Author Topic: Lorex setup check  (Read 9864 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline anwarjim

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Lorex setup check
« on: April 15, 2013, 11:24:14 AM »
Hi can you test if my setup is working correctly. Locally I can connect through Internet Explorer by typing in the DVR ip address.

I seen in your other posts logging through the ddns url doesn't seem to work locally.
http://sajmart.lorexddns.net/

So when you try to connect from the outside will the same login page show up as you would see from local access?
 
Can you verify if its working from the outside thank you.

PcWinTech.com Forums

Lorex setup check
« on: April 15, 2013, 11:24:14 AM »

Offline trpted

  • PcWinTech Guru
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 1,183
  • Karma: 37
Re: Lorex setup check
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2013, 12:23:07 PM »
Most routers dont like reverse nat

http://www.pcwintech.com/test-for-reverse-nat

So when your on the same network you have to use the local IP of the device (In this case looks like your DVR). When outside your network like I am is when you use your internet IP.

I connected to the IP you posted under and I get a DVR login, so looks like your working fine.
Private messages (PM) are not for support questions or for hints to not yet answered topics. The PMs are basically for confident conversation between the users, off the forum.

Offline anwarjim

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Lorex setup check
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2013, 12:33:55 PM »
Thanks for trying it out and letting me know its working really appreciate it. May I ask what browser did you use to connect? Last night I tried connecting from my home computer running Windows 7 and didn't work on Internet Explorer.

When connecting locally this is my login screen using WinXP internet Explorer.


Did you get the same login screen from the internet or a popup window came up asking for username and password?

Thanks

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Lorex setup check
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2013, 04:07:10 PM »
The DDNS wont work locally. What is happening there is it looks like it is simply pointing to your router login. Only use your DDNS name when your outside your home. When you on the same network as the DVR you use the local IP like you did in the first picture.

Lorex only supports IE so far  :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline anwarjim

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Lorex setup check
« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2013, 08:48:22 PM »
Ok I'm home now trying to access the DVR through the DDNS url but I only see a blank page.


Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Lorex setup check
« Reply #5 on: April 15, 2013, 09:36:35 PM »
Click on the broken page icon at the top in the address bar. That is compatibility mode. Also check your IE settings and make sure unsigned active x controls is set to prompt :wink:

I am off to bed, be back in the morning :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline anwarjim

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Lorex setup check
« Reply #6 on: April 16, 2013, 10:13:11 AM »
Hey Shane were you able to view the login page? Which Internet Explorer did you use?

The page still doesn't load for me I tried clicking the compatibility button and changed the active X options to prompt.
« Last Edit: April 16, 2013, 10:16:08 AM by anwarjim »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Lorex setup check
« Reply #7 on: April 16, 2013, 12:32:08 PM »
Blank screen for me now as well.

Lets make sure you got all the ports the DVR needs open. In the DVR get me a picture of the network setup screen. This way I can see what ports it is using and what IP info :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline anwarjim

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Lorex setup check
« Reply #8 on: April 17, 2013, 04:30:42 PM »
As requested pictures taken from the DVR information and network screen.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Lorex setup check
« Reply #9 on: April 18, 2013, 02:20:05 PM »
You can get the login locally but not over the net. I know some ISP's block port 80 or the router doesnt like sharing port 80. SO lets try a different port.

In the DVR change the http port to 8000 then reboot it. Then in the router go update the port forwarding rule to 8000

Once done I will try to connect

http://sajmart.lorexddns.net:8000/

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline anwarjim

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Lorex setup check
« Reply #10 on: April 20, 2013, 02:40:30 PM »
Hey Shane, I changed the port to 100 because I don't have a number pad on the DVR remote. It only has + and -  and it only increments by 1.

Anyways it still didn't work, I tried the following URL with no luck:

sajmart.lorexddns.net:100

I was wondering if my DDNS name was setup correctly? Screenshots provided one from the router and other from Lorex website.

Thanks for the help.

Offline anwarjim

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Lorex setup check
« Reply #11 on: April 20, 2013, 03:10:54 PM »
New screenshot of the router's port forwarding rule.

I was talking to a person who works in the networking field, he said I need to have a static IP.  Every time I checked the router IP address it was always the same I think its static since its a business.

**Not sure if this need to be done*
He also mentioned to turn off DHCP on the DVR and add the DVR mac address to the router. I added a screenshot of that can you see if its done correctly thanks again.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Lorex setup check
« Reply #12 on: April 21, 2013, 09:20:17 PM »
Static Ip int he DVR is so it wont get a new IP from the router and thus break the port forwarding rules. As for your internet IP you dont need a static, that's why you use the ddns. The ddns needs to be setup int he dvr. This way when your internet Ip changes the dvr updates the ddns name for you to point to it.

So do this, first remove the port forwarding rules. No point in keeping old ones your not using.

then int he dvr set the network setup to static and put in this info.

IP: 192.168.001.250
subnet or netmask: 255.255.255.0
gateway: 192.168.001.001
DNS: 008.008.008.008

Then setup your port forwarding rules to point to that IP.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Lorex setup check
« Reply #12 on: April 21, 2013, 09:20:17 PM »

 

email