Bookmark and Share

Author Topic: simple static ip still doesn't work  (Read 10164 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline chris635

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 163
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 2
simple static ip still doesn't work
« on: July 19, 2012, 06:55:19 PM »
Hey bud

   A while back I had problems with simple static ip, you asked me to try a few things but didn't work. I 'v tried again recently but nothing.
First when you set it, it takes. The problem starts when I reboot. It loses the gateway. I have changed dns from open dns to google dns I get the same thing. I have set my router up to use open dns as the default. I even tried to change things manually. Once I reboot I have to disable simple static ip, then reinitialize it. The router is a netgear wnr2000v3. The program used to work before I updated the firmware on this. I have updated twice now. Any ideas?



Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

PcWinTech.com Forums

simple static ip still doesn't work
« on: July 19, 2012, 06:55:19 PM »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: simple static ip still doesn't work
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2012, 11:55:08 PM »
Very odd. What is really strange is the fact that it works and then you reboot and the gateway doesnt hold.

The network info is stored in the registry. Have you tried setting it manually and see if it still holds?

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline chris635

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 163
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 2
Re: simple static ip still doesn't work
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2012, 06:13:44 AM »
Yeah I have tried to set manually. I get the same thing.



Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline chris635

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 163
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 2
Re: simple static ip still doesn't work
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2012, 06:16:01 AM »
Let me clarify. I set manually in network and sharing center, not the registry. Where would I go in the registry for that?



Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: simple static ip still doesn't work
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2012, 10:41:18 AM »
You dont set it in the registry, that is just where windows stores it.

The fact that you set it manually and it happens means it isn't my program, but something on the system.

I wonder if it is a permissions problem in the registry. Run my repair registry permissions tool from tweaking.com and see if it helps :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline chris635

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 163
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 2
Re: simple static ip still doesn't work
« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2012, 03:43:30 PM »
That didn't fix it  :confused:

Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline chris635

  • PcWinTech Full Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 163
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 2
Re: simple static ip still doesn't work
« Reply #6 on: July 20, 2012, 04:10:01 PM »
I e-mailed ya some pictures.
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • PcWinTech Administrator
  • PcWinTech Guru
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 16,846
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 523
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
Re: simple static ip still doesn't work
« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2012, 01:46:16 PM »
Got them.

Glad you got it working. I dont know why it didnt work and how you got it fixed, but at least it is holding the info now at reboot :wink:

Shane
(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

PcWinTech.com Forums

Re: simple static ip still doesn't work
« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2012, 01:46:16 PM »

 

email