Author Topic: Port Forwarding Help  (Read 10079 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline kwas1978

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2014
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Port Forwarding Help
« on: January 22, 2014, 07:49:13 PM »
Hi there. I only have one game that I have been playing for years, C&C Generals Zero Hour. I took a break from the game for a few months and now I am trying to play online again. This is what happens. I can log into the network online mode no problem. And I can see who is playing. I can start a game with someone else but about 50% of the time I will be the only one to connect to the next screen. This has been quite annoying because then I have to completely exit the program and start over. I was told it was because my ports needed to be opened. So I bought your software and ran the port forwarding test from your software and everything said "success". Not that it matters but I also checked at portforward.com website to see if the ports were actually forwarded but they failed at that site. Your software says not to use other sites but since I am still having the same problem with connecting to other people I thought I would at least check another site. Your software was extremely easy to work but for whatever reason, I am still having this issue. Is there anything else that can be done? Thanks.

Ken - using a Linksys E3000 router

PcWinTech.com Forums

Port Forwarding Help
« on: January 22, 2014, 07:49:13 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port Forwarding Help
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2014, 09:54:43 AM »
Post 2 screen shots for me.

1. A screen shot of the port forwarding page in the router
2. A screen shot of the results of my port tester program.
http://www.pcwintech.com/simple-port-tester

Lets go from there  :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline kwas1978

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2014
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Port Forwarding Help
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2014, 10:08:24 AM »
here you go Shane.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port Forwarding Help
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2014, 10:21:43 AM »
OK that all looks good and the ports are open :-)

My port tester opens the ports and listens on them for a connection from my site, so if they say they are open then you can count that they are. :wink:

So now lets find out why your game is having trouble. Does your antivirus have a firewall in it?

Or do you only use the Windows firewall? If you only use the Windows firewall grab my free tool here
http://www.tweaking.com/content/page/tweaking_com_%28right_click%29_allowblock_or_remove_windows_firewall.html

Then go to the game right click on it and hit remove from windows firewall and then do it again but this time click allow through the firewall.

That way all old rules are deleted first and then new very open ones are added back :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline trpted

  • PcWinTech Guru
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 1,190
  • Karma: 37
Re: Port Forwarding Help
« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2014, 10:23:32 AM »
Besides the reply above mine, from Shane: I wonder if you are or are not replying to ping.

Now there are different ways of testing for that.

#1 Since you used portforward.com 's port checker, depending on the version you are using: It should tell you right there.

#2 You could go to grc.com -> Services -> Shield's Up

a) After reading the text, click on Proceed

b) Then type in a port number in the box. It does not matter which.

c) Click on User Specified Custom Port Probe

d) Dis-regard the port status. If you are replying to ping, on the site it says

Quote
Ping Reply: RECEIVED (FAILED) — Your system REPLIED to our Ping (ICMP Echo) requests, making it visible on the Internet. Most personal firewalls can be configured to block, drop, and ignore such ping requests in order to better hide systems from hackers. This is highly recommended since "Ping" is among the oldest and most common methods used to locate systems prior to further exploitation.

#3 You could go to http://network-tools.com/

b) Select Ping

c) Press Go

c) If you are replying to ping, it looks something like this

Quote
Ping 75.97.*.*
[75.97.*.*.res-cmts.sm.ptd.net]
Round trip time to 75.97.*.*: 48 ms
Round trip time to 75.97.*.*: 47 ms
Round trip time to 75.97.*.*: 45 ms
Round trip time to 75.97.*.*: 45 ms
Round trip time to 75.97.*.* 45 ms
Timed out
Round trip time to 75.97.*.*: 46 ms
Timed out
Round trip time to 75.97.*.*: 46 ms
Timed out

Average time over 10 pings: 32.2 ms

If you are not replying to ping, it looks like this

Quote
Ping 75.97.*.*
[75.97.*.*.res-cmts.sm.ptd.net]
Timed out
Timed out
Timed out
Timed out
Timed out
Timed out
Timed out
Timed out
Timed out
Timed out

Average time over 10 pings: 0 ms
« Last Edit: January 23, 2014, 10:30:12 AM by trpted »
Private messages (PM) are not for support questions or for hints to not yet answered topics. The PMs are basically for confident conversation between the users, off the forum.

