Author Topic: 2 router's  (Read 22011 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 2 router's
« Reply #15 on: November 24, 2012, 02:35:18 PM »
Reboot both routers, try the test again and get me a screen shot of the DMZ in the thomson, wan IP in the trust. :wink:

And in the trust get me a screen shot under firewall of the security options.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: 2 router's
« Reply #15 on: November 24, 2012, 02:35:18 PM »

Offline goosmaster

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 0
Re: 2 router's
« Reply #16 on: November 24, 2012, 02:48:14 PM »
alright, here it is:

(the routers are reset but the test still fails)

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 2 router's
« Reply #17 on: November 24, 2012, 02:59:34 PM »
Ok so far everything looks good. Only thing I can think of is the fact that you have the rule in the trust router twice.

You either do the range or single port, not both. Try removing the range.

Also make sure your firewall isnt blocking my port tester :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline goosmaster

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 0
Re: 2 router's
« Reply #18 on: November 24, 2012, 03:09:13 PM »
how can i check if your tool doesn't get blocked in my firewall ?

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 2 router's
« Reply #19 on: November 24, 2012, 03:34:34 PM »
Depends on which firewall do you have. Does your antivirus have a firewall in it? A lot do. Or are you only using the Windows firewall?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline goosmaster

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 0
Re: 2 router's
« Reply #20 on: November 25, 2012, 03:20:03 AM »
i have both windows firewall of my antivirus off, but still the ports fail
(i saw that the port tester from .102 to .101 was changed)
so then i change it on my ports of the Trust but still the ports fail

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 2 router's
« Reply #21 on: November 25, 2012, 02:09:09 PM »
Well so far you have done everything correctly and it should be working. :smiley:

Do you have a 2nd computer we can do a test port forwarding rule to?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline goosmaster

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 0
Re: 2 router's
« Reply #22 on: November 26, 2012, 11:26:31 AM »
well i have an full pc for my server and on that pc there are no antiviruses and firewall is off
and the ports in my trust router are set to be open
only there not...
i don't know what the problem anymore is,
i only know that the port rules are set up correctly but they don't work ?

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 2 router's
« Reply #23 on: November 26, 2012, 11:44:53 AM »
Right, you have everything setup correctly.

So the point of using a 2nd computer is this.

We setup a test port forwarding rule on another machine, say port 1979.
If it passes then we know the problem is on your system.
If it fails then we know it is either something with the router or if the ISP is blocking TCP ports.

At least with this test it will help me see where i should focus. Your computer or the router :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline goosmaster

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 0
Re: 2 router's
« Reply #24 on: November 26, 2012, 01:04:53 PM »
alright so i did the test on my Hosting pc and the port's still fails but i notest that the end of the ip was differed
then on my local game/normal pc
on my host pc it was 102 at the end and on my gaming pc it was 101
so i change the port rules to 102 at the end
then I've try ed the test again and it still fails

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 2 router's
« Reply #25 on: November 26, 2012, 01:06:58 PM »
OK good, so we know it isnt your system :-)

Can you post a pic of the firewall settings in the thomson?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline goosmaster

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 0
Re: 2 router's
« Reply #26 on: November 27, 2012, 08:30:05 AM »
sure, here are all the firewall options:

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 2 router's
« Reply #27 on: November 27, 2012, 03:13:19 PM »
OK that all looks good.

Now we need to find out if the problem is in the thomson or the trust router.

So in the thomson turn off the DMZ.

Hook a computer up to the thomson instead of the trust. Then in the thomson setup a port forwarding rule to that computer you hooked to it and then use my port tester on that system. Do port 1979 for a test.

When done port a screen shot of the port forwarding rule int he thomson and the results of my port tester :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline goosmaster

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 0
Re: 2 router's
« Reply #28 on: November 28, 2012, 08:44:46 AM »
ok, so the Thomson and my system aren't the problem

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 2 router's
« Reply #29 on: November 28, 2012, 10:31:52 AM »
OK so far everything is pointing tot he trust router as the problem :-)

1 last test. Setup the minecraft port in the thomson and do the test again. Just like 1979. Lets make sure your ISP ismply isnt blocking that 1 port. And since we know port forwarding works in the thomson we can test from there first :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: 2 router's
« Reply #29 on: November 28, 2012, 10:31:52 AM »

 

email