Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: Powerline networking - problems with DMZ mode  (Read 11637 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline WhiteBeard

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Jan 2013
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Powerline networking - problems with DMZ mode
« on: January 18, 2013, 12:04:02 PM »
Hello all,

I have been struggling to understand how to fix a puzzle of a problem for days now, hoping that I could be pointed in the right direction on this forum :)

Our 2Wire 2701 DSL modem is upstairs and I used powerline adapters to connect our security DVR to the network to be able to monitor the cameras remotely.  Since the modem/router does not support NAT loopback, I created DMZ rule for the DVR.  I can connect to the DVR from within the network, however no such luck from the outside world.  I have done a similar setup with the identical modem and DVR before with no issues, which makes me think that perhaps it's the powerline adapters that are causing problems?  My question: aren't the typical powerline adapters transparent on the network, that is, they just act as "dumb" switches?

I'll be very grateful for any insights.

PcWinTech.com Forums

Powerline networking - problems with DMZ mode
« on: January 18, 2013, 12:04:02 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Powerline networking - problems with DMZ mode
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2013, 12:44:40 PM »
A lot of home routers dont support reverse nat
http://www.pcwintech.com/test-for-reverse-nat

So that means when home and on the same network as the DVR you have to use the local IP. When outside your home is when you use the internet IP.

Also 2wries HATE static IPs for port forwarding and DMZ. Because they go by device name instead. So make sure the DVR doesnt have a static IP and that the DMZ rule is pointing to the DVR device name int he list and not a static IP :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline WhiteBeard

  • PcWinTech Jr. Member
  • Join Date: Jan 2013
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Re: Powerline networking - problems with DMZ mode
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2013, 01:38:35 PM »
Shane, what an insight!  I will most certainly try that - disabling static IP on the DVR and re-enabling DMZ again to see if it helps.  Thank you.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Powerline networking - problems with DMZ mode
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2013, 01:47:52 PM »
Let me know how it goes :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Powerline networking - problems with DMZ mode
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2013, 01:47:52 PM »

 

email