Author Topic: cleanmem monitor  (Read 5653 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline chris635

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 163
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 2
cleanmem monitor
« on: November 18, 2012, 08:30:09 PM »
Hey Shane

  Can I change how fast the monitor starts, in the task scheduler (5 min after boot, I want to start monitor then)?


Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

PcWinTech.com Forums

cleanmem monitor
« on: November 18, 2012, 08:30:09 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: cleanmem monitor
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2012, 11:35:26 AM »
Just have the monitor start at startup. have cleanmem auto clean at 5 min if you like. The monitor is just a monitor and class cleanmem when needed. :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline chris635

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 163
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 2
Re: cleanmem monitor
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2012, 03:08:05 PM »
Reason I ask is, sometimes it doesn't appear in system tray(task bar on right), task manager shows it's running it just doesn't show in system tray. I am assuming it's because of everything I have starting(works fine on my laptop 32 bit vista, it happens on my desktop windows 7 64 bit), so I just wanted to start it later....it doesn't happen every time, It mainly happens after my desktop has been up and running for a while (several days). If I close it from task manager and restart it it shows up and If i reboot after a couple hours it works fine. I use the monitor for just that...a monitor, with the exception that I have the monitor set to clean file cache at a certain amount (the memory cleaning is done from main program in task scheduler). I do have ssdp enable because in event viewer I get errors because upnp device host is running (it needs ssdp), by the way, do I even need this service, (yes this is trivial but I like to know I don't have errors occurring so I check it daily)


Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: cleanmem monitor
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2012, 03:26:30 PM »
Yeah it is that service keeping some icons from showing up in the system tray, not just mine.

I say the way you are doing it is fine :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: cleanmem monitor
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2012, 03:26:30 PM »

 

email