Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: Port range?  (Read 4957 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline trpted

  • PcWinTech Guru
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 1,136
  • Karma: 37
Port range?
« on: May 17, 2013, 05:52:55 PM »
Let us say that an user forwarded a port range, does your program support adding a port range or does one have to add one port at a time?

For example at portforward.com -> Guides -> List of All Known TCP and UDP Ports I noticed for Active Worlds they say it requires the following:

a) TCP port 3000,

b) TCP port 5670

c) TCP port 7777

d) And from TCP port 7000 to TCP port 7100 (7000-7100).

Thank you
Private messages (PM) are not for support questions or for hints to not yet answered topics. The PMs are basically for confident conversation between the users, off the forum.

PcWinTech.com Forums

Port range?
« on: May 17, 2013, 05:52:55 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port range?
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2013, 09:29:24 AM »
My port tester only does one port at a time.

When it comes to a port range normally if in the router you setup the rule for a range and one of the ports come back open the rest will 99% of the time be open as well.

I only test 1 port at a time in the port tester and if I had it add a range someone could easily have it test thousands of ports, which would look like an attack from my site trying to hit so many ports at once. :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline trpted

  • PcWinTech Guru
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 1,136
  • Karma: 37
Re: Port range?
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2013, 11:51:07 AM »
Ah, I see.

Then I have to ask a question about that.

On grc.com -> Services -> Shield's up

Unless I am missing something, they have a disclaimer.

Without quoting the disclaimer, it is between the text that says If you are new to this site and our services and the text below might uniquely identify you on the Internet.

Why not have a disclaimer on your site too?
Private messages (PM) are not for support questions or for hints to not yet answered topics. The PMs are basically for confident conversation between the users, off the forum.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port range?
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2013, 11:59:52 AM »
They are testing multiple ports at once, and they are scanning the ports to your system.

My tool is simply trying to connect to the one port the port tester tells it to. And of course if your firewall software is blocking the program then it will fail, but it is talking to the program and not just trying to see what ports are open.

Really no need to have a disclaimer.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline trpted

  • PcWinTech Guru
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 1,136
  • Karma: 37
Re: Port range?
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2013, 12:13:28 PM »
Why not have port range (so that users do not need to enter one port at a time) and a disclaimer (to cover your ass)?

By to cover your ass: It is not an attack, someone behind the router (an end user) requested it.

Thank you

PS. And put a reasonable limit to the max number of ports / max port range. Up to 500 at a time, for example.
Private messages (PM) are not for support questions or for hints to not yet answered topics. The PMs are basically for confident conversation between the users, off the forum.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port range?
« Reply #5 on: May 20, 2013, 12:15:11 PM »
Like I said, normally with port forwarding you do 1 rule for the range. If the one port from that range is open the rest normally are as well.

Since the program has to wait for the page to load testing a lot of ports would take a while! :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline trpted

  • PcWinTech Guru
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 1,136
  • Karma: 37
Re: Port range?
« Reply #6 on: May 21, 2013, 09:46:48 AM »
Please add it.

For example if an user types in 7000-7100, the port checker with built in server (Windows & Mac) automatic adds

7000
7001
ETC all the way up to 7100.

--

Not including the users who ask, Homework question? Agree or disagree? (or anything along those lines) at DSLR (dslreports.com) -> Forums -> Broadband Tech -> Security -> Security -> port blocked question disagree with you.

Private messages (PM) are not for support questions or for hints to not yet answered topics. The PMs are basically for confident conversation between the users, off the forum.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port range?
« Reply #7 on: May 21, 2013, 12:41:49 PM »
Quote
Not including the users who ask, Homework question? Agree or disagree? (or anything along those lines) at DSLR (dslreports.com) -> Forums -> Broadband Tech -> Security -> Security -> port blocked question disagree with you.

That is because I am talking about a port forwarding rule. They dont know that and think you are meaning a range of ports open on a system. I am talking about a port forwarding rule only in a router.

If the rule opened one port then it is a safe bet it is letting the rest of the ports in the rule through as well.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline trpted

  • PcWinTech Guru
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 1,136
  • Karma: 37
Re: Port range?
« Reply #8 on: May 21, 2013, 01:42:35 PM »
Not including the users who ask, Homework question? Agree or disagree? (or anything along those lines) I sent a PM/IM message to them to see if they agree or disagree. We shaw see what happens..

Private messages (PM) are not for support questions or for hints to not yet answered topics. The PMs are basically for confident conversation between the users, off the forum.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Port range?
« Reply #9 on: May 21, 2013, 05:31:27 PM »
Don't go dragging me into other forums lol

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Port range?
« Reply #9 on: May 21, 2013, 05:31:27 PM »

 

email