Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: Start up on Vista  (Read 35206 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

putik

  • Guest
Start up on Vista
« on: January 04, 2009, 05:40:51 AM »
when i start up my pc it seems like it has a hard time bootin' up. It will go blank screen then the boot up process and blank screen again and the boot up process and so on and on until it reaches the end of the boot up process. Sometimes it will just be like that for awhile even the booting process is already finished. Mcafee don't detect any virus but this just happened recently. Please help!!!

PcWinTech.com Forums

Start up on Vista
« on: January 04, 2009, 05:40:51 AM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
With windows as it is booting
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2009, 08:01:00 AM »
With windows as it is booting up it is loading the drivers for the hardware. When the screen goes blank this is normally the video driver. But that is only one option. Of course there are lots of things that can also do it.

Here whats you should do for the first step.

download and run www.malwarebytes.org to check for spyware (I use this on my customers computers)

And of course check what driver versions you have for your video. If you don't know how to do this. Go to the start button, right click on computer, then click on manage. When the new window comes up you will have device manager on the left.
Once your in device manager go to the display card, open it and get the driver version.

Let me know your video card model and driver version and we can see if you got the latest drivers.

Talk to you soon!
-Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

putik

  • Guest
star up on vista
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2009, 05:05:36 PM »
shane,

I downloaded the malwarebyets and scanned the computer. Found nine infected and removed by malwarebytes. Shut off the computer for awhile and turn it back on, but the problem still exits. Then i went to device manager like you said but there were no display card in it only display adapters. This is in the display adapters >>> Intel (R) 82945G  Express Chipset Family. I'm not sure if thats the video card model & version. Pls. help. Thanks.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: start up on vista
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2009, 05:16:21 PM »







This is what it should look like. This is mine, your card name may say
something different. You should be able to double click on the display adapter
to open it up and view the driver info.


Let me know how it goes!

-Shane



(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

putik

  • Guest
start up on vista
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2009, 03:19:01 PM »
shane,
Inside display adapters is Intel(R) 82945G Express Chipset Family and the driver version is 7.14.10.1461. The driver date is 3/25/2008. Intel Corp is the provider. When you right click it has three choices ..disable, update and uninstall. Its located in PCI bus 0, device 2, function 0. Thanks. Do i update it? Thanks.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
here is the updated
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2009, 03:22:58 PM »
here is the updated drivers.

http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?agr=Y&ProductID=2102&DwnldID=16312&strOSs=153&OSFullName=Windows%20Vista*%20Home%20Premium,%2032-bit%20version&lang=eng

good luck and let me know how it goes.

-shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

putik

  • Guest
start up on vista
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2009, 07:39:57 PM »
shane,

downloaded the driver and installed it and i keep getting this error that says >>   not validated for this pc. pls obtain the appropriate driver from the pc manufacturer. thanks

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
You can find the drivers you
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2009, 07:48:59 PM »
You can find the drivers you need on the intel site. All I did was go there do a search for Intel(R) 82945G graphic drivers.

I had choosen Windows Vista Home Preim. 32 bit.

I didnt know which you had.

See ifyou can find the ones you need. If you have trouble let me know!

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

putik

  • Guest
start up on vista
« Reply #8 on: January 07, 2009, 02:49:10 PM »
shane do i have to uninstall the old driver first before i install the new one? thanks.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Normally they recommend that
« Reply #9 on: January 07, 2009, 02:53:09 PM »
Normally they recommend that you do, so you can make sure all files get replaced. To be honest I have never had trouble not uninstalling first.

But better safe than sorry, uninstall first.

-Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

putik

  • Guest
start up on vista
« Reply #10 on: January 07, 2009, 04:18:24 PM »
shane,

I've installed the new driver version and its still doing it. Do you have anymore idea? I will appreciate it. Could i do a point or full restore on this kind of problem? Thanks a lot for your help.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Well the question is, is it a
« Reply #11 on: January 07, 2009, 04:42:39 PM »
Well the question is, is it a driver or the video? had any drivers been installed before it started doing it? always could be another driver. I use to have a nivida card that did the same thing on xp. Turned out to be the card and just replaced it.

One full proof way to find out if it is drivers or hardware is a reinstall. But if you dont know how to make an image of your current install to put back on after the test reinstall I wouldnt say do it.

I never use system restore myself. To many things i dont like about it.

You can try and see. But can you think of anything that changed on your system before it started doing it? do you have trouble of any other kind with the computer, no matter what it is?

-Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

putik

  • Guest
start up on vista
« Reply #12 on: January 07, 2009, 06:36:45 PM »
Shane,
 
That's the only problem in this computer. It flickers when starting and stop whenever. I downloaded a lot of video clips before this thing started doing it. No drivers installed before, for what i've remembered. Could this be a router problem or connections? Thanks.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
flickers when it starting and
« Reply #13 on: January 07, 2009, 06:42:31 PM »
flickers when it starting and stopping? do you mean when you turn the computer on and off?

I re-read your main post on this and you say even after it is on it still flickers. Is this right? does it ever flicker during normal use or is it mainly on startup?

router and connections are more internet related and not windows. If you get flickers when playing videos that's normally a codec issue.

-Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

putik

  • Guest
start up on vista
« Reply #14 on: January 08, 2009, 09:08:57 PM »
i don't know what do you call it but it goes blank screen and booting and blank screen and booting and it will continue even the boot up process has finished. Then it will eventually stops. It happens mainly during start up or i left and the pc is on and it went to away mode for awhile. After it stops its ok and normal. Thanks.

PcWinTech.com Forums

start up on vista
« Reply #14 on: January 08, 2009, 09:08:57 PM »