Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: Shane: Help! Can't Do System Restore  (Read 10122 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline steelgtr

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: 0
Shane: Help! Can't Do System Restore
« on: March 27, 2013, 01:09:36 PM »
Shane,

Win Vista/32.  Had some malware and couldn't do a restore to any point, even in safe mode.  Bleeping computer helped with the malware but I still can't restore which is troubling. Hope Shane, The man can help!!

thx

bob

PcWinTech.com Forums

Shane: Help! Can't Do System Restore
« on: March 27, 2013, 01:09:36 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Shane: Help! Can't Do System Restore
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2013, 01:15:37 PM »
There is no known fix for system restore yet. I have been trying to make one.

Download my Windows repair tool
http://www.tweaking.com/content/page/windows_repair_all_in_one.html

When you get to the repair window where you can choose the repairs you want to run click on the beta repairs button. That is my beta repair for the system restore. See if it helps.

You may want to run all the other repairs first. You can also do a registry backup with the program so make sure to do that first :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline steelgtr

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: 0
Re: Shane: Help! Can't Do System Restore
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2013, 07:16:45 AM »
Shane

I ran the repairs and now I'm in trouble.  When I started my pc this morning, it's stuck in an endless loop at startup trying to configure a   windows update, 3 of 3,  0%. It hangs and then shuts down and keeps retrying over and over.  Tried safe mode and last know good config, no difference.


HELP!!


bob

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Shane: Help! Can't Do System Restore
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2013, 03:28:54 PM »
Very common bug in vista and easy to fix.

Odd thing is I have this fix in the repair tool lol.

Ok boot into the recovery console. Then in there open a command window and put in

del C:\Windows\winsxs\pending.xml

In vista if it sees that pending.xml file it gets stuck at the screen you see. Simply deleting the file will fix it :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline steelgtr

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: 0
Re: Shane: Help! Can't Do System Restore
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2013, 03:49:44 PM »
Says:  " the system cannot find the file specified"


bob

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Shane: Help! Can't Do System Restore
« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2013, 03:53:47 PM »
Its possible the recovery console has windows on a different drive than c:

in the command window do this

cd C:
dir

The cd c: will change the command window to the C: drive
The dir will list the files on C:, see if you see the windows folder on there :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline steelgtr

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: 0
Re: Shane: Help! Can't Do System Restore
« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2013, 04:41:03 PM »
Its possible the recovery console has windows on a different drive than c:

in the command window do this

cd C:
dir

The cd c: will change the command window to the C: drive
The dir will list the files on C:, see if you see the windows folder on there :wink:

Shane

Update:

Was using a Win 7 disc for recovery and realized that it saw Vista on the D:  drive!  I removed my other HD's and only had the C drive which now came up as C:  All dir looked good, etc. After a few reboots it got passed the hanging and I'm back up.  I'm afraid to shut it down again until I hear back from you!

thx

bob

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Shane: Help! Can't Do System Restore
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2013, 04:43:34 PM »
Now that the pending.xml is gone you should be good. Go ahead and run windows updates and have it do any that it finds.

What is really odd is Vista is the only one with this bug. But thankfully I found what the bug was.

In my repair tool I put it in the startup to remove that file, but if the file is in use it cant remove it. You should be ok now. Let me know if system restore does any better for you.

If I can make the first known working repair for system restore, that could be huge lol

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline steelgtr

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: 0
Re: Shane: Help! Can't Do System Restore
« Reply #8 on: March 28, 2013, 07:54:39 PM »
Now that the pending.xml is gone you should be good. Go ahead and run windows updates and have it do any that it finds.

What is really odd is Vista is the only one with this bug. But thankfully I found what the bug was.

In my repair tool I put it in the startup to remove that file, but if the file is in use it cant remove it. You should be ok now. Let me know if system restore does any better for you.

If I can make the first known working repair for system restore, that could be huge lol

Shane

Looking good except for some strange collateral damage; my 1TB movie HD seems to have been wiped out in the process, says It needs to be formatted and the bios shows it as 33MB!

Forgot to add that the drive was labeled "Z" and now shows up as "E". Hoping you can work your magic to resurrect it :)

Thanks for your help, as always,

bob
« Last Edit: March 29, 2013, 06:05:40 AM by steelgtr »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Shane: Help! Can't Do System Restore
« Reply #9 on: March 29, 2013, 03:45:49 PM »
My repair tool doesn't touch the hard drive like that. Something else had to of happened to make that happen.

TO be safe I want to look at it personally, send me an email
shane [at] pcwintech [dot] com

I will teamviewer into you and see if I can find out what happed :-)

If the file system got whacked I do have some programs that can recover it :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline steelgtr

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: 0
Re: Shane: Help! Can't Do System Restore
« Reply #10 on: March 29, 2013, 07:08:08 PM »
My repair tool doesn't touch the hard drive like that. Something else had to of happened to make that happen.

TO be safe I want to look at it personally, send me an email
shane [at] pcwintech [dot] com

I will teamviewer into you and see if I can find out what happed :-)

If the file system got whacked I do have some programs that can recover it :-)

Shane

Thanks, Shane

I hope I didn't imply that the "fix" wrecked my secondary drive!  I think using a Win 7 recovery disk on Vista might have been the culprit. It showed the OS as Vista but on the D:  drive. That's when I unplugged all secondary drives and it finally booted into Windows.  Could windows update have been trying to write to the wrong C:  drive and corrupted it?

I'll send my email and you guys have a Happy  Easter!

bob

Offline steelgtr

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: 0
Re: Shane: Help! Can't Do System Restore
« Reply #11 on: March 31, 2013, 09:19:39 PM »
Shane does it again! He researched my broken drive and found a common problem w/ my MB/drive combo. A simple freeware recovery program brought it and all my files back from the dead!  YAY !!!


bob

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Shane: Help! Can't Do System Restore
« Reply #12 on: April 01, 2013, 03:47:24 PM »
Glad to help.

For others reading this, this tool here got him fixed

http://community.wdc.com/t5/Other-Internal-Drives/RE3-1-TB-does-not-show-all-the-space/td-p/76856


Locking thread :wink:

And as always...
If your happy with my work. Then all I ask in return is you simply let others know about my site and programs. I help with anything computer or network related :-)
Also always feel free to make a post in the feedback forum.
And a facebook like at the top of the page of my site is nice as well. ;)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Shane: Help! Can't Do System Restore
« Reply #12 on: April 01, 2013, 03:47:24 PM »