Author Topic: 3 Routers, port forwarding  (Read 5413 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline djilano

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2014
  • Posts: 6
  • Location: The Netherlands
  • Karma: 0
3 Routers, port forwarding
« on: March 09, 2014, 11:37:29 AM »
Hello everyone

We have 3 routers in our home, and I've tried to port forward some things to either host a server or play EA games online, as they block me from playing online somehow.
After I opened up the ports, restarted my routers they are still closed (tested with your program). I even followed http://www.pcwintech.com/common-problems-fixes-port-forwarding still no result.

1st Router (Provided by ISP for tv, phone & internet) -> plugged in the 2nd router (Netgear used for wireless internet and cable) 1 of the Lan-cables is plugged into -> 3rd router (Sitecom used on our top floor of the house for wireless and cable).

The 1st router provided by our ISP isn't used to connect to for internet (wireless or cable), downstairs we use Netgear, and upstairs Sitecom, I've tried portforwarding trough all of the 3 routers still no result.



Possible 1st router 192.168.1.1 = NetGear (downstairs)
Possible 2nd router 192.168.0.1 = Sitecom (Upstairs)
Possible 3rd router 192.168.192.1 = ISP Router

The Sitecom router which  I am currently connected to and play the games/open servers from had the IP: 192.168.1.19


So I added 192.168.1.19 to the DMZ on the NetGear router


Still no result on opening my ports.. is there any way someone could help me out?

-Djilano

PcWinTech.com Forums

3 Routers, port forwarding
« on: March 09, 2014, 11:37:29 AM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 3 Routers, port forwarding
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2014, 05:22:31 PM »
Well DMZ from the netgear to point to the WAN of the sitecome is the first step and it is good. But more to check :-)

The program is showing 3 local IPs, which means the modem from your ISP is acting as a router as well.

Are you able to log into 192.168.192.1?

You can also check the WAN IP in the netgear, if it doesnt have the same Ip as this page then it is behind either an a router (The modem from the isp) or your ISP has you behind a 2nd network on their end which means port forwarding wont work
http://www.pcwintech.com/myip

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline djilano

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2014
  • Posts: 6
  • Location: The Netherlands
  • Karma: 0
Re: 3 Routers, port forwarding
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2014, 05:25:43 PM »
Yes I can login to 192.168.192.1 and my ip adres shown from your link is "31.151.194.183" which is the IP that is shown when I login to 192.168.192.1 (ISP Router).

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 3 Routers, port forwarding
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2014, 05:28:58 PM »
OK good, so now you need to do DMZ one more time.

In the netgear find the WAN IP it has, it will start with 192.168.192.

Ands then in the ISP modem (Which is a router as well) you will enable DMZ and put the wan IP of the netgear.

DMZ is a open all ports rule.

So new connection comes into the modem DMZ sends it to the netgear, which the dmz in the netgear now sends to the sitecom, and now in the sitecom you have normal port forwarding rules :-D

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline djilano

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2014
  • Posts: 6
  • Location: The Netherlands
  • Karma: 0
Re: 3 Routers, port forwarding
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2014, 05:32:33 PM »
So the WAN Ip from my netgear is 192.168.192.4  as shown on this picture?



The 192.168.192.4 is the one I have to add to the DMZ on my ISP, and then only Port-Forward on my Sitecom router? :)

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 3 Routers, port forwarding
« Reply #5 on: March 09, 2014, 05:33:35 PM »
Yes, so remove any port forwarding rules in the modem or netgear as you will only use dmz in those and then make sure dmz is off in the sitecom and only use port forwarding rules there :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline djilano

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2014
  • Posts: 6
  • Location: The Netherlands
  • Karma: 0
Re: 3 Routers, port forwarding
« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2014, 05:41:31 PM »
Okay I've added the Netgear IP to the  DMZ Host in the ISP modem, saved, and removed both portforwarding rules in the Netgear & ISP modem.
DMZ Turned off in the Sitecom, rebooted the Netgear and still no result.


Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 3 Routers, port forwarding
« Reply #7 on: March 09, 2014, 05:43:51 PM »
Make sure the WAN Ip didnt change in the netgear and sitecom when you rebooted them. Also post a screen shot of the port forwarding rules in the sitecom so I can check those. (I make sure the rules are done right and are pointing to the IP that shows up in the top of my port tester)

I may not reply till morning, 6 pm on a sunday and my turn to cook dinner for the wife and kids lol

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline djilano

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2014
  • Posts: 6
  • Location: The Netherlands
  • Karma: 0
Re: 3 Routers, port forwarding
« Reply #8 on: March 09, 2014, 05:48:48 PM »
I just noticed the WAN Ip in the Sitecom has changed from 192.168.1.19 to 192.168.1.2.

Portforwarding:


That's fine it's almost 2 am here, I'll change the DMZ in Netgear to 192.168.1.2 and retry and place my result here.

Have a nice dinner :)

Offline djilano

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2014
  • Posts: 6
  • Location: The Netherlands
  • Karma: 0
Re: 3 Routers, port forwarding
« Reply #9 on: March 09, 2014, 06:01:26 PM »
4  of the 6 ports seems to be opened after I changed the DMZ in Netgear & rebooted both Sitecom & Netgear.

 

I'm not sure if port 80 and 18390 TCP will open up later on.

But thanks so far Shane. +Karma  :cheesy:

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 3 Routers, port forwarding
« Reply #10 on: March 11, 2014, 08:21:00 AM »
Port 80 is sometimes blocked by the ISP. While some games and programs will say they need port 80 they normally are tlkaing about letting it through the firewall, not port forwarding :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: 3 Routers, port forwarding
« Reply #10 on: March 11, 2014, 08:21:00 AM »