Author Topic: 2 router's  (Read 22012 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline goosmaster

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 0
2 router's
« on: November 24, 2012, 06:28:33 AM »
hey there, my name is Joep Eijkels and im 15 years old i've hosting servers for about 3 years

a few days ago I bought a 2nd router because I wanted to expand out
but when I came to a big problem, my ports were not open!
I've looked at 7 other forums with the same problem but it solved nothing
I still have the same problem.

i have 2 routers,
(first one) Thomson TWG850
(second one) Trust Wireless Router 300N

i will remind you i'm 15 years old so im new to the computer world, i have done lots wilt computers but in network stuff i'm still learning

PcWinTech.com Forums

2 router's
« on: November 24, 2012, 06:28:33 AM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 2 router's
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2012, 12:33:58 PM »
Knowledge is power :-)

So this is worth a quick read
http://www.pcwintech.com/what-port-forwarding-nutshell

Then you will see how being behind 2 routers will make things a little harder.

However there is a fix for that :-)
http://www.pcwintech.com/how-setup-two-or-more-routers-together-port-forwarding-port-triggering

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline goosmaster

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 0
Re: 2 router's
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2012, 01:11:21 PM »
thanks Shane youre a life saver ^.^

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 2 router's
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2012, 01:12:34 PM »
Glad to help.

Once your all set let me know and I will lock this thread :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline goosmaster

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 0
Re: 2 router's
« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2012, 01:33:09 PM »
k, so i have done the steps but it don't work.. here are 2 screenshots of the 2 routers

i have tried to do step 6:
If you leave it on DHCP the IP could change thus breaking the DMZ

but when i change my second router to:

Static Mode (fixed ip)

i then have no internet so i'm doing some ting wrong but i don't know what.


(thanks for the fast responses)

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 2 router's
« Reply #5 on: November 24, 2012, 01:37:58 PM »
Dont do static IP for now :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline goosmaster

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 0
Re: 2 router's
« Reply #6 on: November 24, 2012, 01:40:34 PM »
but, how do i get my port(s) open for my server(s) ?
because i can't see the problem ?

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 2 router's
« Reply #7 on: November 24, 2012, 01:46:15 PM »
Once done you just setup the port forwarding rules in the trust router. Any port forwarding rules in the thomson you want to remove and just DMZ to the trust router.

Then make sure you system is hooked to the trust router and set the rules there :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline goosmaster

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 0
Re: 2 router's
« Reply #8 on: November 24, 2012, 01:59:27 PM »
alright, so now i get this:
(iv'e waited 5 min after the apply for the port's check)

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 2 router's
« Reply #9 on: November 24, 2012, 02:16:50 PM »
I cant see the IP at the top of my port tester, post that for me.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline goosmaster

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 0
Re: 2 router's
« Reply #10 on: November 24, 2012, 02:18:06 PM »
the IP is
192.168.16.102

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 2 router's
« Reply #11 on: November 24, 2012, 02:22:43 PM »
That is the IP that should be in the port forwarding rules in the trust. You have the wrong IP in there right now :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline goosmaster

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 0
Re: 2 router's
« Reply #12 on: November 24, 2012, 02:30:29 PM »
already then, I've did what you want me to do but the port's still fail

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 2 router's
« Reply #13 on: November 24, 2012, 02:31:37 PM »
Is DMZ disabled in the trust router?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline goosmaster

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 0
Re: 2 router's
« Reply #14 on: November 24, 2012, 02:33:04 PM »
Yes.

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: 2 router's
« Reply #14 on: November 24, 2012, 02:33:04 PM »