Author Topic: Taking a screenshot of a dead pixel  (Read 28929 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline shagger1

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 153
  • Location: manitowoc wi
  • Karma: 2
    • Robert Calvert
Taking a screenshot of a dead pixel
« on: November 10, 2012, 08:22:20 AM »
Morning
I take a screenshot of my screen and the dead pixel does not
show up-I know why as I googled it but there are screenshots
I have seen of dead pixels on google images,I use a small simple
screenshot program,how do those other people take screenshots
and the dead pixel shows up?

I had a similar problem once while trying to shot a video playing-
I used a program that supports overlay so would that program show
the dead pixel-but my main question still is how do others take a
screenshot and it shows up?

Rod

PcWinTech.com Forums

Taking a screenshot of a dead pixel
« on: November 10, 2012, 08:22:20 AM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Taking a screenshot of a dead pixel
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2012, 11:51:22 AM »
A dead pixel on the screen is the screen itself, not something in Windows. :wink:

No if it is something in a video file only then that is different, something with the video. When it is on the screen and shows up no matter what then it is a dead pixel on the monitor and needs replaced, it will never go away.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline shagger1

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 153
  • Location: manitowoc wi
  • Karma: 2
    • Robert Calvert
Re: Taking a screenshot of a dead pixel
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2012, 02:30:46 PM »
Yes shane
I understand that ,my question is how do people take screenshots
so the dead pixel shows up on the screenshot?

If you go to google images and search for dead pixel there are many
screenshots of a dead pixel,how do they get the screenshots??

Rod
PS I have only 1 dead pixel so I am not worried-I am in the middle
of an argument with a programmer who claims his program will
fix a dead pixel-which in incorrect,a dead pixel means jut that Dead!

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Taking a screenshot of a dead pixel
« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2012, 03:02:10 PM »
I did the same google search. Those pics are of the screen from someones camera or phone, it isnt a screen shot :wink:

A dead pixel is hardware related. I myself have never seen a program that can fix a dead pixel. It is a bad section on the physical screen.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline shagger1

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 153
  • Location: manitowoc wi
  • Karma: 2
    • Robert Calvert
Re: Taking a screenshot of a dead pixel
« Reply #4 on: November 11, 2012, 03:47:35 PM »
Thanks for the info on the shots.
Yes once a pixel is gone it is bye bye.I only have one and
I dont notice it all the time just bugs me,I have a 19inch
4:3 monitor and I dont think the manufacturer would replace
it with only one dead pixel-I tried a couple of programs that
flash blinking colors real fast-reminds me of my younger days
<grin> wink wink if you know what I mean!
Bye

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Taking a screenshot of a dead pixel
« Reply #5 on: November 12, 2012, 02:37:41 PM »
If the monitor is under warranty they will replace it :-)

That is why I normally buy Hanns-G or Asus monitors, they come with a 3 year warranty :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline shagger1

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 153
  • Location: manitowoc wi
  • Karma: 2
    • Robert Calvert
Re: Taking a screenshot of a dead pixel
« Reply #6 on: November 12, 2012, 06:22:23 PM »
It is a Hanns-G 19 inch 4:3 and I paid 129bucks for it
and I dont think it is still under warentee so I wont mess with
it-it is only one pixel near the upper right and I only notice it
with dark wallpaper but thanks fore the info Bud.
Rod
PS I want a widescreen but they are useless on the web
as the sites are just in the center-my eyes are not what
they used to be plus i use 800x600 resoultion-clear monitor
tho.........
Oh found out something-have to have more than 3 dead pixels
before thet will replace it fyi.
« Last Edit: November 12, 2012, 07:08:02 PM by shagger1 »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Taking a screenshot of a dead pixel
« Reply #7 on: November 13, 2012, 11:18:34 AM »
Quote
Oh found out something-have to have more than 3 dead pixels
before thet will replace it fyi.

Good to know, thanks :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline shagger1

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 153
  • Location: manitowoc wi
  • Karma: 2
    • Robert Calvert
Re: Taking a screenshot of a dead pixel
« Reply #8 on: November 13, 2012, 11:47:46 AM »
Glad to help
I love my monitor and the pixels repair is only
good for one year-monitor warentee is for 3.
Rod

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Taking a screenshot of a dead pixel
« Reply #8 on: November 13, 2012, 11:47:46 AM »