Author Topic: Verizon GT704WG  (Read 25524 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

simmsman4

  • Guest
Verizon GT704WG
« on: January 18, 2009, 10:43:05 AM »
Hi all,

I'm having trouble openin my ports on a Verizon GT704WG. I updated the firmware from the lastest site but still only able to open ports. I tried the port forwarding app and it seem to look like it worked.. Although not 100% sure.

After the app was finished I went to http://www.yougetsignal.com/tools/open-ports/
site. There I checked to see if ports where open.

I am working with a MMO game engine called Realm Crafter which by default needs to have port 25000 open, although this can be changed. My goal is to create a Website,ftp site and host my MMO game. I'm just having problems!

I've also installed XAMPP and have Mysql,filezilla,apache running.
they all seem to be running correct. No errors, and I can even run my game engine
server after setting up mysql. But I can't seem to get ports open on the machine.


If I run the app "Local Port Scanner 1.2.2" is gives reports that 80,21 and a few more are open.

I have also setup Simple Static IP and assigned a address to be static. Still no luck.

Verizon is my DSL service
XP is my OS
Router is Version GT704WG - with current firmware #3.20.3.3.5.0.9.2.14

PcWinTech.com Forums

Verizon GT704WG
« on: January 18, 2009, 10:43:05 AM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
the trick to testing if ports
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2009, 11:42:14 AM »
the trick to testing if ports are open is the ports need to be actually opened. I created a tool in simple port forwarding (Im thinking of making it separate also) That will test your ports.

How it works is it actually opens and listens on the ports and then uses canyouseeme.org to test the ports.

Try that out and let me know what happens.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

simmsman4

  • Guest
I had the server open and
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2009, 01:03:16 PM »
I had the server open and running.. Went to canyouseeme.org, tried to test port 25000. and it said no.

In the router under Applications I have created a custom one

name RC
Start port 24000
End port 26000
Port map 24000

in windows.. I've fully disable the firewall and also tried to leave it up and apply rules in there opening port 25000 no luck..

any of the port listen site, if I type any number of ports.. it says no!

Throwin me off here. Yet, I don't have one problem using any online game, any programs like skype,ventillo,team speak,etc..

using no-ip.. seems to up date.. the site is chapter11.zapto.org and when I type that into my explore. I get my router setup screen

Be happy to give u screen shots.. but just don't know of what.. let me know

and thanks for lookin into it for me!

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
send me a screen shot of this
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2009, 01:11:19 PM »
send me a screen shot of this page in your router

http://www.pcwintech.com/files/screenshots/Actiontec-GT704WG_Verizon/028.png

make sure to choose user first.

Also make sure the ip in the list is your local ip.

you can send it to shane at of course pcwintech.com

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

simmsman4

  • Guest
List of screenys
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2009, 01:40:37 PM »
Sent yea a list of screen shots.. Kinda just added more into the picture then what u requested.. To maybe help more..

just hit the contact me which belive is your address u sent me.. lol I hope..

Last time I sent up anything.. was running teleguard and having fidonet packs sent to boston..Which had my tradewars info and mails.. lol

I plan to get this.. just need to head in the right direction..

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
ok I looked at the screen
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2009, 02:01:06 PM »
ok I looked at the screen shots and you seem to have everything set up right. Keep in mind Verizon blocks port 80 on residential accounts. So port forwarding to port 80 will never work for you.

After you applied the rules did you try rebooting the router? also to test to see if it is something with port forwarding or something on your system try DMZ as a test.

I have a feeling you know what DMZ is considering your doing more advanced things with your setup than most users :-)

Also, my simple port forwarding program can add the ports them selves to the windows firewall. cant hurt any.

Try those things out and let me know how it goes.
Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

simmsman4

  • Guest
thanks for the very fast reply
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2009, 02:28:58 PM »
Did even finish my cig before the bell said times up....

I've rebooted both router and machines..

Demilitarized Zone(DMZ) is set for the static IP machine, passing is active..I'm guessing. I opened every thing I could and nothing seems to say yes to me.

Took a westell 2200 modem and linked it up like a bridge having my system connect and still ports all closed.

Port 80 is closed by verizon, but No-IP can re-route to another port, which shouldnt be a problem. Either way I'm not getting "No ports open" from test sites

I'm guessin on my ideas and answers here.. but

DMZ is set on the machine with a static IP address
both windows and router have needed ports open

The router isn't saying goto this IP address on the local network, even if the ports are assigned to that IP. Something isn't turned on or off!

Also, if I type chapter11.zapto.org in the explore.. it goes out into the internet.. searchs and comes back with my verzion router status screen. Not at another dls connect to set if that works for others. But it's what happens on a local level. Which means that no-ip is redirecting a web address to my current IP, and the router is saying the buck stops here.. look at the status reprot and move on.


Either way, all mess around so more and see what answer I can get.. if u want more info..let me know.. all send whatever yea need..

thanks again for your help..fricken great website!

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Thanks! I can ping
« Reply #7 on: January 18, 2009, 02:34:25 PM »
Thanks! I can ping chapter11.zapto.org just fine.

Let me contact you through email to try a few things. When we get it fixed we can post the answer for other people to see.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

simmsman4

  • Guest
love to find the answer to
« Reply #8 on: January 18, 2009, 06:22:08 PM »
love to find the answer to the problem...server is up and running .but I missed your last message.. had to get a few ZZZZ in before I moved forward... all watch for when your on next and we can try some testing...

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Im on now. I will send
« Reply #9 on: January 18, 2009, 06:23:56 PM »
Im on now. I will send another email to you. Check your spam box, I sent 3 already :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

simmsman4

  • Guest
shane rocks
« Reply #10 on: January 18, 2009, 08:30:37 PM »
this guy isn't good, he's GREATTTT!

u got a problem and he will find it..


nice job bro...

for those that wanted to know the problem I'm sure he will post it here.. I just watched the man at work..



Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Thanks! For those who read
« Reply #11 on: January 18, 2009, 08:37:22 PM »
Thanks!

For those who read this the problem wasn't with port forwarding. But with his server setup and port 80 being blocked. I helped him over come that block and got everything he needed working for his game server.

So in this case the trick was to have Apache web server listen to a different port other than 80. so we had it listen on port 80 and 81. I then setup his no-ip account to do a port 80 redirect to port 81. This helped us over come the port 80 block by the isp.

Also the reason he had trouble connecting on the port forwarding was he was trying to make a connection from the outside to him self. In other words he was trying to connect to himself using his internet IP. Most routers don't allow or cant handle this so the connection fails. Once we tested from my end everything was fine.

If you ever need anything else all you have to do is ask.

-Shane

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Thanks! For those who read
« Reply #11 on: January 18, 2009, 08:37:22 PM »