Author Topic: 2 router portforwarding  (Read 15002 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline grant206

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 0
2 router portforwarding
« on: August 14, 2012, 08:35:30 AM »
I have two routers, both linksys (although when I log into the second one its vonage). I can't seem to forward port 25565. I've followed the instructions on portforward.com but it still won't work, I think it's because I have two routers. Any advice?

PcWinTech.com Forums

2 router portforwarding
« on: August 14, 2012, 08:35:30 AM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 2 router portforwarding
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2012, 11:17:44 AM »
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline grant206

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 0
Re: 2 router portforwarding
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2012, 11:38:43 AM »
I tried that website, but when i tried to type ones i.p into the dmz thing it would say IP Address: 192 . 168 . 1 . (enter here) but the address for the other router had a 15 where that 1 was so it wouldn't fit.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 2 router portforwarding
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2012, 11:50:30 AM »
Post a screen shot of the status page in the linksys that shows it internet IP.

Then post a screen shot of the DMZ page in the vonage and I will tell you what to do next :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline grant206

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 0
Re: 2 router portforwarding
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2012, 12:43:20 PM »
When you do it that order it works. But i get this error message saying since it isnt static i need to use LAN client and when I click okay it gives me this.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 2 router portforwarding
« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2012, 12:45:34 PM »
Thats the DMZ page?

Never seen a DMZ page say static lan clients.

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline grant206

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 0
Re: 2 router portforwarding
« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2012, 01:11:14 PM »
Heres what it looks like before I type my ip in

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 2 router portforwarding
« Reply #7 on: August 14, 2012, 01:23:45 PM »
Yes, enable it and just put the last part of the IP in there :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline grant206

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 0
Re: 2 router portforwarding
« Reply #8 on: August 14, 2012, 01:36:01 PM »
I did. Its asking me to set a static Ip for the first linksys.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 2 router portforwarding
« Reply #9 on: August 14, 2012, 02:11:37 PM »
Dont worry about setting it as a static for now.

Once you have DMZ up and enabled I want you to post a few screen shots. Also make sure DMZ is not enabled in the linksys.

1. In the linksys go to the status page, there it will show the internet IP. get me a screen shot.
2. A screen shot of the port forwarding page in the linksys
3. A screen shot of the test results of my port tester
http://www.pcwintech.com/simple-port-tester

Lets go from there :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline grant206

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 0
Re: 2 router portforwarding
« Reply #10 on: August 14, 2012, 02:40:45 PM »
when i click "save settings" on the vonage DMZ it says somthing like "error not static, use LAN".

Offline grant206

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 0
Re: 2 router portforwarding
« Reply #11 on: August 14, 2012, 03:04:18 PM »
It won't let me save settings

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 2 router portforwarding
« Reply #12 on: August 14, 2012, 03:14:02 PM »
Freaking vonage LOL

Get me a screen shot when that error pops up :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline grant206

  • PcWinTech Member
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 0
Re: 2 router portforwarding
« Reply #13 on: August 14, 2012, 05:12:17 PM »
Here

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: 2 router portforwarding
« Reply #14 on: August 14, 2012, 09:17:06 PM »
I see, and then you clicked lan client and got the other page.

Odd no other router complains like this lol.

Still lets see if it works as is :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: 2 router portforwarding
« Reply #14 on: August 14, 2012, 09:17:06 PM »