Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: Testing for bad Ram  (Read 6820 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline shagger1

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 153
  • Location: manitowoc wi
  • Karma: 2
    • Robert Calvert
Testing for bad Ram
« on: October 12, 2012, 06:10:43 PM »
Hi
I used a program called MemTest 4.0 to test my ram test-came out OK with no errors shown- is there a better program to use that is portable?

Also will the latest version of cleanmem work any better than the version I am using(1.70) ?
I seem to not get as much free memory than a couple of weeks ago,I have not installed anything since then and have no virus or spyware on my system,I just noticed I used to get about 440 free ram but now its 436 or so-what could be causing the problem(if any)
Thanks
Rod
XP with 512 megs of ram PS I am not getting errors or bsod.
« Last Edit: October 12, 2012, 06:40:21 PM by shagger1 »

PcWinTech.com Forums

Testing for bad Ram
« on: October 12, 2012, 06:10:43 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Testing for bad Ram
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2012, 10:02:41 PM »
A good memory tester is run that runs from a cd and you boot off of. MS has a free one.

The old version of cleanmem is fine, but the new version you might like.

As for why the memory is only 4mb off, I dont know, perhaps a program update is using a tad bit more memory is all :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline shagger1

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 153
  • Location: manitowoc wi
  • Karma: 2
    • Robert Calvert
Re: Testing for bad Ram
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2012, 11:11:26 PM »
Since that memory test came out fine and I have no errors my ram is probably fine ,Yes?I ran it overnight.


Something is using 2 or 3 megs of ram and I cant figure it out,since I get no errors or blue screens I am probably worried about nothing-Yes?

Thanks a bunch Shane

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Testing for bad Ram
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2012, 03:10:13 PM »
Sounds like your fine bud :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline shagger1

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 153
  • Location: manitowoc wi
  • Karma: 2
    • Robert Calvert
Re: Testing for bad Ram
« Reply #4 on: October 13, 2012, 05:27:59 PM »
Thanks Shane I feel better now but I notice my browser(avant) afer I run cleanmem will creep up in ram over 5 minutes or so as I use it,is this normal for a browser to do this?It is still lower than if I dont use cleanmem but this bugs me as it has not done it in the past.Can I run cleanmem every 5 minutes or is that too much?

I only use firefox to download video.

Rod

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Testing for bad Ram
« Reply #5 on: October 13, 2012, 05:29:01 PM »
Every 5 min should be fine as well :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline shagger1

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 153
  • Location: manitowoc wi
  • Karma: 2
    • Robert Calvert
Re: Testing for bad Ram
« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2012, 05:58:26 PM »
But what about the browsers ram creeping up-I guess that is normal as that is why you made cleanmem?

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: Testing for bad Ram
« Reply #7 on: October 15, 2012, 12:40:04 PM »
Yes that is normal, and one of the reasons why I made cleanmem :-)

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: Testing for bad Ram
« Reply #7 on: October 15, 2012, 12:40:04 PM »