Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: HUAWEI Echolife HG532b  (Read 19201 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline somethingfun

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2012
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
HUAWEI Echolife HG532b
« on: September 20, 2012, 01:16:14 PM »
I have this modem provided by my ISP:

It is 100% identical and so are the screenshots @
http://www.pcwintech.com/screenshots-huawei-echolife-hg532b-stc-firmware

I have four ETH ports at the back of my modem, numbered ETH1, ETH2 .... ETH4 and I have 4mbps that i want to divide the speed. After doing some research i found out that i should do it from QoS but i have no idea how to set it.

How do i set ETH 4 to 512kbps and the others at unlimited?




PcWinTech.com Forums

HUAWEI Echolife HG532b
« on: September 20, 2012, 01:16:14 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: HUAWEI Echolife HG532b
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2012, 01:30:13 PM »
Not sure on that one, so lets find out :-)

Go to this page in the router
http://www.pcwintech.com/showimage?file=files/screenshots/huawei-echolife_hg532b_stc_firmware/017.png

Enable it and when you do more options should show up. Post a screen shot of those options. :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline somethingfun

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2012
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: HUAWEI Echolife HG532b
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2012, 04:48:57 AM »
Thanks for the reply Shane  :cheesy:
The following are the screen shots, I wrote down the option from the drop down menu. Trying to make it easy for you.  :tongue:

192.168.1.1 > Advanced > QoS  > QoS :
WFQ - http://i47.tinypic.com/13z4oko.png
WFQ,PQ - http://i49.tinypic.com/idwqjt.png
PQ - http://i50.tinypic.com/npm7wp.png

192.168.1.1 > Advanced > QoS  > Classification:
Classification - http://i45.tinypic.com/2wf3cl3.png
Drop down menus options for
LAN Interface : LAN1, LAN2, LAN3, LAN4, SSID1, SSID2, SSID3, SSID4
Policer : 1, 2, 3, 4
WAN Interface : nas_0_35, ttyUSB
Protocol : TCP, UDP, TCP/UDP
Queue : 1, 2, 3, 4

If you have noticed on the top of each screen shot it says my download speed is 8191kbits/s upload speed is 509 kbits/s
but the ISP says my package is DL : 4000kbits/s UL : 400kbits and so does speedtest.net result @ http://www.speedtest.net/result/2193310802.png
Can you explain why it shows 8191kbits/s then? Is there a way i can enable 8M without package upgrade?








Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: HUAWEI Echolife HG532b
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2012, 10:40:58 AM »
The speed up top is what the dsl connection has told it to have. Not sure why they have that then have you throttled to 4mb unless the other is for phone perhaps?

Also those are some QOS settings I havent seen before, so I dont know which settings are the best to set lol

QoS - Quality of service is to allow you to make sure certain machines or services get priority over other things for bandwidth. Normally QoS is more simplified for the user like this
http://www.pcwintech.com/showimage?file=files/screenshots/netgear-wnr3500v2/022.png

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline somethingfun

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2012
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: HUAWEI Echolife HG532b
« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2012, 09:50:03 AM »
Come up with a solution from whatever you know and understand from the screen shots any sort of help is appreciated.  :smiley:
If you could tell me how to set high priority to ETH 1, 2, 3  than 4? Dont need the best settings any will do.
I have no knowledge about QoS settings so if you could give me a head start, rest by trail and error i should come up with a solution myself.

What is the best home use (don't need a super expensive mega awesome) modem to get that allows me limit bandwidth.

As you mentioned
Quote
The speed up top is what the dsl connection has told it to have. Not sure why they have that then have you throttled to 4mb unless the other is for phone perhaps?

Could I do something to increase the speed? :cheesy: Don't think my phone line needs 4mbps and I sure that Internet speed has nothing to do with my phone speed. There must be a way to get the full 8mbps  :evil:

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: HUAWEI Echolife HG532b
« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2012, 11:11:10 AM »
Quote
Come up with a solution from whatever you know and understand from the screen shots any sort of help is appreciated.  :smiley:
If you could tell me how to set high priority to ETH 1, 2, 3  than 4? Dont need the best settings any will do.
I have no knowledge about QoS settings so if you could give me a head start, rest by trail and error i should come up with a solution myself.

I am afraid I dont know what the best settings are so i wont be much help on the QoS in your router. :wink:

Quote
What is the best home use (don't need a super expensive mega awesome) modem to get that allows me limit bandwidth.

What you may want to do is get a good home router and see if it is supported by the DD-WRT firmware. I think the DD-WRT firmware has what your looking for. :-)

Quote
Could I do something to increase the speed? :cheesy: Don't think my phone line needs 4mbps and I sure that Internet speed has nothing to do with my phone speed. There must be a way to get the full 8mbps  :evil:

I have no clue on that one lol, But I do know that DSL and such get the speed limits from the ISP, so there is no way to change it on your end.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: HUAWEI Echolife HG532b
« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2012, 11:11:10 AM »