Author Topic: Can't use WAN ip Minecraft  (Read 40724 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TheN1nja

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: 0
Re: Can't use WAN ip Minecraft
« Reply #15 on: November 24, 2012, 01:22:46 PM »
Im using windows Firewall. Antiviruses give you viruses and make you pay to remove :D

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Can't use WAN ip Minecraft
« Reply #15 on: November 24, 2012, 01:22:46 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Can't use WAN ip Minecraft
« Reply #16 on: November 24, 2012, 01:23:52 PM »
What antivirus do you use? And what version of Windows are you on?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline TheN1nja

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: 0
Re: Can't use WAN ip Minecraft
« Reply #17 on: November 24, 2012, 01:25:03 PM »
No antivirus. i trust myself and Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Can't use WAN ip Minecraft
« Reply #18 on: November 24, 2012, 01:27:20 PM »
Make sure to keep your java and flash up to date. A lot fo viruses come in through holes in them without you clicking anything. :wink:

I found this for the fireall and minecraft.

Quote
So you go to Control Panel. In control panel, you'll see System and Security. Under that heading should be Check Firewall Status. Click that which will bring you to the Windows Firewall window.

In here, click on Advanced Settings. Now in here right click on Inbound Rules on the left hand side, and select New Rule.

For Rule Type, select Port and click next.
Leave the selection as TCP and for Specific local ports, type in 25565, click Next.
Leave the option as Allow the connection
For profile, select all options and click Next.
Call it something appropriate and click Finish.

That should do it.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline TheN1nja

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: 0
Re: Can't use WAN ip Minecraft
« Reply #19 on: November 24, 2012, 01:32:19 PM »
it seems i already have http://prntscr.com/ki4mm let me try udp aswell i will reply what happens

Offline TheN1nja

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: 0
Re: Can't use WAN ip Minecraft
« Reply #20 on: November 24, 2012, 01:34:58 PM »
i have let udp and the other one through my firewall let me see if my friend can connect

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Can't use WAN ip Minecraft
« Reply #21 on: November 24, 2012, 01:35:42 PM »
Sounds good. Make sure he connects to your internet IP.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline TheN1nja

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: 0
Re: Can't use WAN ip Minecraft
« Reply #22 on: November 24, 2012, 01:36:16 PM »
he can't connect :L

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Can't use WAN ip Minecraft
« Reply #23 on: November 24, 2012, 01:36:52 PM »
Try turning off the firewall and have him try again. Make sure he is using your internet IP and not the local.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline TheN1nja

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: 0
Re: Can't use WAN ip Minecraft
« Reply #24 on: November 24, 2012, 01:39:10 PM »
OK thanks but how do i turn firewall without stopping it.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Can't use WAN ip Minecraft
« Reply #25 on: November 24, 2012, 01:40:34 PM »
Just go to the firewall settings, there you can turn it off.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline TheN1nja

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: 0
Re: Can't use WAN ip Minecraft
« Reply #26 on: November 24, 2012, 01:41:52 PM »
Done, thanks your the best

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Can't use WAN ip Minecraft
« Reply #27 on: November 24, 2012, 01:45:07 PM »
Glad to help :-)

Since your all set I will lock this thread :wink:

And as always...
If your happy with my work. Then all I ask in return is you simply let others know about my site and programs. I help with anything computer or network related :-)
Also always feel free to make a post in the feedback forum.
And a facebook like at the top of the page of my site is nice as well. ;)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Can't use WAN ip Minecraft
« Reply #27 on: November 24, 2012, 01:45:07 PM »