Author Topic: Port Forward to 2 pc  (Read 16485 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

atyla75

  • Guest
Port Forward to 2 pc
« on: January 23, 2009, 03:58:00 AM »
Well here´s a newbie question...

I play a online game (mmorpg) and my wife plays the same game also. We have a wireless router, a DeskPC and a Laptop. Is it possible to open the ports for that game for both computers...? Or only one will have the ports open, and the other one will have more lag?

PcWinTech.com Forums

Port Forward to 2 pc
« on: January 23, 2009, 03:58:00 AM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
You don't normally need port
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2009, 07:26:34 AM »
You don't normally need port forwarding with online games. The reason why is you are connecting to them, they are not connecting to you.

With a router, when a outside connection comes in and tries to establish a connection the router doesn't know what to do with the connection, so it is dropped. (Also why it protects you) So a port forwarding rule is telling the router, OK when a connection comes in on this port, send it to this computer. (Such as if your hosting a game and someone tries to connect to you)

But when you connect to someone first, such as a online game, the connection is already established and the router already knows what to do.

So in this case port forwarding isn't needed for you.

I hope I explained that OK :-)

Let me know if you need anything else.
Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

atyla75

  • Guest
ok got it but why do game
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2009, 04:35:55 AM »
ok got it

but why do game admin say to open port XXX TCP and port XXX UDP etc...?

thanks

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
That is if you have a
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2009, 08:36:30 AM »
That is if you have a firewall installed and it is blocking the game all together.
So it lets you know which ports are needed for the game.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

atyla75

  • Guest
ok got it! thanks
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2009, 03:18:15 AM »
ok got it!

thanks

PcWinTech.com Forums

ok got it! thanks
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2009, 03:18:15 AM »

 

email