Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: Just updated PROLiNK H5004N Wireless Router to a wrong firmware  (Read 34835 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline hsumudupriya

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Mar 2014
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Just updated firmware of my PROLiNK H5004N to "ver 4PWN1-3GR" instead of "ver 4PWNE1_49R". :confused: Now the router isn't working  :cry: and browser doesn't show up the web GUI of it though I typed and entered 192.168.1.1.  :shocked:
Only WPS, LAN 1 and ADSL LEDs are lit up in yellow. WPS and ADSL LEDs are lit up although I unplug the Ethernet and the DSL cable from it.  :thinking:
I tried to reset the router by pressing the "RESET" button while the router is powered on but nothing changes in the routers LED indicators.  :undecided:

Can any one please help me to resolve this problem? Any help is greatly appreciated.  :smiley:



PcWinTech.com Forums


Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Just updated PROLiNK H5004N Wireless Router to a wrong firmware
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2014, 09:03:24 AM »
I dont really help with firmwares and it is a good thing you didnt brick the router lol

But the firmware isnt for that model and show you cant get back logged in. So you need to flash it with the proper firmware. What you need to do is see if the router has a tftp option to send the firmware through it, some routers have an option like that in case of a bad flash. But I dont know if that model does our not. :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline hsumudupriya

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Mar 2014
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: Just updated PROLiNK H5004N Wireless Router to a wrong firmware
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2014, 09:07:08 AM »
I dont really help with firmwares and it is a good thing you didnt brick the router lol

But the firmware isnt for that model and show you cant get back logged in. So you need to flash it with the proper firmware. What you need to do is see if the router has a tftp option to send the firmware through it, some routers have an option like that in case of a bad flash. But I dont know if that model does our not. :wink:

Shane

Can you PLEASE explain me what is "tftp option" and how do I know if my router has it and how can we identify if a router is bricked or not?

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Just updated PROLiNK H5004N Wireless Router to a wrong firmware
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2014, 09:10:00 AM »
I have no clue if your model has the option, but here is some info to help get you going in the right direction :-)

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Recover_from_a_Bad_Flash
and
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Tftp_flash

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline hsumudupriya

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Mar 2014
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: Just updated PROLiNK H5004N Wireless Router to a wrong firmware
« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2014, 09:14:05 AM »
I have no clue if your model has the option, but here is some info to help get you going in the right direction :-)

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Recover_from_a_Bad_Flash
and
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Tftp_flash

Shane

I'll follow those and tell you about my progress. Thank You VERY MUCH Shane  :cheesy:!
« Last Edit: March 13, 2014, 06:42:20 PM by hsumudupriya »

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Just updated PROLiNK H5004N Wireless Router to a wrong firmware
« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2014, 09:14:05 AM »

 

email