Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: Router connection  (Read 8856 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rowls

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
Router connection
« on: February 20, 2014, 03:56:51 AM »
Have installed a new router in our church office. The desktop computer (wireless) can't connect to it , my laptop can. I have compared settings and they are both the same! Any ideas?

PcWinTech.com Forums

Router connection
« on: February 20, 2014, 03:56:51 AM »

Offline trpted

  • PcWinTech Guru
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 1,143
  • Karma: 37
Re: Router connection
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2014, 11:57:12 AM »
#1 What is the exact brand and model of the router?

For example Linksys WRT54G.

#2 Do you have any computers that have a wired connection to this router?
Private messages (PM) are not for support questions or for hints to not yet answered topics. The PMs are basically for confident conversation between the users, off the forum.

Offline Rowls

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
Re: Router connection
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2014, 12:12:11 PM »
It is a TP Link WA901ND. No computers are wired to it.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Router connection
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2014, 01:42:27 PM »
When you say it cant connect to it, what exactly do you mean?

Does it show up in the wireless list and you are able to log on but the internet doesn't work?
Is it not accepting the wireless password?

There is a bunch of different things I can have you check, but knowing exactly what you mean by it wont connect will help me narrow down what to have you try :wink:

Also make sure the desktop wireless doesnt have a static IP set.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Rowls

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
Re: Router connection
« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2014, 10:50:39 PM »
It shows up in the network list but when I try to connect it just goes round and round. Cant remember if there comes any message. The IP address is set to dynamic.
When I do it on the laptop it connects.

Offline trpted

  • PcWinTech Guru
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 1,143
  • Karma: 37
Re: Router connection
« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2014, 06:09:41 AM »
#1 Ok, I found a simulator / an emulator, so that I can help guide you

sim / emulator URL http://www.tp-link.com/resources/simulator/TL-WA901ND_V3/Index.htm

#2 With the computer that you can access your real (not sim/emulator) router, follow these steps.

#3 Click on WPS.

#4 Is that enabled or disabled?

#5 Click on Wireless

#6 At Wireless Settings:

a) Is Enable SSID Broadcast checked or unchecked?

b) What is the current mode?

c) What is the channel?

#7 At Wireless Security:

a) What level is it set to: Open/Not Secure, WPA/WPA2 - Personal, WPA/WPA2 - Enterprise, WEP?

b) If set to WPA, what Version and Encryption?

c) If set to WEP, what type?

#7 At Wireless MAC Filtering, Enabled or Disabled?

#8 At Wireless Advanced, what are the current settings?

#9 Click on DHCP.

#10 At DHCP Settings, is that enabled or disabled?
« Last Edit: February 21, 2014, 06:20:38 AM by trpted »
Private messages (PM) are not for support questions or for hints to not yet answered topics. The PMs are basically for confident conversation between the users, off the forum.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Router connection
« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2014, 11:46:08 AM »
How old is the wireless card in the desktop?

Reason why I ask is older cards have trouble working with certain forms of security that is set on the wireless, sometimes a driver update can make it work better.

When you first connect to the wireless the first thing is does it try to pull some info from it and some of that info is what security type to use.

Does the desktop have trouble connecting to any other wireless networks?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Rowls

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
Re: Router connection
« Reply #7 on: February 24, 2014, 11:56:52 PM »
The network usb stick in the desktop is new. The desktop has no problems connecting to another network which it is connected to at the moment.
I haven't been in to check the router settings yet - will do soon. I have a repeater connected to the router which is working ok, so I am presuming its more to do with the setup in the desktop, but as I have said, I've checked the settings with my laptop. The network usb in the desktop is DLink, the router is TP Link. I presume there's no incompatibility there...

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Router connection
« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2014, 10:19:42 AM »
If you havent done so yet unplug the power to the router and the repeater and then plug them back in. This way they will reboot and refresh themselves.

Even on my home router every now and then one of my devices simply wont connect to the wireless, after I reboot the router it connects fine, it is a bug in the firmware of the router and a reboot fixes it. So I want to see if that is what is happen here :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Rowls

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
Re: Router connection
« Reply #9 on: February 25, 2014, 10:26:53 AM »
Well I went in today and could see that the router had changed to a different SSID name somehow. I reset it and started again. This time everything worked ok!  Many thanks for your help and time.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Router connection
« Reply #10 on: February 25, 2014, 10:44:06 AM »
NP, looks like your router had the same thing mine did where when no new clients could connect I simply had to reboot the router :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Router connection
« Reply #10 on: February 25, 2014, 10:44:06 AM »

 

email