Author Topic: Ports Won't Forward  (Read 22014 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Ports Won't Forward
« on: January 03, 2009, 01:59:06 PM »
Hi there
Ive tried everything to get my ports to forward, with no luck.

my setup is

internet > cable modem > wirless router > signal booster > my comp
                         (DLink di-624)                    (D-Link AirPlus DWL-G520 Wireless)

i have a number of computers also using the router.

i have tried setting my own static ip manually and using SPF. When both times didnt work i'd change the static ip just incase there was a conflict, still didnt work.

ive tried port forwarding manually in the router settings and using SPF. Both were successful. But when i used the canyouseeme.org the ports were not open. and failed.

In addition ive tried turning off the windows firewall but it still said the ports were closed.

Any help is greatly appreciated!
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Ports Won't Forward
« on: January 03, 2009, 01:59:06 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Ports Won't Forward
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2009, 01:58:00 PM »
ok so the problem isnt with spf then since you did it manually and still didn't work.

Have you tried to see if port forwarding will work when pointed to the other computers? this will help us se if the problem is the router, or the computer itself. If port forwarding works when going to the other systems then we know its your system that has the trouble. But if it fails on every computer you try then the router or something between the router and the systems is not working right.

I also moved this from the simple port forwarding thread to the port forwarding thread :-)

let me know
-Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

aidannn

  • Guest
problem found
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2009, 05:44:39 PM »
ok it seems for some reason there are 2 wireless routers plugged in ?

i have no idea why but it goes modem > netgear wpn824v2 > Dlink di624 > dlink dwl g710 > dlink dwl-g520.

now when i try to unplug the netgear router, and just use the dlink router i can connect to the dlink router fine, signal strength is good, but i cant connect to the internet.

when i just used the netgear router,  signal strength was really really weak and would cut out, although when it was connected i managed to forward the ports. and could connect to the internet.

ive now gone back to the setup as i found it and the net works fine again, but theres still the problem of not being able to forward the ports.

any help would be great!

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
did I read that right 4
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2009, 05:59:44 PM »
did I read that right 4 routers hooked up!? plug the dlink back in like you had with a strong signal. set the other 3 to the side.once you connect log into the router and make sure the wan information isnt set to static and put it to dhcp so it can get a IP from the modem.

You should be able to get on the net at that point.

all you need is cable modem ---> router (chose any router you like lol)

let me know how it goes. Also with cable modems they normally only give out 1 ip at a time, so when you plugged in the other router it didnt get an ip. simply repower the modem and it will give out a new ip.

let me know how it goes.
Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

aidannn

  • Guest
oops i guess i didnt clarify
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2009, 06:40:56 PM »
oops i guess i didnt clarify properly
theres only 2 wireless routers
netgear and dlink

the other dlink products are a signal booster and the wireless card for my computer

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
ok just do as i said then
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2009, 06:44:21 PM »
ok just do as i said then with the dlink.

make sure ti re power cycle the modem when you do

let me know how it goes!
-shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

ok just do as i said then
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2009, 06:44:21 PM »

 

email