closer.  I will ask my friend to try this again, but add :85 to the IP address and see what he says.  Then, I may try my neighbors again and add the :85 on theirs too.

Again thanks Shane.  I appreciate your resilience...   :cheesy:


Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port Forwarding not working like it should, or is it? Q-see DVR system
« Reply #29 on: April 25, 2014, 10:34:58 AM »
No problem, let me know how it goes :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Port Forwarding not working like it should, or is it? Q-see DVR system
« Reply #29 on: April 25, 2014, 10:34:58 AM »