Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: Repeater not giving internet access  (Read 53824 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Abury

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: 0
Repeater not giving internet access
« on: December 19, 2012, 05:35:34 AM »
Hello nice people. I really need help. My wireless signal is really low because I have two floors between the router and my desktop, and sometimes it doesn't have internet at all. So, I bought an access point (I don't remember which TP-link it was but I can check when I get home) and set it into repeater mode. Now, the problem I have is that when I'm connected to the router I get internet, but when I'm connected to the AP which is in turn connected to the router it won't give me internet access. Is there anyone here able to help me? I'd really appreciate it! Thanks in advance.

PcWinTech.com Forums

Repeater not giving internet access
« on: December 19, 2012, 05:35:34 AM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Repeater not giving internet access
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2012, 10:01:09 AM »
Sounds like the repeater wasnt setup correctly.

Do you remember how you set it up?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Abury

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: 0
Re: Repeater not giving internet access
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2012, 10:12:40 AM »
Yeah, I remember. Is there anything in particular you need to know?

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Repeater not giving internet access
« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2012, 10:17:41 AM »
The repeater has to be setup to connect to your current wireless. Then you have to make sure it is in range of the router so it can get the signal and then resend it from its location. If the repeater is not getting a good signal from the router then the internet wont work as well :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Abury

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: 0
Re: Repeater not giving internet access
« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2012, 10:24:51 AM »
It is connected to the router, and it's placed almost directly below the router, only one floor in between so it should have a good signal. I can connect to the repeater with full signal and it has the routers SSID. When I troubleshoot it with windows it says that the gateway works but it can't receive any network traffic from the internet

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Repeater not giving internet access
« Reply #5 on: December 19, 2012, 10:30:57 AM »
Did you ever log into the repeater and set it up to connect to the wireless though?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Abury

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: 0
Re: Repeater not giving internet access
« Reply #6 on: December 19, 2012, 10:33:17 AM »
Yes, I did. It's a TP-LINK TL-A7O1N access point but I want it to boost my wifi signal, so I set it to repeater mode.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Repeater not giving internet access
« Reply #7 on: December 19, 2012, 10:47:25 AM »
When you get a chance post a screen shot of the setup in the repeater and a screen shot of the wireless settings in the router :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Abury

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: 0
Re: Repeater not giving internet access
« Reply #8 on: December 19, 2012, 10:51:02 AM »
Okay, I'm just going to finish my dinner :) (I'm in sweden so I'm pretty sure we're on different time zones :P)

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Repeater not giving internet access
« Reply #9 on: December 19, 2012, 11:00:37 AM »
11 AM for me, so I will be on :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Abury

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: 0
Re: Repeater not giving internet access
« Reply #10 on: December 19, 2012, 11:06:07 AM »
Good :) Thank you for helping me. I appreciate it a lot :D

Offline Abury

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: 0
Re: Repeater not giving internet access
« Reply #11 on: December 19, 2012, 11:54:41 AM »
Here is the screenshots :D

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Repeater not giving internet access
« Reply #12 on: December 19, 2012, 12:19:41 PM »
In the TP-Link Mac of AP. You got that wrong, that is the mac of the LAN port, you need the MAC of the wireless.

Can you post the wireless settings page in the netgear? (Not the advanced one you posted, the one that shows wireless SSID and such)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Abury

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: 0
Re: Repeater not giving internet access
« Reply #13 on: December 19, 2012, 12:27:06 PM »
Yeah, here it is. Didn't see the "Wireless settings" thingy earlier, so that's why I sent the wrong one xD

Offline Abury

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: 0
Re: Repeater not giving internet access
« Reply #14 on: December 19, 2012, 12:29:17 PM »
By the way, we live in the middle of nowhere, therefore the lack of security on the network o-o

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Repeater not giving internet access
« Reply #14 on: December 19, 2012, 12:29:17 PM »

 

email