Author Topic: Can not open port on WIndows 8  (Read 4062 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline aetedford

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Nov 2013
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Can not open port on WIndows 8
« on: November 27, 2013, 02:31:56 PM »
I have a Windows 8 laptop with Kaspersky Internet Security 14. I use the Linksys EA6500 Wireless Router. My laptop is on 192.168.1.147.
I set up the Open Port in Kapersky: SETTINGS->ADDITIONAL->NETWORK->MONITOR SELECTED PORTS ONLY and add Port 491.

When I go to run telnet 192.168.1.147 491 at a different computer OR on a test site on the internet, it is not open. NETSTAT -a does not show it open either.

PLEASE let me know what I am doing wrong. On my wireless, I set up single-port forwarding on the router to 491 (see attachment).

Nothing seems to work. Please let me know what I should do. I've been trying for 2 days now.
« Last Edit: November 27, 2013, 02:54:21 PM by aetedford »

PcWinTech.com Forums

Can not open port on WIndows 8
« on: November 27, 2013, 02:31:56 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Can not open port on WIndows 8
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2013, 03:42:10 PM »
What does my port tester program show?
http://www.pcwintech.com/simple-port-tester

Also in the router find the page that shows what WAN or Internet IP the router has, does it match the IP on this page?
http://www.pcwintech.com/myip

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline aetedford

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Nov 2013
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Re: Can not open port on WIndows 8
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2013, 04:09:10 PM »
Thanks for the quick reply:
Your Port Tester program (Attached) shows connected
I attached part of my netstat to show port 491
However, when I go to a different computer and telnet, it won't work. Also, a program on my ipad to telnet to it also says unreachable.
Your page shows IP address (IPv4 or IPv6): 74.79.17.69
I have attached what my router says, too.

I should be able to reach them from the laptop or ipad. Any ideas?

UPDATE - Have not made ANY changes and your program shows the ports open as FAILED?

Don't know what happened....
« Last Edit: November 27, 2013, 05:46:14 PM by aetedford, Reason: update »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Can not open port on WIndows 8
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2013, 08:12:22 PM »
My port tester can only test the ports if nothing is using them. And if my port tester says they where open then you can count that they are since it is listening for a connection from my site.

So looks like port forwarding isnt the problem :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Can not open port on WIndows 8
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2013, 08:12:22 PM »