Author Topic: port forwarding  (Read 21614 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline budgie

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
port forwarding
« on: December 06, 2012, 04:25:41 PM »
I down loaded the app to see if I had more than one router and I do but I have tried to access it but I cant.I have gone into to the first router and checked the WAN default gateway used this,but cant get it.Can anyone help I am not to good with computers.

PcWinTech.com Forums

port forwarding
« on: December 06, 2012, 04:25:41 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: port forwarding
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2012, 04:27:52 PM »
It is possible your ISP has you behind a 2nd network on their end, thus blocking port forwarding.

Post a screen shot of the WAN information and I can see if it is another router or the 2nd network :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline budgie

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: port forwarding
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2012, 06:07:53 AM »
I have tried to copy and paste the page but it wont copy.I got t

Offline budgie

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: port forwarding
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2012, 06:52:10 AM »

I connected the dvr to the router and the laptop with wifi and the wan connection on the router to the main cable.there is no hardware on this cable only the outside aerial.I did a router check and it is showing 2 routers,when I login to the first router I can get the interface of my router, when I try to login to the second router it doesnt show up as a router.I can connect to the dvr from my laptop through the router on the LAN.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: port forwarding
« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2012, 10:05:29 AM »
Need that screen shot :wink:

Hit prtscn key on your keyboard. Open paint and paste it, save it as a jpg and you can attach it to the post :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline budgie

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: port forwarding
« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2012, 11:41:58 AM »
I am sorry but I tried everything but I cant get it onto your page I can write everything down if this will help.

Offline trpted

  • PcWinTech Guru
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 1,190
  • Karma: 37
Re: port forwarding
« Reply #6 on: December 07, 2012, 01:25:14 PM »
Private messages (PM) are not for support questions or for hints to not yet answered topics. The PMs are basically for confident conversation between the users, off the forum.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: port forwarding
« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2012, 04:03:29 PM »
Where you able to save it as a jpg file?

If so when your posting you will have an attach option below the text when your replying to this thread :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline budgie

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: port forwarding
« Reply #8 on: December 07, 2012, 05:09:31 PM »
I think I have done it right

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: port forwarding
« Reply #9 on: December 07, 2012, 07:31:18 PM »
What happens when you try to log into http://192.168.100.1

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline budgie

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: port forwarding
« Reply #10 on: December 08, 2012, 06:43:52 AM »
I am not at home for the weekend but I tried that when I used your router program and it gave me the two numbers,the first router number got me onto my own router page but when I try the other number I just get on to a web page that talks about routers.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: port forwarding
« Reply #11 on: December 08, 2012, 11:28:12 AM »
When you get home check and see what is plugged into the TP-Link. Do you have a modem from your ISP plugged into it?

If you cant log into http://192.168.100.1 then either your ISP has you behind a 2nd network on their end, or they have the web interface in the modem (If you have one) turned off. If so we may need to give them a call and ask them to put the modem into bridge mode. This would make the modem stop acting like a router. :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline budgie

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: port forwarding
« Reply #12 on: December 08, 2012, 12:06:07 PM »
Thats great thanks,ill check that monday

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: port forwarding
« Reply #12 on: December 08, 2012, 12:06:07 PM »

 

email