Offline kwas1978

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2014
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Port Forwarding Help
« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2014, 11:46:53 AM »
Hi Shane,

I use Microsoft Essentials security software and I don't see a firewall setting in it. I checked at my control panel and I am using the Windows one. I then installed your tweaking software and did exactly what you instructed in regards to that. But, after doing everything that you mentioned in your next post in regards to Ping I believe this is the issue. It doesn't seem like ping is received. I have attached all the screenshots for you. Thanks again.

Ken

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port Forwarding Help
« Reply #6 on: January 23, 2014, 05:11:41 PM »
Ping is blocked in the router and is normally the default to have it blocked because it keeps hackers from knowing if the IP they are scanning is good.

Most games dont need ping to work as they connect to their own ports and they know ping is normally blocked.

Now that you adjusted the firewall how does the game do? And did you make sure all ports it needs are open?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline kwas1978

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2014
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Port Forwarding Help
« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2014, 05:36:13 PM »
Hi Shane,

I haven't played the game today but plan on testing it but do you think this matters? See the screenshot from EA's website. It states this:

Command & Conquer: Generals Zero Hour (PC)
TCP: 80, 6667, 28910, 29900, 29920
UDP: 432, 127, 900

I had your program automatically set the ports after I selected my game from your drop down menu. EA's site list 80 for TCP but your program didn't add that one. Also, EA's site list 432, 127, 900 for UDP but your site plugged in 4321 and 27900 for UDP. Do you think this has something to do with it? I won't change anything unless you suggest it. Thanks.

Ken

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port Forwarding Help
« Reply #8 on: January 23, 2014, 05:39:46 PM »
Quote
I had your program automatically set the ports after I selected my game from your drop down menu. EA's site list 80 for TCP but your program didn't add that one. Also, EA's site list 432, 127, 900 for UDP but your site plugged in 4321 and 27900 for UDP. Do you think this has something to do with it? I won't change anything unless you suggest it. Thanks.

Yes! I must have the ports listed wrong in the program so not all the ports got added. I must have had a comma in the wrong place lol. I will get that fixed right now.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port Forwarding Help
« Reply #9 on: January 23, 2014, 05:44:50 PM »
Done, update the database in the program and it will get the new port list.

Remove all the old port forwarding rules from the router and the program and do it again with the new database :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline kwas1978

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2014
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Port Forwarding Help
« Reply #10 on: January 23, 2014, 05:54:27 PM »
Well Ok, thanks so much. I will redo the ports now. Can't wait but I think this will solve it. Great software by the way. Thanks again.

Ken :smiley:

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port Forwarding Help
« Reply #11 on: January 23, 2014, 06:01:08 PM »
Always happy to help, let me know how it goes :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline kwas1978

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2014
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Port Forwarding Help
« Reply #12 on: January 23, 2014, 06:06:55 PM »
I will Shane. This might be a stupid question but I noticed that you made the change and I have removed and added the ports again. But I also noticed that you didn't add 80 as one of them. Is there a reason for that? I do notice that it says 80 in the box to the above right in your software where it says HTTP Port:. So, does it matter that it isn't listed as a port to forward because EA listed 80 as one of them on their site? Thanks again.

Ken

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port Forwarding Help
« Reply #13 on: January 23, 2014, 06:09:37 PM »
Those are also the ports needed to be allowed through any firewall. Port 80 is a website default port, so they need port 80 allowed through the firewall for the game to access their sites. Port 80 isnt normally ever used to host a game because a lot of ISPs will block port 80 so people cant host their own sites :wink:

I am off for the night, I will post back tomorrow if you have a reply by then, night!

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline trpted

  • PcWinTech Guru
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 1,190
  • Karma: 37
Re: Port Forwarding Help
« Reply #14 on: January 27, 2014, 07:34:24 AM »
I agree with Shane with what was said about replying to ping, but FYI (For Your Info) if you want to reply to ping with your router for any reason - including not limited to trouble shooting:

a) In the router go to Security -> Firewall

http://www.pcwintech.com/screenshots-linksys-wrt100-linksys-firmware

b) Uncheck Filter Anonymous Internet Requests

c) Save/Apply your setting.
Private messages (PM) are not for support questions or for hints to not yet answered topics. The PMs are basically for confident conversation between the users, off the forum.

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Port Forwarding Help
« Reply #14 on: January 27, 2014, 07:34:24 AM »