Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: Trigger a port range?  (Read 5667 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline avatarhammer

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Jan 2014
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
Trigger a port range?
« on: January 21, 2014, 06:30:42 PM »
Q? about port triggering initiator 1.0:

Actually two Q?s. Can the program trigger a port range ie 8000 - 8999? also is it possible to use a single port like 991 to trigger both 991, and a range, 8000 - 8999?

TIA

PcWinTech.com Forums

Trigger a port range?
« on: January 21, 2014, 06:30:42 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Trigger a port range?
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2014, 10:38:44 AM »
When you setup a port triggering rule you can set the range of ports to open when the rule is activated and then you set what port will trigger it. Then just use the program to make a connection on that trigger port. The router will see it and then activate the rule. :-)

Port triggering is port forwarding but where the rules are off until the router sees a connection on the trigger port. Doesnt always work and thats why I made the program. :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Trigger a port range?
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2014, 10:38:44 AM »