Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: Huawei Lte Cpe B593  (Read 13983 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Paulp

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Huawei Lte Cpe B593
« on: May 16, 2013, 01:24:46 PM »


Hi all, I am really in the need of some help here.

I need to find the latest firmware for the Huawei B593 4G wifi router. Here is why I
need this....I just bought the router an an iphone 5 from my cell network provider,
only to discover that the iphone 5 has compatibility issues with this router. The wifi
speed the iphone connects at through the router is almost non existent (0.15Mb/s).
When using a samsung galaxy phone I get 10Mb/s easy. Looked it up on the internet
and the solution is to update the firmware on the router which supports the iphone 5.
I have found an updated driver that shows support for iphone 5 but it is in finnish or
some similar language and i am afraid to install it cause i cant read finnish. Lol :

http://www.elisa.fi/saunalahti/asiakaspalvelu/530.65/huawei-b593-4g-reititin/

Does anyone know where i can get the updated firmware? Would appreciate any help.

Thank you in advance,

Paul

PcWinTech.com Forums

Huawei Lte Cpe B593
« on: May 16, 2013, 01:24:46 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Huawei Lte Cpe B593
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2013, 11:18:48 AM »
If the router came from your ISP you will have to get any firmware updates from them :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Paulp

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: Huawei Lte Cpe B593
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2013, 04:46:27 PM »
Thanks shane. i have already asked them but they didnt even realise that this problem even existed. Not sure i'll get much help there. :(

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Huawei Lte Cpe B593
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2013, 09:27:30 AM »
When it comes to routers from the ISP you are limited to what you can do. And if you try and load the wrong firmware you can brick your router.

You might be out of options if you use their router, sorry bud :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Paulp

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: Huawei Lte Cpe B593
« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2013, 02:36:35 AM »

Thanks bud. i wonder if i should try an intermediate wireless routet between the modem and my idevices? would that work?

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Huawei Lte Cpe B593
« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2013, 12:44:10 PM »
As long as the net is still going through the router form your ISP you will have the problem.

BUT... If you have them put the modem into bridge mode it will stop acting as a router and act as a modem only and will pass the internet IP to another device, in this case your own router :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Paulp

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: Huawei Lte Cpe B593
« Reply #6 on: May 21, 2013, 12:54:42 PM »

Sounds like a plan bud. but the huawei router does not have a bridge setting.I'm guessing the setting is called "bridge" correct?

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Huawei Lte Cpe B593
« Reply #7 on: May 21, 2013, 01:00:46 PM »
The proper term is bridge mode, I don't know if that model has an option or not. A lot of times the ISP can do it for you or walk you through it.

I tried googleing the model and bridge mode but I get a lot of non English sites so I wasn't able to find any info on it. :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Huawei Lte Cpe B593
« Reply #7 on: May 21, 2013, 01:00:46 PM »

 

email